We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely/Friendly Hotel...Beautiful View” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clachan Cottage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clachan Cottage Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Lochearnhead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely/Friendly Hotel...Beautiful View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

A charming hotel, view from our room was fantastic (Room 5). On arrival such a warm/friendly welcome. Arrived on Friday, 4th October, sat in cozy bar next to log burner with nice glass vino, hubby had a nice malt and chatted away with Alan and his other half, plus nice couple from Yorkshire. Bliss after a hard week in social work.
Our room was lovely, very clean. Only cripe I would have was shower would have been better with a shower screen as opossed to curtain as I tripped over it getting out the shower. Breakfast on both mornings was lovely, great to get lovely warm toast brought to your table, hubby had full breakfast, I had bacon and poached eggs. Only thing missing guys.......Tattie Scones.....a must in a Scottish breakfast . Coffee fab so nice had three cups. Lovely walks in the area, sadly we didnt get to go far as I picked up a wee bug and our second day was wasted due to me not feeling great. Nothing to do with hotel I must add. Alan and his staff were so nice, went out of their way to help. People who moan about this wee gem need to get a life. Great value for money. Yes it is fair to describe food as pub crub but if you want fine dinning book into a 5star and be prepared to dip into your pockets! Despite me not feeling a 100% we still had a nice break all thanks to the lovely surroundings and staff at Clachan Cottage Hotel. We will make another visit soon....don't forget the tattie scones guys.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jackiemac18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    280
    78
    59
    42
See reviews for
84
506
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

This was my third stay here and will most certainly not be the last! The service is first class (I couldn't fault ANY aspect of it), the staff are, without exception, helpful and friendly, the breakfast is wonderful and really set us up for the day and the accommodation was clean and of a high standard.
I cannot understand some of the negative comments re dining facilities; there is a choice of dining areas - one in the bar and a quieter, more secluded area, for those who prefer that environment.
I cannot wait for my next stay - thanks Alan and staff.

Room Tip: Ask for room 7 or 8 if you have a dog otherwise all rooms are amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diddlyididi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

We don't really take notice of reviews and prefer to visit somewhere new with an open mind. We were pleased to be given Room 18, a family) room, especially after I forgot to bring the voucher( only brought an email). We had a beautiful view of the loch. We went for dinner in the bar, which was n't relaxing as we were next to a pool table and the meals were okay but expensive for what they were. We ate out after that. Breakfast on Saturday morning was good, but salty. Breakfast on Sunday morning was disappointing, with the bacon cold, and tomato uncooked. We should have said something but did n't as we had decided to go home a day early as my husband did n't feel good. We had not slept very well due to people leaving the bar in taxis very drunk and shouting to each other. One of the other guests complained about the cold bacon as we were leaving the breakfast room. The staff were polite and attentive, but we feel that the Clachan Cottage is more a pitstop than a hotel. High quality food, furnishings and uniqueness is required but it costs money and in the present economy it is obviously very hard to provide this.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lindaandandrew2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

After reading some of the reviews for this hotel I was dreading the stay. However we had two lovely nights here. It is an old hotel but charming, the room was very clean and had everything we needed including free WiFi. Breakfast was good with plenty selection and all the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. The view over the loch was stunning and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I would not hesitate to recommend this to our friends.

Room Tip: ask for a loch view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banknock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

After reading some of the reviews here we were a bit apprehensive but im glad to say we went with an open mind and we had a lovely relaxed stay. On arrival we were met at reception by the owner Alan. He welcomed us warmly and gave us some local info and was happy to chat whenever passing. We had room number 15 which was a loch view room and was bright,fresh clean and very comfortable. We ate in the restaraunt on both evenings and found the service, quality, portion size and taste to of excellent value. (THE STEAK PIE IS AMAZING). We also had breakfast on both mornings and this was also cooked perfectly and tasted delicious. The staff were friendly and very pleasent and we will definatly be returning soon. The views over the loch are breathtaking.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neiladdison, Owner at Clachan Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
so grateful to hear you enjoyed your stay, its hard not too in such a lovely place, and the weather was brilliant too.
i do feel the need to inform people about trip advisor since we were all most upset to hear that after reading trip advisor reviews you were dreading your stay at the clachan, i just want to put this in context for any other readers thinking the same, we are a very busy hotel, we have spent a huge amount of money and effort getting the place right and we are very proud of what we offer, in twelve months we can have 6,000 residents staying at the hotel, on average we get 25 reviews a year, thats .0005%, so is simply not a representative number upon which to judge our hotel, the plain simple truth is that the 5975 customers in any one year that stay have a fantastic time and can't be bothered writing reviews.
Also be aware that reviews come from many sources and not all of them genuine, disgruntled ex staff, competition or customers who maybe never got the exact room they were after and feel authorised to write a vindictive and damning review.
you can be assured of all our staffs warm welcome on arrival and we are simply here to ensure you have a wonderful time.

alan (owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Upon arrival to the hotel the view you see before is second to none!! The hotel is very nicely decorated through out, the restaurant / bar area has a very welcoming feel to the place, the venison burger and chips were delicious however the beef burger lacking in taste. The breakfasts were delicious and the staff working the morning were very busy and rushed of their feet, but still very friendly. The only down side to this hotel was the bedroom. The bed was very uncomfortable and the whole room and bathroom is very dated and in need a refresh. However, that a side it was a very enjoyable stay. We went on a voucher, and well worth it, however, I wouldn't pay full price for this hotel, find a voucher deal. A massive plus is that they are very dog friendly and accept dogs throughout the hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room with a loch facing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yolohj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neiladdison, Manager at Clachan Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
many thanks for your lovely comments.

the dog friendly rooms are not furnished with our normal antique items and are not intended to be, we feel that since these two rooms are dedicated to dog owners the owners would not feel comfortable when there dogs destroy the expensive furnishings found in our other rooms, we keep them immaculate and we don't charge for the extra cleaning they always require so trust you understand.

alan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We booked with Groupon and when we booked the only availability was a twin garden view.On arrival we were offered a double room which was very kind but decided just to keep what we had booked.The room was very clean, lovely fresh sheets and towels and plenty of tea coffee milk etc disappointed with garden view but we weren't there to look out the window so really no worries.We had our evening meal in the bar which was lovely, food fresh and appealing and reasonably priced though did feel the drinks were a wee bit overpriced.There was entertainment in the form of a singer, Robert Carmichael who was excellent and I think everyone enjoyed it , too hard to please if they didn't.Breakfast on both mornings was lovely, plenty of choice served by pleasant friendly staff, cooked breakfast was certainly not poor quality (cocobear21).In the evening we again dined in the bar, we had the prawns to start , they had a fantastic marie rose sauce beautifully presented but a little pricey at £7 odds for a starter especially with the main only being £10.95.Stuffed chicken breast with a creamy wine and garlic sauce top marks chef.Overall we had a lovely weekend. The people were nice, the surrounding area nice . I think a wee lick of paint needed in some areas but other that that definately to be recommended.

Room Tip: if you can ask for a loch view room the scenery is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neiladdison, Owner at Clachan Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
firstly,

many thanks for your glowing review of our lovely charming hotel, your only negative appeared too be the price of our hand dived scallops, these are expensive to buy and a nearby hotel charges double this ! however you did say the meal was delicious. thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochearnhead
0.1 mi away
The Lochearnhead Hotel
The Lochearnhead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lochearnhead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Achray House Hotel and Lodges
15.7 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Four Seasons Hotel
The Four Seasons Hotel
#2 of 2 in St. Fillans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
24.0 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
8.0 mi away
Monachyle Mhor
Monachyle Mhor
#1 of 2 in Balquhidder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clachan Cottage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clachan Cottage Hotel

Property: Clachan Cottage Hotel
Address: Lochside, Lochearnhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK19 8PU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Lochearnhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Lochearnhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clachan Cottage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Clachan Cottage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clachan Cottage Hotel Lochearnhead, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing