We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average food, slow service......” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clachan Cottage Hotel Restaurant

Clachan Cottage Hotel Restaurant
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Average food, slow service......”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We waited 45 minutes from ordering our food until it arrived. The food was okay, but just average, nothing to write home about. The tables were sticky and had been wiped but obviously not with a clean cloth. I felt the satff worked hard but they seemed to have a lot to cope with an not enough staff on duty.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Footiewidow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    34
    26
    12
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Oh dear!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Although I appreciate that we turned up 'ad hoc' and there were 7 of us (grandfather, parents, aunt, uncle and 2 well behaved teens) I wasn't quite prepared for the utter rudeness we were welcomed with! We also didn't think they'd be too much of a problem seating us as the restaurant was practically empty but on asking as to whether we could have a table (there was no greeting from the gentleman we spoke to) we were bluntly told that he wasn't prepared to put us in the restaurant (no explanation as to why) but if we wanted to stay and eat we'd have to sit in the bar. We were shoved through a door where we all ended up on the business side of a heaving bar with the bar staff! The chap in question gestured towards a table and left us stood there looking at a table for 4 which meant that our family meal would have to be spent separated at two tables that were not even next to each other. We did briefly peruse the bar menu but as we were hoping for a nice family meal on the last night of our holiday we were looking for more than burgers etc.

We holiday at Lochearnhead twice a year and have done for many years but this was our first experience of Clachan Cottage as we usually head into Comrie / Crieff / Callander or if we want to refrain from driving we go to The Lochearnhead Hotel and will now continue to do so without ever considering Clachan Cottage again. I can only assume that they don't need the business!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizziic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glassgow
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Served frozen mussel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Was there Nov 2012 for 2 weeks. Bar man is nice and question you all the time.
Saw in the menu the day special: mussel and tought that is some thing very nice
The food was served on our table (which was probely older than the pub), but looked very messy (Plate dirty)
I picked up the top mussel and fund a big frozen ice block of mussel below it... I called the waiter and showed it to him. He took it back to the kitchen, with no word of excuse.
I was in shock, when he tried to serve it to me again, after 5 min.
I just payed and was happy that I surved.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sascha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Food Review”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed at another local hotel, but had dinner at the Clachan Cottage for 2 nights in a row. First night, we were impressed as all 3 of us are vegatarians. Ordered the macaroni cheese and chips from the bar menu - portions generous, food lovely, and a great view of Loch Earn. (Bar is not the most glamorous, but prices reasonable). Next night, went back and just ordered the same thing, as the vegetarian menu is limited. We were later told that they had run out of macaroni, but they offered us vegetable curry instead - we agreed. This consisted of rice, 5 bits of microwaved dry veg, and mixed in a tiny bit of powdered cheese sauce (no taste of curry at all!). Was barely edible - tasteless and spiceless...but worst of all...they charged us a whopping £10.95 a plate! Ridiculous! So, for any vegetarians, if they run out of mac and cheese.......go somewhere else!!

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowMissP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A welcome break after a day in the hills.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We were well received at short notice and the food offered and served was well presented, wholesome and generous in volume. It served the purpose well but we did feel that as this is a tourist area it does not send out the strongest of messages in so far as what Scotland has to offer in terms of overall quality. Value for money was fair. The canned background(jukebox) music was too loud! The ambience for the lochside location could be improved. We would return if in the area after hiking.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NicholasGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clachan Cottage Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Lochearnhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Balquhidder, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Balquhidder, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Ayr, South Ayrshire
 

Been to Clachan Cottage Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing