We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Lochs & Glens North NCN7”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mansewood Country House
Ranked #4 of 5 Lochearnhead B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Stayed here early June. We where doing the Lochs & Glens north Sustans cycle route. This was an ideal location as its only a few hundred meters from the route 7NCN. The owners stored our cycles overnight.
The accommodation and room was clean. Although you are near the road I had no problems with traffic noise getting to sleep. Our party of five cyclist all found it to be a nice place to stay.
The breakfast was very nice and gave us the energy to get up the steep incline out of Lochearnhead.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RICH4RD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 112 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2012

Just returned from a fantastic trip in Scotland, region Trossachs and Loch Lomond national park. We booked The Mansewood Country house for 4 nights.

First the positive issues:

-location
-nice decoration of the rooms
-clean, tidy.
-warm welcome
-providing tips for trips in the region

Negative issues

- bad bed; we slept on a very small matrass, (1.90 mx 1.40) of bad quality. When we told the host about this complaint we were answered that this was a regular and normal size in Scotland.
- shower was unpredictably hot and cold and a poor jet. We stayed in room 5.
- wi-fi only in a small part of the house, not in the rooms
- breakfast between 8.00-8.30

we booked for 4 nights but made use of only 3 nights because of our own fault, counting the night of the ferry (from Holland) as our first night in the B&B. We only found out our mistake on the next day and wrote an email to The Mansewood country house to let them know we were delayed for 1 night. Of course we offered to pay for the 4 nigths. Upon leaving

When I questioned these things, and suggested a small discount by not paying for the breakfast on the day we didn't show up, it turned out the bill was already completely charged on my creditcard on the first day when we were delayed. It left me with 200 scottisch pounds which I had just got from an ATM. Most important, Alan changed quickly from a hospitable and friendly host into a man who pointed out the ' terms' and rules' of a reservation in a very unpleasant manner. He told me how lucky I was he didn't let me pay the creditcard charges. This was a complete dissapointment and we left pretty upset the B&B.

We payed 280 pounds for 4 nights in a region full of b&b with lots of nice and cosey alternatives. I hope this attitude from the host, when it comes to money was a complete coincidence when I caught him on a bad day.

The rooms, comfort together with this unpleasant situation was definetily not worth the money.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank basmey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Thank you for your review and we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay in our home. As you can see from previous reviews your comments are not indicative of others who have stayed or reviews made on our own website.

Our beds are of quality standard doubles and we cannot make them king size overnight. We have had several guests compliment us on our comfortable beds and quality bedding. This guest asked for a room with a bath which we accommodated, they could have had a room with a shower. As the guest described he got a warm welcome, advice and maps about local places to visit, in addition he states the room was clean and nicely decorated, free wi-fi is available in our bar and bay window seating area, it does not reach the bedrooms due to the style of the old building.

They did indeed book for a 4 night stay and did not turn up the first night. We waited till early afternoon the next day but never received a phone call or any email, so as stated in our booking policy the room was charged to his account. We did receive an email, no phone call early morning!! at 2.pm saying they had made a mistake. On there arrival the couple were told they had been charged and offered an extra night free of charge for the mistake they had made, he said it was not possible.

On departure the guest asked for the card transaction to be refunded to his account and he would pay us cash!!!. You can tell from his response that he had no intention of paying for a 4 night stay, as he said he drew out £200 from the ATM to pay us cash, that amount would not have covered his bill. He was not very happy when he realised that he wasn't able to pay a reduced amount and asked for a reduction on the breakfast he never received - breakfasts are free with the room price so no refund was available.

We are not surprised that this guest has left a negative review, we were also subjected to a unpleasant situation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

we spent 1 night in this hotel on 24th
may. We got a warm welcome. We arrived late in the evening. Cot was supplied for my grandson and they had a highchair for breakfast.
Breakfast was delicious and I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights as we were attending a friends wedding nearby. The b&b was very easy to find just on the main road. We had a hearty breakfast with minimum wait despite the b&b being full. The following evening, we decided to have a few drinks, and the owners joined us kept us company till late in the night, amazing hospitality, and lovely people.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Manruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed here for three nights last weekend as a base for my brother's wedding. There were eight of us all together and we all found the rooms clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were lovely too and nothing was too much trouble. We all needed an iron for the morning of the wedding - this was provided readily. My parents who had been travelling in the UK for some weeks asked if they could put a wash on and that was no problem either. A late check out for the final day was also kindly offered to provide us with a base. Finally, I forgot my mobile phone which was promptly posted back to me and which I received today. So despite being a high maintenance group, we were made to feel very much at home and really appreciated this hospitality in a beautiful part of the world. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ILoveSWFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Comfortable B&B for travelers crossing the Trossachs region. We (2 families= total 6p) stopped at Mansewood vernight, while traveling from Sterling to Mullaig. Very friendly couple, tiny and clean rooms. 70 Pounds 4 a double room looks a bit expensive, by the way

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gaetano G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

At first i wasn't to sure but after the first half an hour i had changed my mind, from the welcoming cup of coffee all the way to Alan and Sharon taking time out of there busy day to thank us and wish us a safe journey home. In between you had very tidy rooms, gorgeous breakfasts (love the black pudding),lovely evening meals and a really down to earth couple thrown in on top of that you had beautiful scenery, a beautiful Loch and really friendly people, all in all it opened my eyes to Scotland and we look forward to visiting Alan and Sharon again.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GeordieDeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lochearnhead hotels
0.7 mi away
Clachan Cottage Hotel
Clachan Cottage Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lochearnhead
813 reviews
1.3 mi away
Balquhidder Braes Scottish Holiday Park
0.6 mi away
The Lochearnhead Hotel
The Lochearnhead Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lochearnhead
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Golden Larches B&B
The Golden Larches B&B
#3 of 5 in Lochearnhead
26 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tigh na Crich
Tigh na Crich
#1 of 5 in Lochearnhead
55 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lochearn House
Lochearn House
#2 of 5 in Lochearnhead
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansewood Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansewood Country House

Address: Lochearnhead | Perthshire, Lochearnhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK19 8NS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Lochearnhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Lochearnhead
Price Range: $114 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mansewood Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mansewood Country Guest House is around 300 years old built in the 1700s and has recently been refurbished to a high standard complimenting original features. .Guest accommodation includes 6 comfortable bedrooms 4 doubles and 2 twins (1 on ground floor) they all have wonderful views of the surrounding mountains, private parties are welcome. There is a cosy residents bar and lovely relaxing lounge / TV room for guest to enjoy. Delicious home cooked meals are available from our extensive menu – Scottish hospitality at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mansewood Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansewood Country House Lochearnhead, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing