We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad Welcome for Visitors”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clachan Cottage Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Lochearnhead B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
238 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Sad Welcome for Visitors”
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Popped in for a quick snack late afternoon on our way to the Danish Villas in the Village. Bar was very bleak and cold with only a couple of locals in and had a very strong smell of burnt fat. Ordered one bowl of soup, one plate of chips and one cup of tea - total cost £13.00! The only good thing about the soup was it was hot. had thibgs been better we would have retured later that evening for dinner. As it was we decided not to risk it - even although it was the only hotel in the area open. Self catering was a far better option.

Room Tip: Didn't stay overnight
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodie50XX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neiladdison, Owner at Clachan Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
very dissapointed to read your review and glad u have contacted if u phone me i will arrange a refund for u as you were overcharged by 2 pints of beer, my manager came running after you in the car park but unfortunately u were gone.

we open at 3pm the large log burner takes a while to heat the place up thats why u found it cold which it can be for the first half hour or so but once fired up then the bar is very hot with the huge log burner blazing away.

the logs do smell when burning but if u want the authentic real thing thats what you have to experience, what you were smelling was burning logs ! g;ad the soup and service was excellent, if you were a resident at the hotel you would have realised there was a restaurant too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    301
    81
    59
    46
See reviews for
86
543
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Spent four nights here between Christmas and new year. Newly refurbished room was excellent, view over loch was stunning. Breakfast ample. Friendly staff, nothing too much trouble, extra tv given to my son in very large family room . Would stay again

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank health2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2011

we stayed here in August 2011 and I thought the staff made you feel welcome and always happy to help and they where polite too the rooms where nicely refurbished and decorated and i will be staying here again

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulcargill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East ALER
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2011

The setting is beautiful and the view in front of the hotel is outstanding. No complaints at all, the room was clean and fresh, the staff were friendly and the food was good. We went with two dogs which were allowed into the bar area and despite their high spirits they were still made to feel welcome. Its great to find a pet friendly hotel in such a lovely location. We would highly recommed Clachan Cottage, we had great stress free weekend stay there and would certainly rebook.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, stunning outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huskytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Stayed at the Clachlan Cottage in grounds of hotel Sept 2011, cottage is spacious and clean, has all amenities such as washing machine etc. Could not fault and would return

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindseyc66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Great food amazing room and friendly service! The hotel is needing a bit of work but the rooms are recently done up and are lovely. Fantastic view over the loch would defo return.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chompa14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

The hotel from the outside looks great, all cosmetic I'm afraid! once inside you discover the truth.
We were also part of the Lochearnhead Waterski club reunion, and considering that the hotel management knew that there were in excess of 60 people involved, there was absolutely no effort extended to us at all.
The bar staff were polite and efficient, but were let down badly by the catering side of the establishment.
The charge of £15 per head for the 'buffet' in the evening was nothing short of a 'ripoff' I could have done better myself from the back of the car!! and whats more for a h.... of a lot less money. It was almost as though they had forgotten we were coming and panicked at the last minute, and raided the freezer?
Would we recommend this establishment to anyone else........ no chance!!
The cleanliness of the hotel leaves something to be desired, the gents toilet in the bar would have been more suitable for fishermen in waders, that was the attire needed.
Airlie, Ford, Argyll

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Penny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neiladdison, Owner at Clachan Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2011
you really should think carefully before writing such a nasty spiteful untrutrhful review, you DID not book a private function, therefore the buffet was open to everyone and im not surprised there was insufficient to go around, i told the organiser that all public were helping themselves and he said its OK i have got them to pay, fine, but that did not produce any more food!
since you have not been here for 30 years may i pray to the good lord that you dont come back for another thirty !
next time if you pay for a funnction suite you will get privacy, otherwise it was your choice to hold your very posh do in our very public bar.

aln garnier, hotel owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochearnhead
0.1 mi away
The Lochearnhead Hotel
The Lochearnhead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lochearnhead
172 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Four Seasons Hotel
The Four Seasons Hotel
#2 of 2 in St. Fillans
894 reviews
8.6 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Achray House Hotel and Lodges
15.7 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
22.0 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clachan Cottage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clachan Cottage Hotel

Property: Clachan Cottage Hotel
Address: Lochside, Lochearnhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK19 8PU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Lochearnhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Lochearnhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clachan Cottage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Clachan Cottage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clachan Cottage Hotel Lochearnhead, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing