We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the Best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lochearnhead Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lochearnhead
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply the Best”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Having stayed at the Lochearnhead hotel on at least 9 occasions since 2008 I feel qualified to write a review. :-)

Quite simply, in my opinion, this is among the best hotels in Scotland. The location is excellent for exploring Central Scotland and the stunning west coast. The view from the bar or dining room has to be seen to be fully appreciated, look out for the ospreys swooping over the loch.

As others have said the rooms are all clean, comfortable and very well appointed. If you get one of the loch facing rooms you will be lulled to sleep by the sound of the loch lapping against the shore, very relaxing.

The food is one of the highlights, and I think I have tried nearly everything now. It's very easy to recommend anything on the menu, it will be excellent and possibly the best you've had. Honest, I'm not kidding, just try the ice cream.

Finally we come to the team running the hotel. Rob & Amanda will make you feel welcome and comfortable from the moment you arrive till you leave. Nothing is too much trouble and everything is delivered with a smile. After 6 years visiting Rob & Amanda is like visiting family and something I don't intend to miss every year, there is nowhere else I want to stay.

Hopefully I haven't sounded too "gushy" but it is difficult to praise the whole Lochearnhead hotel experience highly enough. I actually enjoy handing over my money at the end of a stay.

Room Tip: Go for a front facing room, the view is stunning. But not room 3 as this is my favourite and I wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    33
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
22
74
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Again, Robert and Amanda pulled out all the stops to ensure that myself and 7 other guests in our group had a lovely stay. Obliging doesn't even begin to cover it!! The food was excellent and the menu would appeal to even the most picky of guests. My room was overlooking the Loch and what a fabulous sight to greet you in the morning. The room, as always, was very clean and there was plenty hot water for a welcome shower after rain stopped play at The Games. I would recommend The LEHH to anyone seeking a comfortable stay with good food and excellent service.
Roll on our next weekend in October.

Room Tip: Always ask for a loch view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VJMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

a number of our group (8) had not stayed here previously, a number had, those first timers were blown away by the staff, food, customer service, and setting. Many of these guys stay at 4/5 star hotels around the world , and they felt it was easily a match for those places. Very clean, welcoming , and the IMPORTANT things were perfect.Will will all be returning.for value ..it CANNOT be beaten

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 15minsfromTyndrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Kanada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

A couple of friends and I stayed at The Lochearnhead Hotel on a round trip through Scotland and this was the most friendly and best place of the whole trip (although the Glasgow hotel was pretty good too). The rooms themselves were simple but good. However, we didn't spend much time in the room because the lobby/library downstairs was beautiful with great views and the pub and restaurant were excellent. The staff was very friendly, they helped us even planning our walks and you could feel that they enjoyed their job and running this hotel. Great stay, very recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hesindepilger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Enjoyed yet another stay at this superb hotel. Its location on the banks of the loch is such that you never get tired of overlooking the panoramic views. As the hotel is ideally located within this area, you are on the doorstep of visiting and seeing so much of this fantastic Scottish location. The hotel is run by a lovely husband and wife combination who are always cheerful and only too pleased to provide their local knowledge and advise. The rooms are 'No Frills' but are clean and provide all the facilities needed for making a pleasant and comfortable stay. The food is however excellent and represents very good value as well as a good plate full of delicious choices. The morning 'Scottish' breakfast is cooked freshly and individually and comes piping hot providing enough to last you the day. Don't expect luxury, but without doubt you will be well looked after, fed well and have a very comfortable relaxing stay enjoying the most spectacular views. Loads of activities to do in the surrounding areas. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Front facing rooms have the views. (As shown below)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We were staying at the Clachan hotel (down the road) for 2 nights, went into this hotel for a drink ended up eating in there both nights. The owners made you feel really welcome, they were doing that with everybody that walked through the door, first class customer service. Would recommend this hotel if you are visiting the area, home from home :)))

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridget3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Our host from the B & B recommended this hotel for dinner it was a 10 minute walk, we got a cheery welcome and we're shown to a table for 2 in the dining room, the view was superb, loch and many mountains. Both our entrees were excellent, the fried Brie and the duck liver pate, mains again were excellent, my salmon with thick herb crust was delicious and hubby had the beef and ale pie with flaky pastry again delicious, I decided to have the Scottish cheesecake , yum, yum yum, beautifully presented with fresh raspberries, hubby had a liquid dessert of cognac, our drink was a bottle of South African Chenin blanc, at a reasonable price, all meals were a good price, the service from the young waiter was second to none, the hotel should be proud of him.
We would recommend this hotel as a place to enjoy a meal.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoseRRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochearnhead
8.7 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Achray House Hotel and Lodges
15.7 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
10.4 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Four Seasons Hotel
The Four Seasons Hotel
#2 of 2 in St. Fillans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lochearnhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lochearnhead Hotel

Property: The Lochearnhead Hotel
Address: Lochside, Lochearnhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK19 8PU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Lochearnhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lochearnhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Lochearnhead Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying wonderful views over Loch Earn and the surounding countryside, the Lochearnhead Hotel is a family-run hotel with 10 en-suite bedrooms, lounge bar, restaurant and residents lounge. The hotel is ideally located to explore central Scotland with its wide variety of attractions. Lots of wonderful walking in the vicinity of the hotel and there is plenty of space in our garage to store bikes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Lochearnhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lochearnhead Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing