We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Scenery”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village
Glasgow
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Stunning Scenery”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Spent 4 days in early October staying in Eagle Comfort Plus lodge. The facilities in the lodge were excellent with spacious lounge area, kitchen and dining area. The upstair bedrooms were well equiped with spacious en suite bathrooms. It also has a shower room / toilet downstars. We were really surprised, better than expected.
Purchased a Rover Pass for £75 which allows free access to all the facilities including golf, indoor bowling, swimming pool, ice skating, mini golf, snooker, badminton, table tennis and soft play area with no additional extras. The weather was great so didn't take full advantage of the Rover Pass, but with 4 adults and an infant it was good value.
The food in the leisure centre was good and at reasonable prices although found the drinks a bit pricey. Entertainment in the evening was limited although it was midweek. The staff were very helpful & friendly especially at reception. Had no problem getting access to the activities, never needed to book.
The scenery looking over the loch and surrounding hills was stunning. It is very peaceful and ideal if you enjoy walking or you just want to chill out. The Lochgoil Hotel is worth a visit with it's log fire and fine food although suggest you take a torch as the path is extremely dark at night.
If you plan to visit from England you will be astounded by the scenery on the road from Glasgow travelling along Loch Lomondside, up the Rest and be Thankful then down the single track road to Lochgoilhead, a treat in itself.
We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay and will return again soon

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alex11Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, Marketing Manager at Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Hi there! Thank for for taking the time to review your stay with us. We're delighted to read that you had such a good time. We're lucky to be surrounded by such spectacular scenery and we're glad you had good weather so as you could take full advantage! With regards to entertainment we have recently employed a new Entertainment Manager so you can expect more entertainment when you visit again in the future, as well as some fantastic nights of themed entertainment which we have lined up for the coming year! Make sure and Like us on Facebook to keep up to date with all of our exciting news. We'll see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    218
    106
    66
    50
See reviews for
389
129
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

If you stay as we did in the hotel, sorry 3 floors under the leisure centre!!!! its great for the kids. Lots of activities for them to do, swimming, amusements, soft play, indoor bowls, badminton, table tennis. The food was fine and prices were very good for drinks too. Downside is we stayed under the bowling room (trundle, trundle). The room although large didn't have a window and felt like a dungeon. I booked the hotel which looked a lovely old castle style country house and was never in it. Watch out for that and the single track road for about 10 miles has aged my wife slightly! All in all though the scenery is great, staff friendly, comfortable enough and we could have stayed more than one night (in another room) easily.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a window atleast. I reckon if there is more than two of you be ready to be undergr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zaftra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, Manager at Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback on your recent stay. I am sorry that you did not have a good experience from the room that you stayed in.

I do hope that when you booked, you were told that the room you had been allocated did not have windows. There are only 3 rooms like this, and we have guests come back each year, who specifically request these rooms - as they are ideal for young families.
Apologies if this was not the case.

We have many other rooms and many self catering units, so if you return, please discuss your particular accommodation needs with our reservations team (0845 459 9772) and they will find somewhere to match your needs.

thanks again for your feedback
Lisa Allan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Family of 6 stayed in the Eagle Comfy Plus Lodge overlooking the Loch , Absolutely beautiful location , did some wonderful exploring walks in surrounding hills and forests .
Relaxing it was not , - both Saturday eves music could be heard into the early hours of the morn ,I mean 2.30am and 4.30am ,
If parties are going to stay then great have some fun , play music all night if you want but dont put lodges next to each other , have one area for families with young kids and another area for party goers , simple, then no one keeps the other awake all night and most of the next morn .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kec_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, Manager at Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Many thanks for your recent feedback.
I am delighted that you found our location and accommodation to a good standard, however I am disappointed that your stay was disrupted with music and/or rowdy neighbours.
Our evening entertainment runs until midnight at the weekend, so can only assume that your neighbouring guests continued to 'party' in their own lodges.

We have recently employed a night guard, to ensure that there is no unnecessary noise after midnight, so can assure you that this will not happen again.

I hope that you decide to return for another stay. We would love to welcome you back!

thanks again for your feedback

Lisa Allan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We travelled here for 3 nights during the half term break. We booked a two bed premier caravan and thought it was great. Well equipped en suite loo and suited us as a family of 2 adults and 2 kids. It was ready a little early which gave us chance to check out the facilites. I should say we booked through Hoseasons so whether it was because of that the we weren't aware of the following, I cant say. The kids wanted to go swimming so we opened the welcome pack to find that the facilities, swimming and soft play area, which were so readily splashed about on the advertising, were not included in the £190 we paid. We had 3 choices; pay £85 to use the pool and all sports facilties for 3 days (we didnt want to as we had come here to see the scenery as well!) £7 an adult and £5 per child for the 3 days just to swim or the same price again to include a food voucher (£4 off adult and £3.50 child) per each visit. As a family on a budget, none were appealing. Even if we used the voucher for food we still had to stump up money for the difference in food and drinks. Then we had to pay for the kids to go into the soft play £2.85 per child per visit plus £3.50 each for bowling etc etc. It took the edge off an otherwise super stay. Please bear this in mind when booking. We werent aware and it may have meant us staying somewhere where at least the pool and soft play are included in the price.

It is a super location about an hour from Glasgow and easy to get to, although a narrow single track road so would imagine tricky in poor conditions. We would and will stay again but will need to budget for the extras nest time

Room Tip: Premier caravans whilst not having the space are an excellent standard and a little more private tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank addner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, Manager at Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback on your recent stay.

I am sorry that you were not aware or prepared for the cost of the activities. All the costs have been carefully considered with our guests budget in mind and we continually ask for guest feedback on the standard of activity, facility and any cost incurred, so that we can provide our guests with good value for money and great customer experience. We do offer a Rover Pass for a short break and a week, which is great value for money.

i do hope that you return, as it does sound like you enjoyed your experience on the whole. We would love to welcome you back!

thanks again for your feedback

Lisa Allan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland uk
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Had a lovely break. Stayed in Osprey lodge. Was clean and comfortable. Found some of the staff off handed- no please or thank you!! Soni in the Rob Roy was very curteous and eager at all times. Have been to Drymsynie loads of times but with the new entertainments manager in place I think things will improve- there was lots going on this weekend. I would prefer to be able to go for a swim without the food voucher being included in the price - this should be optional.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ireneScotlandUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, Manager at Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback on the key aspects of your recent stay. We are in the process of intensive customer service training, to ensure that our customers stay and experience is of a consistent high standard.
I will pass on your compliments to the Soni and Lee (our new entertainments manager). As you have pointed out, we are continuing to make improvements to service, products and facilities, with our guest's holiday experience in mind.
thanks again

Lisa Allan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We as a family of 4 spent the day here on 16/10/12. We have stayed here in both caravan and cabin in the past and i just thank god that we were staying on loch lomond this time. The centre was absolutely mobbed which was due to the heavy rain in fairness. We planned to go swimming then have dinner and from the past were aware of the swim/eat ticket. The swimming dressing area was disgustingly dirty with muck, rubbish, hairs etc everywhere. There was a member of staff who i take it was supposed to be constantly cleaning but all they were doing was pushing the mess around the changing area and at no point cleaning inside any of the cubicles. The pool was very busy also with several young teenage boys jumping about mad with no supervision. Dinner didn't start until 5 pm and the Rob Roy bar was packed at 5 past. The service was terrible i had to shout on a member of staff 3 times before the answered and came to take our order. My wife asked what looked like supervisor/manager lady with blonde hair if she could swap chips for a baked potato with her meal and was told due to costs this was not possible? Its never a problem anywhere else in the world!!! When our meals were eventually served there was no cutlery for any of us and it took another 5 minutes to attract a member of staff to get these. The older gentleman supervisor/manager was very polite and helpful and the young man who told us he had not long started also was very good but the blonde manager lady needs a few lessons in customer service mainly from her attitude. Drimsynie when its quiet is a lovely place and i have stayed there in January when its brilliant but this experience would have me thinking twice about staying here again. Johnston Family

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Killersale67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, Manager at Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Hi
Thank you for your very honest feedback. We endeavor to provide top class accommodation and leisure facilities, and are therefore extremely disappointed when our customers have had an unsatisfactory customer experience.
I personally have dealt with these issues and have been assured from the operation team that they were isolated and should not happen again.

thank you once again and I do hope that you will return to stay with us again.
regards
Lisa Allan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Just had a great time at lochgoilhead where we stayed in the Drimsynie hotel and found the accomodation very good.The food was a good quality pub type and big full plates .All the staff were very approachable and polite.The hotel has everthing you need to keep the kids happy and busy. As a couple we enjoyed the outdoors from Arrochar to Carrick Castle. In the evening the lounge and bar was busy with a good atmosphere, overall a very good weekend and we would recommend to friends.

Room Tip: they have four poster beds but at a supplement of £10
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HammyandSil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa A, Marketing Manager at Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Hi there! Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us! We're delighted that all aspects of your break were of a high standard, and we do hope you'll come and visit us again soon! In the meantime, be sure to Like Argyll Holidays on Facebook for all the latest special offers, news and competitions! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochgoilhead
7.3 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,404 reviews
6.9 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
438 reviews
6.7 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
11.6 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
6.5 mi away
The Creggans Inn
The Creggans Inn
#1 of 1 in Strachur
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village

Property: Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village
Address: Drimsynie Estate, Lochgoilhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park PA24 8AD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Lochgoilhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Lochgoilhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drimsynie Estates
Drimsynie Estate Holiday Village Lochgoilhead, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing