We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow...and not in a good way.”

Clachan Cottage Hotel Restaurant
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Alva, Clackmannanshire
Level Contributor
87 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wow...and not in a good way.”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We saw this pretty little hotel on our way up the loch and thought we'd stop for some cake and a coffee. The bar was empty (at 3.30pm) and three of the outside tables had few a couples sitting in the sunshine.

We asked for a coffee and a cake. It was either scones or shortbread - but, the scones were sold out.
When the bar tender asked for the money, we thought she was telling us the time..! Two coffees and two bits of shortbread came to £9.50. When we questioned the price, we were told the shortbread (which was squares of Millionaire shortbread) was £2.50 each...! In shock, we stared at the wee squares, but no, there was no gold leaf or diamonds in or on them.

Once we'd recovered from this (my man had to bring me round from a cost induced coma!!) we sat outside with the other people...who were all German and French. I actually felt ashamed that they had to be screwed over for such a paltry offering. This is Scottish tourism at it's best, people. If you want to sit in the sun beside a busy A road, but with a lovely view of the loch, and drink one cup of coffee and have a wee square of cake..? Well, you can stump up a ridiculous amount for it and lump it.

The bar staff were embarrassed. No wonder.

Good luck with the pricing strategy folks. We don't earn enough money to ever go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    36
    28
    15
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Poor service”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The service was so slow that after 50 minutes we had to ask where our cold starters were. When they came they were ok and so we thought the mains would be too. How wrong we were. We had to wait a further 25 mins for the mains to arrive. My partner chose cheese burger with chips. The burger was tough and the cheese slice was so yellow with a false strong smell of cheese that it was all you could smell. My dish consisted of overcooked penne pasta with olives a few chopped tomatoes and so many capers it was all I could taste. The only edible thing to eat was the chips! When we complained no one was bothered no apology for the wait and they were not busy either. We will never go back there.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“you need to eat before you go”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Although not very busy we had to wait one and a half hours after we had placed our order, and when it came there was not a lot of it. We ordered two steaks both to be cooked different and when they came they were identical and both we were unable to eat all.The cost also was high, they did knock the price of one off.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dabar_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“great food and staff”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

lovely little hotel on lochside with great views and good food and lovely open fire. no problems at all

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank dougie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Average food, slow service......”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We waited 45 minutes from ordering our food until it arrived. The food was okay, but just average, nothing to write home about. The tables were sticky and had been wiped but obviously not with a clean cloth. I felt the satff worked hard but they seemed to have a lot to cope with an not enough staff on duty.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Footiewidow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clachan Cottage Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Lochearnhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Balquhidder, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Balquhidder, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Strathyre, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
St. Fillans, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Clachan Cottage Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing