We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal and service”

The Lochearnhead Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $51
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bathgate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely meal and service”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Wonderful meal and service. Lovely food. Friendly family run hotel.

Will be back again and would recommend this hotel.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank fionalawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    25
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

We came here for our honeymoon and what a great choice it was! Amanda and Robert were very friendly and helpful. The rooms and beds were very comfortable and clean and the food in the restaurant (cooked by Robert) was fantastic. We particularly loved the haggis in pancakes as a starter. There was also a very good selection of whiskeys at the bar.

We had a fabulous time at this hotel and thoroughly recommend it. Amanda and Robert clearly work very hard to make everything tick over. Thank you!

David and Katharine Stedman.

Helpful?
1 Thank trubbabubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good food and service”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

The owners were very friendly and attentive. It is a great family run business.
We had 3 courses and the timing inbetween was perfect.
Good menu and good food though maybe a little overpriced (by a few pounds). I was disappointed with the chips as they appeared to be standard frozen. Chuncky or twiced fried would have been much nicer and more fitting with the quality of the rest of the food.
The steak was good and cooked just as requested.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IzzywizG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Visited the hotel for a meal last week while we were staying in the lodges next door and couldn't have been any happier with the service or food. After a long day out on the hills a nice relaxing evening was needed. Amanda and her husband were very accommodating and friendly. From the fantastically priced menu we both had the deep fried brie and my partner ordered the 8oz sirloin steak and I had the venison pie, both were cooked to perfection and tasted delicious! Then to finish up we had choc and orange truffle terrine and caranachan cheesecake. Would recommend the hotel to anyone passing through to try it and we will definitely go back again. Top marks from us as we couldn't fault a single thing :)

Helpful?
1 Thank Angela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunvegan, Isle of Skye
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not startling!”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Very pleasant staff and a fairly broad menu. The food was well cooked and hot but not of very high quality. I had scampi and some of them had more breadcrumbs than flesh!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Skyetraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lochearnhead Hotel also viewed

Balquhidder, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Lochearnhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Balquhidder, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Strathyre, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
St. Fillans, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to The Lochearnhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing