We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Peaceful Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village
Reviewed April 16, 2008

Drimsynie Hotel and Estate has a beautiful location on the hillside at the end of Loch Goil, about a mile from the small village of Lochgoilhead. Nobody could be disappointed with the views or with the drive through the hills on country roads to Lochgoilhead. There is a mass of caravans and chalets on the site surrounding the old building that comprises the hotel with its built-on Leisure Centre. They are well laid out, however, and it seemed to me that they all had a degree of privacy and attractive surroundings. My son and I stayed in a 2-bed caravan which was perfectly adequate in all respects and would still have been fine if my wife had been with us. Four might have been a bit of a squeeze. The caravan was spotlessly clean and everything in it worked - cooker, central heating (which was on nearly all the time at Easter) and so on. Full marks for this.

Outdoor activities such as walking and cycling were excellent, though the golf course was flooded and in poor condition. It was too cold to go sailing on the loch. The Leisure Centre facilities, however, were the weakest aspect of the place. The food in the bar was basic and unhealthy, the seats and carpets thoroughly stained by deposits from thousands of children and, in general the whole place was rather tacky and in serious need of an upgrade. Even the swimming pool, which was a good size, never looked too clean, probably due to overuse, and the changing rooms and corridor leading in to them were dirty.

These things aside, however, everything else was fine. The village of Lochgoilhead was a lovely little place with two shops offering basic provisions. Overall, I would happily recommend the place to couples or families with kids up to the age of about 14.

1  Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (758)
There are newer reviews for Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

726 - 732 of 758 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2007

stayed one night in september, and beleive me I am glad it only was one night!On arrival the older of the female staff was abrupt and rude, as I had booked 2 adults and one child, which she said she never knew about.The hotel states one child stays free per 2 adults sharing.She told me the room would be too small for the camp bed, so gave me a larger room, that I can only compare to a basement below the bowling hall and was like a furnace during the night, with no offer of a fan.Apart from that we would have been good as being abroad as not one staff member spoke much English.The place was dirty,dusty and dated.There was smashed glass all over the place which I mentioned to staff but was still not cleaned up when we left.The children only get to swim free, everything else is payable, and the kids play area is £2.50 for one hour.A lot of the machines need money too.To be honest after 2 hours there was nothing for my 6 year old son to do.The outside play are was small and no swings.If you are classed as half board the hotel still charges for the child meals.If you are looking for scenery yes its scenic,but nothing much to do on the whole.Very disappointing.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank scoobyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2007

Booked a short break in a 3 bedroomed caravan (Kingfisher Pond 1) at Drimsynie. We were greeted with a friendly smile, a very efficient receptionist, lots of information and the keys to our accommodation. Although this holiday village is vast it is very easy to navigate your way around it.
The facilities are excellent for both children and adults i.e indoor swimming pool & spa, indoor bowling green, badminton court, super childrens play area with lots of equipment, pool, golf, skating rink, fishing, boating , cafe, restautant and bar, laundrette, mini market..... and if you want to just relax well the scenery doesn't get any better than this!

Everything about our accommodation was perfect and immaculate. The caravan had a full kitchen with full gas cooker, fridge and microwave and every piece of equipment needed. Bring your own towels and t-towels & washing up liquid.
There were two toilets and a full size shower - all spotlessly clean.
A 3 and 4 seater quality setees in the spacious living area - open plan to the 6 seater dining area. Three bedrooms with very comfortable beds. All centrally heated and it had a gas fire in the lounge too!

We also checked out a couple of lodges whilst we were there and found them to be extremely spacious and fitted out with quality furnishings and equipment - specailly liked the Eagle Lodge.

The only thing missing from this holiday park ........is YOU!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarieHawthorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2007

We enjoyed a great weekend (June 9th - 11th). Admittedly helped by the glorious weather, but there would have been plenty to keep the kids amused (8 & 9) indoors if required.

We stayed in the hotel and found it fine. The room was perhaps a little shabby but was clean and perfectly adequate. The food was excellent and the attitude of all the staff was 1st class.

I would not hesitate in coming back.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The_Powerranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2007

This is the most scenic location we have visited, great views, stayed 2nd to 6th april and weather was fantastic.
Facilities were great kids loved the ice skating and swimming, only gripe would be no areas for ball games.
Stayed in an osprey lodge and it was fantastic all the comforts of home and very clean with fantastic views from lodge.
Found the food to be reasonably good and fairly priced.
All staff seemed helpful but we had no complaints about anything.
Great walks, golf, fishing and nice little village.
We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2007

We stayed at the Drimsynie Estate for a week at Easter in one of the big Eagle lodges (on the right had side as you drive in). We had stayed in one of these lodges about 5 years ago and since then they have been completely renovated. They are beautifully decorated, very spacious, the kitchen is fully equipped with everything you would ever need and the beds are very comfy. The estate itself is just a beautiful location, nestled at the foot of the hills, which if you're feeling energetic are well worth a climb.
The leisure centre has plenty on offer for when the weather is not too good. (Well it is Scotland!). There's a pool, sauna, jacuzzi, indoor bowls, soft play, table tennis, arcade games.... the list goes on! At night there is entertainment provided most nights from bingo to quizzes which are good fun for all the family.
All in all it was a fabulous holiday and we will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BallGirlAyrshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2007

We have stayed several times at Drimsynie and have never left disappointed. It is perfect for families and although you cannot predict the weather there is plenty to do. This is the first time we have stayed in the Lapwing Lodges. They have recently been refurbished to a high standard and are very comfortable and we can guarantee that you will have the best sleep ever!

The only critism of the visit comes when you leave the Estate. There is an unacceptable amount of litter on the road-side into Lochgoilhead and along the water front. I don't suppose it is entirely the fault of Drimsynie but it is ashame that such a beautiful part of the world is spoilt by litter louts. However, we will go back soon.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheMcGouldrickFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochgoilhead
7.3 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,478 reviews
6.7 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,182 reviews
6.9 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
0.4 mi away
The Goil Inn
The Goil Inn
#2 of 2 in Lochgoilhead
135 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Shore House
The Shore House
#1 of 2 in Lochgoilhead
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village

Address: Drimsynie Estate, Lochgoilhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park PA24 8AD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Lochgoilhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Lochgoilhead
Price Range: $96 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drimsynie Estates
Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village Lochgoilhead, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing