We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage in a superb location”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Lochgoilhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Welshsoap...
Rowlands Castle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
“Lovely cottage in a superb location”
Reviewed July 13, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This is one of the best cottages we have ever stayed in. Very clean, well appointed and very comfortable. The views of the loch are stunning and the location could not be better. Fiona and Leonard were very welcoming, friendly and helpful . We would highly recommend a stay in this lovely cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The .location and comfort of cottage
Liked least: Nothing it was all excellent
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
140lisan
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Peaceful Retreat”
Reviewed July 5, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just spent the past week staying at Bowater Cottage and it was extremely enjoyable. Perfect location with stunning views and very peaceful. Cottage is lovely, clean, comfortable and fully equipped for all our needs. The owners, Leonard and Fiona are very nice and very helpful, but also leave you to it as not to invade your privacy. The cottage is ideally located and there is plenty to explore in the immediate area and further afield if you are willing to drive. We got as far as Ben Nevis, which only took us a couple of hours and includes a stunning drive up through Glencoe. There are some great walks in and around Loch Goil which are included as part of an information folder in the cottage, along with best places to eat and various other activities. We hired a motor boat from Loch Goil Cruisers, which are fives mins up the road from our cottage and we enjoyed an afternoon on Loch Goil exploring and even found a Seal Colony. I highly recommend this if you have the opportunity.
I highly recommend this cottage which is lovely and has the added bonus of a stunning location. We had the best time staying here. A big thank you to Leonard and Fiona for an extremely enjoyable stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and stunning views
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amandaxx1
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Miss”
Reviewed June 9, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Had a fantastic stay at Bowater Cottage last week, the location of the cottage is amazing and the views never get old! The cottage is nicely tucked away along a long driveway.

We cottage has everything you need, I especially liked the huge waterfall style shower! And having WiFi was a massive bonus as it meant we could research the area/ check the weather ready for the next day.

Thanks again for a wonderful stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avoncraig
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing break”
Reviewed May 17, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

My husband and i are just back after spending a week staying in Bowater Cottage. The cottage is very comfortable, clean and well appointed with comforts. Len and Fiona are a lovely couple, very friendly and welcoming. We stayed there last July for a week and will be back soon. Very very relaxing.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
magvin
england
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Tranquility”
Reviewed May 10, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Had a lovely time in this little Jem very relaxing & peacefull with a gorgeous view of the loch a different picture postcard to wake up to in the morning Allready passed on website details to friends & family !!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
graeme c
Dumfries, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peaceful and lovely host”
Reviewed October 15, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Nice clean quiet but close enough to the village I would recommend this a pet friendly rent very nice view onto loch goil good area for staying as plenty of bigger towns nearby

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing