We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little gem” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clachan Cottage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clachan Cottage Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Lochearnhead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great little gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

This was a surprise family gathering for 2 days and must say Neil & his team really went out their way to make this a special time for all the family. The restaurant was closed but they kindly opened it just for us. The bar is warm and cosy and despite being a Thursday was busy with a good atmosphere. We ate on both nights and food was good. The rooms overlooking the loch are a bit on the small side but are clean and the bathroom is to a good standard. The toilet seat had come loose, we advised housekeeping and it was fixed directly.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovehols K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    282
    78
    59
    42
See reviews for
84
510
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Lovely 2 night stay, perfect escape from city life.
Positives:
Food very good in bar
Amazing views and great accessibility to hills
Great wood burning stove in bar
Room practical

Drawbacks:
Reception staff could be warmer
Hair dryer not effective having to hold down button and short cord
Paper bath mat not nice experience
Breakfast experience disappointing, what is provided is good but could be more choices and room a bit dull and cold

Overall pleasant stay but could have been enhanced by a warmer staff interaction.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank service30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

All the staff were friendly and made us feel very welcome.
The log burning stove in the bar was lovely and it was good to relax in front of it. The bar is well used and at times was busy but never packed.
Our room was massive and the bathroom was almost as big as some hotel rooms with a bath and shower. The view across the Loch was spectacular.
Our room , and all the hotel, was really clean and comfortable.
The one downside was a lack of vegetarian choices,. The breakfast was good with fruit and cereal but I feel it would have been improved if vegetarian alternatives had been offered as an option on the full cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John4703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We have just returned from a two night break at this hotel . Staff were friendly . Room was very comfortable , warm and cosy. We had a garden view.(.as loch view unavailable..)...and it was extremely peaceful . The food was good . We ate in the bar area on both nights . The views over the loch from the breakfast room were stunning and the autumn colours magnificent . Lovely location to recharge your batteries .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Polofife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

We recently enjoyed a two night break at the Clachan Cottage Hotel, room was very comfy with spectacular views over the Loch. We had intended to eat in the restaurant which was lovely but decided on the bar area as the atmosphere was so cosy with its log fire and candles on the tables. Food was nice and reasonably priced. The staff were friendly, special thanks to Rhona who helped to make my husbands birthday that wee bit special. We did book this on a voucher deal and felt that it was good value for money, however I would not be prepared to pay the rack rate of £118.00 per night.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mchriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Stayed 22nd-23rd October 2013 in Garden Room which had views of a piece of waste ground with two LPG storage tanks situated thereon. Obtained a Voucher deal which, after our stay we consider still too expensive and definitely would not pay the full tariff of £118 per night. With an advertised full price of £118 we would have expected an establishment of much better quality and service.
The Hotel advertises the Rowan restaurant and bar-presumably this was the area one walked through to the public bar-sorry-Sports bar. Needless to say the Rowan Restaurant was not open on either of the two nights we stayed. The drinks and meals in the public bar which was the only place we could get a meal were overpriced and who wants to sit eating a meal with people playing snooker. It is what it says a 'Sports Bar' and a Public one at that! The steak pie was only average with some pieces of meat very chewy and not to the Perthshire meat standards which we know so well. The vegetables were only passed through the steam from the saucepan as they were barely cooked. Needless to say we ate elsewhere on our second night.
We did not find any member of the staff to be friendly in fact they hardly spoke. The room was small with a dreadful view and we are still looking for the "luxurious toiletries"!
The breakfast on the first morning was plentiful and we found the service to be good even though the black pudding had more curled up edges than a 'British Rail sandwich!' However breakfast the second morning was literally only half the size of that served previously as it came with only one egg,one sausage and a small spoonful of beans with a slice of bacon and a frizzled up grilled tomato. Needless to say we did not venture into the Black Pudding on this morning.
It is interesting to note that in a small brochure in the room the Owners are requesting guests to write positive reviews on TripAdvisor in order for the hotel to re-establish itself-what is the reason for the hotel to re-establish itself one asks?
In conclusion all we were looking forward to was a nice friendly hotel, good food with a pleasant dining room in which to have a leisurely meal in a great location but unfortunately the only part
of this was the great location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank AberdeenWoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neiladdison, Owner at Clachan Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Many thanks for your lovely review, just a pity when you were here you never said a word to anyone, seems like you were having a dreadful time when everyone around you were really enjoying themselves.
I welcomed you to the hotel in the same friendly way I deal with everyone however had I known you were looking for some entertainment I could have done a bit more, you did not book a table in the restaurant , you did not ask for a table in the restaurant and just for the record the rowan is open 7 nights a week, regarding room choice may I remind you that it was you that picked the garden view room, you had plenty choice but you selected a lovely garden view room that you did not like, if you just looked down at the ground then yes there is a gas tank in site (hence the lovely hot showers} however you can also look above that and see the hills and the loch, maybe you were too busy looking down to see them.
it seems that you were expecting something completely different, we offer fantastic value for money in a great location in a country cottage hotel with real character.if you were looking for something much more grand then may I suggest you go elsewhere, Gleneagles is nearby but you wont stay there for £25.00 a night bed and breakfast.!!!!! more like £325.00
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

spent couple of days here on a voucher deal the room was big comfortable and a great view over loch earn. good choice at breakfast the porridge was perfect! evening meals lovely large portions the steak pie and the fish and chips were among the best we have tasted. nice welcoming bar where we took our meals staff were always excellent. plenty of walks and nice drives to other villages and towns. will return as we enjoyed the walking trails and the friendly welcome we recieved

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bizilizi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neiladdison, Manager at Clachan Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
many many thanks, sometimes when I read this site I think maybe theres two hotels called clachan and the moaners stayed elsewhere because your review is fantastic, many thanks and see you again soon.

alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochearnhead
0.1 mi away
The Lochearnhead Hotel
The Lochearnhead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lochearnhead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
8.7 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Achray House Hotel and Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Four Seasons Hotel
The Four Seasons Hotel
#2 of 2 in St. Fillans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
15.7 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
8.0 mi away
Monachyle Mhor
Monachyle Mhor
#1 of 2 in Balquhidder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clachan Cottage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clachan Cottage Hotel

Property: Clachan Cottage Hotel
Address: Lochside, Lochearnhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK19 8PU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Lochearnhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Lochearnhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clachan Cottage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Clachan Cottage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clachan Cottage Hotel Lochearnhead, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing