We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful location and a great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clachan Cottage Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lochearnhead
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We went to the Clachan cottage hotel using an itison voucher and stayed 2 nights. The room was with a loch view and it was extremely beautiful! The room itself was also quite large and very clean. The hotel itself is decorated in a kind of traditional scottish style which was really pretty. We found the staff to be friendly and the breakfast was realy good served in a huge and very pretty dining room, again with a loch view. We also went to the bar one evening where there was live music and a very pleasant atmosphere. The surroundings are beautiful there are plenty of walks to do and we also went out kayaking on the loch which was unforgettable! We had a really good experience staying here and would return! Thanks Clachan hotel for a great stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GandRach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neiladdison, Manager at Clachan Cottage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Many thanks for your kind review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel hopefully later in the year. We are continuing our special deals throughout 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (814)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

515 - 521 of 814 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2014

I wrote a review on this hotel last year but for some reason it disappeared almost immediately - perhaps Neil Maddison the very grumpy manager of the hotel - NOT the owner as seems to be proclaimed in many reviews - very touchy about negative feedback - will see if this review stays.

This 2 night break was booked for me and my partner by my step daughter in Australia and we were looking forward to it very much.

We phoned ahead to advise it would be after 8pm before we would arrive as we decided to go racing to at Hamilton to start our break

After waiting at reception for 20 minutes the cheery manager appeared and immediately advised no coupon no room - showed coupon on laptop then major bombshell - despite booked into a Lake View Room we got a view of 2 gas canisters - Partner disappointed - went to speak to Mr Maddison who advised Room 14 had a lake view - clearly not - asked to be moved since hotel almost empty but he said no and that the owner had successfully argued with customers before that room 14 had a lake view - i didnt come to have an argument about the room - very poor customer service indeed - offered me refund at 1030pm after talking at length after a can of coke at £1.50 !!!

Got nowhere with mr maddison and made the best of the break by eating elsewhere - cleaners were the most friendly in the hotel and on both mornings made both of us tea/coffee at 6am - perhaps mr maddison should take a leaf out of their book !!

I feel Coupon users are treated as 2nd class citizens and raised this directly with the owner who surprisingly did not give me the courtesy of a reply.

This hotel has huge potential with its situation but is sadly let down by a very rude Manager (and ignorant owner) and if they don't want coupon business they should stop taking them and listen to customers feedback and act on it istead of having a go at everyone who has a bad experience

Room Tip: avoid room 14 if you want a genuine Lake View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank colin y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

This is the second time we have stayed here and on both occasions we have been overwhelmed with the friendliness and pleasant attitude of the staff, nothing is too much bother. Food was once again excellent and the restaurant is a relaxing place to eat. I was pleasantly surprised to learn that Ewan Mcgregor(actor) occasionally pays the hotel a visit. Already looking forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mickster-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

this hotel is set in beautiful surroundings but we were very let down and disappointed by the cleanliness of the hotel, the decoration of the hotel is very old fashioned and outdated.
the food was bad especially the breakfast and the lunch and dinner were not up to scratch either.
the manager seemed to have an attitude problem and lady at reception was not very friendly.
there never seemed to be anyone on reception, the bedrooms were cold and I feel this was a waste of a weekend, should have stayed at home.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank zaney b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Ok another `voucher` Holiday, i always find that `voucher `offers are a last ditch effort to make the place pay.
So on arrival, no one at reception, a guest was seated in the only chair at reception, beside him was a wet and smelly dog, after a wait of approx 10 minutes, we were ushered to the bar for check-in, on arrival at the bar, what could only be described as a noisy rabble, and the emphases on supplying drink to the revellers, rather than dealing with hotel arrivals was the order of the day.
We were shown our room, which on the surface looked ok,you will see a photo of a castle on the Loch, don’t expect to see it without a pair of Binoculars as it is some distance away, the photo is misleading.
Ok evening meal i did a sneak peek here, and was told, when arriving at the dining room (the wrong way), that `i would be better suited to MY needs with the bar menu’, well talk about being insulted, as cost is not an issue for me or my wife, but i got the feeling `voucher `guests were not welcome in this area of the hotel.
So again we were ushered to the Bar,i take it in the hope that bar sales will offset the `voucher` discount.Wrong,i don’t drink, so the more expensive meal would have been MY better option.
Anyway the bar meal was basic, and the guests, or residents of the bar getting louder as the evening progressed, again dogs allowed, and in an area where food is served is a big NO NO for me,i wonder what the official ruling here regarding food hygiene is?
Off to bed, and the TV did not appear to work,and i finally managed to squeeze about 3 working TV channels out of the set
In the morning, with the sunlight shining in,i could see the place was thick with dust beside the edge of the bed, the ceiling lampshade was also badly missed in the cleaning department.
My wife complained the shower went from freezing cold to scalding hot, the shower head was filthy.
Breakfast, in the morning,it was a quest to find a working toaster, as only 1 unit that would appear to be working, the chief must have been having a day off as the manager appeared to be doing the cooking ,with a young lady doing the serving.
The following evening we took our trade elsewhere for the evening meal, where we were better appreciated.
In the morning we departed early, as we could not get out of the place fast enough.
Some months have passed since we were here, but the memories are still vivid.

Room Tip: Nice Views,but take your telescope,also take your hoover
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I was expecting better from this hotel after looking on the website but was very disappointed when I arrived as the hotel is old fashioned and a bit dirty.
There were marks on the carpet, place was not very clean and the rooms were cold.
The open fire was nice, the entertainment was good and the breakfast was not bad but they were charging too much for the food which was not of good quality and the drinks were pricy too.
The guy in charge seemed to be in a good mood one minute then a bad mood the next, was scared to approach him.
Would not recommend this hotel but would recommend Lochearnhead as very lovely place.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank katie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Went to clachan for 3 night break , hospitality couldn't have been better, food was fantastic. Location was wonderful. Entertainment on hogmany to bring in 2014 was good. Very clean hotel and inviting would recommend.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank alyson2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochearnhead
15.7 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
8.7 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
445 reviews
5.9 mi away
Achray House Hotel & Lodges
Achray House Hotel & Lodges
#1 of 2 in St. Fillans
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Lochearnhead Hotel
The Lochearnhead Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lochearnhead
181 reviews
22.2 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,247 reviews
13.2 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clachan Cottage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clachan Cottage Hotel

Address: Lochside, Lochearnhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK19 8PU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Lochearnhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lochearnhead
Price Range: $101 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clachan Cottage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Clachan Cottage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clachan Cottage Hotel Lochearnhead, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing