We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Donna Sheridan”
Review of Briar Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lochearnhead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Briar Cottages
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Just spent an amazing week at briar steading. Fantastic accommodation, stunning views while owners kim and frazer are so welcoming and friendly. Would absolutely recommend and will definitely be back. T

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
briarinfo, Owner at Briar Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Thank you. We are delighted that you enjoyed Briar Steading on Loch Earn and its vista and that you have since booked a return visit. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again. Until then, our very best wishes, Kim and Fraser.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
There are newer reviews for Briar Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 112 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2014

From the very first minute that we contacted Kim & Fraser to check out availability of Little Briar Cottage, we felt like friends, and I'm sure that it is a friendship that will last forever. They are the most likeable people I have ever had the pleasure to meet, and I have never known this level of customer service anywhere else in the world where we have stayed or rented properties before. They welcomed us into their beautiful home, and we had a lovely evening, getting to know each other better, and learning the history of their stunning cottage.

Little Briar is the smaller of the two cottages available, but we felt that it would suit our needs, as we were planning to be out touring the country every day, so would not be in the cottage for too long. There were 4 adults in our party, and the cottage was plenty big enough for us. The views from the cottage are absolutely stunning, and while we experienced every weather condition possible, we saw the views changing by the minute. We were unable to take full advantage of the external areas due to the weather (and shortage of time) but anyone visiting in warmer months would have everything they could possibly need. Internally, there are two bedrooms, one double with full views of the Loch, and one twin, though we were able to put the two singles together as we were two couples. All bedding and towels were provided, and there was ample cooking implements for our needs. The TV has all freeview channels, and there is a DVD player, though we didn't have chance to use it.

The location of the cottage is absolutely perfect, and we were able to visit Edinburgh, Glasgow, Stirling, Loch Ness, Aviemore, Loch Lomond, Braemar, the Ben Nevis range and even the lovely Island of Skye amongst others. We had a great day skiing at Glencoe, and the beauty of the area was beyond our wildest dreams.

Our days were very busy, as we wanted to see as much of this stunning country as possible, and we were very tired at the end, but I would not have missed a minute of it. We will return again soon, and hopefully the weather will be better so that we can spend more time both in the cottage, and exploring the surroundings.

Thank you so much to Kim and Fraser for allowing us to stay, we will never forget our week or your hospitality and kindness, and we wish you all the best, until we meet again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevg1889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
briarinfo, Owner at Briar Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2014

It was our pleasure. Thank you for a generous and detailed review. You certainly visited many attractions in Scotland from Lochearnhead. Thank you for sharing your lovely pictures too. We admired your families enthusiasm skiing at Glencoe and visiting distilleries, castles and islands all in day trips. We hope that you will come back and see us .There is plenty more to see and do all year round.

Best Wishes

Kim and Fraser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We have just spent one of the best weeks in February at the Briar Steading cottage with friends. The views from lounge and each of the (en suite) bedrooms were spectacular - worth a picture every day. Words don't do it justice and I agree totally with everything said by previous guests. Kim & Fraser welcomed us into their beautiful home and made us feel like friends we had known for years, most wonderful hosts with a wealth of knowledge about the area, where to visit and most of all excellent places to eat too. Already booked our return for next year.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill6557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
briarinfo, Owner at Briar Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2014

Delighted that you are returning in 2015. Thank you for sharing your Valentines week experience here and we are delighted that you enjoyed the restaurants around Locheanrnhead too. Have a great 2014 and see you next year.

Best Wishes

Kim and Fraser.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the briar steading, it is a lovely spacious cottage with more than enough room for 4 adults, 2 bedrooms both en suite, one with a wet room.
Kim & Fraser are excellent hosts and made us feel very welcome, you get the impression nothing would be to much trouble.
The view from the cottage was amazing loch and hills
Fraser & Kim showed us their 300 year old house, it is amazing and so full of character.
I would certainly recommend it if you want a relaxing get away break.

We will be returnig. Thank you Kim & Fraser

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank GJW2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
briarinfo, Owner at Briar Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

We are delighted that you enjoyed your short break, the facilities at Briar Steading and the ever changing views over Loch Earn. It was a pleasure to show you the old original ceiling in our b listed thatched cottage in contrast. Thank you for sharing your views and we look forward to welcoming you back some day.

Have a Very Merry Christmas and all the best for 2014

Kim and Fraser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We spent a week at the Briar Steading cottage and enjoyed every single minute of our stay. The cottage has a large living area and two bedrooms (both with en suite bathroom) separated by the living area, makes it a perfect location for 4 adults. Everything other guests wrote about the cottages is true, so the 5 star rating is without any doubt.

The cottage is very well situated with lots of interesting places to go. Go west to Oban, East to Pitlochry, North to Fort William, south to Stirling or just simply stay in the direct neighbourhood. It is all within driving range and the famous Glen Ogle trail (at least it is famous to us now!) starts just 400 yards from the cottage.

The owners Kim and Fraser are the kindest hosts you could wish for. They will help you with all your questions and they can tell you a lot about this wonderful part of the Highlands.

This was our second stay in one of the cottages (the other, Little Briar, is a bit smaller but also very cosy with the same splendid views) and we definitely will return a third time. We already loved Scotland in general, but this place feels like our second home.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 65Maurice66Joanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
briarinfo, Owner at Briar Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you. It is wonderful that you have driven to Lochearnhead for a second time, having sailed from The Netherlands to Newcastle first. Thanks also for making Glen Ogle more famous! Also for sharing that Loch Earn is so central within Scotland making it easy to tour many attractions, towns, villages and cities in any direction on the map. We are pleased that you experienced luxury Briar Steading this time around and are flattered by your description of Briar Cottages as your second home. We will keep it in ship shape for your next 2nd home holiday in Lochearnhead.

Very best wishes for the festive season

Kim and Fraser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed at Little Briar for 5 nights. The cottage was situated on an elevated position giving us a fantastic view over Loch Earn. Words can not describe the stunning setting of this cottage. The cottage was well equiped and everything you need was there and very clean. Kim and Fraser are perfect hosts and very proud of their home which is a stunning thatched cottage. They let us have a look at their 300 year old cottage which was amazing. They told us interesting stories of the local area. We took our dog on holiday with us. This cottage was perfect for him. We could let him out of the door into a large field which was well away from the road. The cottage is situated away from the "A" road so we felt Oscar (our dog) was safe. The "A" road is quiet most of the time but it was nice to know Oscar was well away from it. There are plenty of walks around the local area which are away from roads. A 10 min drive to Killin village we found a lovely walk from the car park, which was free! There are longer walks from Killin, depending on how energetic you are. The pub and the hotel which are about 2 mins walk from the cottage are both dog friendly. We had venison pie at Lochearnhead hotel which is well worth a try. The cottage also has a grass garden along the edge of the loch which is lovely and a great place to view the loch. The location of the cottage is very peaceful and relaxing, we left for home feeling relaxed and happy. We'll definately be booking again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3951diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
briarinfo, Owner at Briar Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience and for your kind words about our pet friendly cottage Little Briar. We are pleased that you all enjoyed your time here and that Oscar the dog had a good roam around too. The sloping acre of grass paddock is ideal for letting the dog out for a run and a sniff and many like to splash about in the flat basin area of the stream that runs the length of the cottage too; if not swim in Loch Earn from the slipway. Thank you for sending me the wonderful photos including Oscar the cockapoo sitting at the top of the garden admiring the view of Loch Earn. I will share it on my blog site www.stayatbriar.blogspot.com We look forward to your return. Have a great winter. Best wishes, Kim and Fraser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We spent a week at this cottage at the beginning of September with our three year old twins and it was fantastic. The cottage is very well done with modern decoration and plenty of kitchen utensils (often not the case in self catering accommodation). The view was absolutely stunning and the owners are very helpful and friendly. There is access to the loch which was great for the kids as they could go down to feed the ducks and my husband was able to fish. The location is a great base for lots of day trips and we had some lovely Scottish food in the hotel in Killin which is just down the road. The shop in the village was useful and it is possible to get cash from the Post Office which was also very good. We got on the Steamer across Loch Katrine and cycled back round which was great fun and the kids loved it. I would recommend this cottage to a family and we hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
briarinfo, Owner at Briar Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thank you for your kind and helpful comments about Lochearnhead retailers, the region and our luxury cottage Briar Steading that looks over Loch Earn. I am glad that your twins enjoyed the run around space beside the cottage and in the loch garden where a group of mallards come to feed regulalry. Some nest in our garden in spring and bring their ducklings to us for food. Delighted that your husband got some fishing time in. Guests can fish here without a permit any time during their stay which is ideal when you want to fit in around your families plans. The fishing season will be over this weekend on the 6th October for another year however it resumes on 15th March 2014. Have a great winter. Best wishes, Kim and Fraser Proven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochearnhead
0.1 mi away
Clachan Cottage Hotel
Clachan Cottage Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lochearnhead
802 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Four Seasons Hotel
The Four Seasons Hotel
#2 of 2 in St. Fillans
923 reviews
8.6 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Lochearnhead Hotel
The Lochearnhead Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lochearnhead
179 reviews
22.1 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briar Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briar Cottages

Address: Lochearnhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK19 8PU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Lochearnhead
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Lochearnhead
Price Range: $58 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TRIPADVISOR CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE 5 OUT OF 5 bubble rating, 2016 AWARD WINNER: We (Kim and Fraser) will welcome you on arrival at Briar Cottages where we offer a spacious luxury holiday cottage for 4 (plus baby) and a charming pet friendly cottage for 4 plus 1 dog or 2 plus 2 pets in the friendly village of Lochearnhead. The cottages and grounds offer outstanding views south over Loch Earn to Glenample and Stuc A Chroin behind Edinample Castle, free trout fishing in season, a petanque piste with boule and cochinette, fun 6 flag lawn putting in the loch garden, a jetty, summerhouse, slipway, #BLiSStrail sculptures, moorings and picnic tables within 3 acre landscaped gardens. Detached and finished in local stone to complement our B listed thatched cottage, both holiday cottages are elevated within the gardens and are 60 metres apart. Briar Steading sleeps 4 in king and twin bedrooms both with en-suite bathrooms (one offering a spacious walk in wet shower room). A travel cot and high chair are available in Briar Steading. Completed in winter 2010, the bedrooms are separated by an open plan lounge for comfort and privacy. Glass windows and doors lead to the patio garden from the lounge and bedrooms enabling plenty of light, stunning views all year round and individual access to and from the patio. The comfortable 26 foot open plan living space includes a wood-burning stove, dining area, and a fully fitted kitchen with integrated appliances. The interior is tastefully decorated in natural and warm hues reflecting the mixed colours within our local stone which can be seen in the waterfall that sits behind the self-catering property. Free WiFi can be accessed in all rooms and on the patio outside. Briar Steading is a pet-free environment, however our dog-friendly cottage Little Briar is charming and cosy with a kitchen dining and lounge area overlooking the loch. The pet friendly cottage sleeps 2-4 in one double and one twin room with a bathroom/shower. Dogs adore the run around space behind the cottage. One couple can bring up to 2 dogs and 4 people may bring one pet. Both cottages are WiFi enabled. Guests can access the Proven's loch garden for free trout fishing in season plus there are moorings, a slipway and jetty, petanque piste (bocce ball), picnic tables and summer house. Pets are welcome to swim if you let them. When you are booked in for 7 nights or more you will be invited to view inside Briar Cottage's lounge, once the old byre or cow shed in our restored b-listed thatched cottage. See a fine example of an original Scots pine cruck framed ceiling. We will be delighted to share stories of past tenants from local clans MacGregor and McLaren. Descendants of these clans often return to the area to see the house and grounds and to take part in the traditional Highland Games in Lochearnhead in July. Briar Cottages offer excellent view points for photography - from the top of the garden near the old Lochearnhead to Comrie railway walkway - to the jetty on Loch Earn. This is a terrific area for outdoor sports, wildlife, touring Scotland and relaxation. There are two hotels just 200m from the garden gates and many more wonderful places to eat and drink within a short drive. I (Kim) am a member of the Federation of Small Businesses, have Association of Self Catering Scotland Quality Assurance grading and am Chair of The Loch Earn Tourism Information group. I will be delighted to assist with any queries. We aim to offer you a comfortable, enjoyable and memorable holiday experience at Briar Cottages and look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Briar Cottages Lochearnhead, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing