We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Cottage with magnificent Lochview. Nothing left to wish for.”
Review of Briar Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lochearnhead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Briar Cottages
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We spent a week at the Briar Steading cottage and enjoyed every single minute of our stay. The cottage has a large living area and two bedrooms (both with en suite bathroom) separated by the living area, makes it a perfect location for 4 adults. Everything other guests wrote about the cottages is true, so the 5 star rating is without any doubt.

The cottage is very well situated with lots of interesting places to go. Go west to Oban, East to Pitlochry, North to Fort William, south to Stirling or just simply stay in the direct neighbourhood. It is all within driving range and the famous Glen Ogle trail (at least it is famous to us now!) starts just 400 yards from the cottage.

The owners Kim and Fraser are the kindest hosts you could wish for. They will help you with all your questions and they can tell you a lot about this wonderful part of the Highlands.

This was our second stay in one of the cottages (the other, Little Briar, is a bit smaller but also very cosy with the same splendid views) and we definitely will return a third time. We already loved Scotland in general, but this place feels like our second home.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 65Maurice66Joanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
briarinfo, Owner at Briar Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you. It is wonderful that you have driven to Lochearnhead for a second time, having sailed from The Netherlands to Newcastle first. Thanks also for making Glen Ogle more famous! Also for sharing that Loch Earn is so central within Scotland making it easy to tour many attractions, towns, villages and cities in any direction on the map. We are pleased that you experienced luxury Briar Steading this time around and are flattered by your description of Briar Cottages as your second home. We will keep it in ship shape for your next 2nd home holiday in Lochearnhead.

Very best wishes for the festive season

Kim and Fraser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
There are newer reviews for Briar Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 112 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed at Little Briar for 5 nights. The cottage was situated on an elevated position giving us a fantastic view over Loch Earn. Words can not describe the stunning setting of this cottage. The cottage was well equiped and everything you need was there and very clean. Kim and Fraser are perfect hosts and very proud of their home which is a stunning thatched cottage. They let us have a look at their 300 year old cottage which was amazing. They told us interesting stories of the local area. We took our dog on holiday with us. This cottage was perfect for him. We could let him out of the door into a large field which was well away from the road. The cottage is situated away from the "A" road so we felt Oscar (our dog) was safe. The "A" road is quiet most of the time but it was nice to know Oscar was well away from it. There are plenty of walks around the local area which are away from roads. A 10 min drive to Killin village we found a lovely walk from the car park, which was free! There are longer walks from Killin, depending on how energetic you are. The pub and the hotel which are about 2 mins walk from the cottage are both dog friendly. We had venison pie at Lochearnhead hotel which is well worth a try. The cottage also has a grass garden along the edge of the loch which is lovely and a great place to view the loch. The location of the cottage is very peaceful and relaxing, we left for home feeling relaxed and happy. We'll definately be booking again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3951diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
briarinfo, Owner at Briar Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience and for your kind words about our pet friendly cottage Little Briar. We are pleased that you all enjoyed your time here and that Oscar the dog had a good roam around too. The sloping acre of grass paddock is ideal for letting the dog out for a run and a sniff and many like to splash about in the flat basin area of the stream that runs the length of the cottage too; if not swim in Loch Earn from the slipway. Thank you for sending me the wonderful photos including Oscar the cockapoo sitting at the top of the garden admiring the view of Loch Earn. I will share it on my blog site www.stayatbriar.blogspot.com We look forward to your return. Have a great winter. Best wishes, Kim and Fraser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We spent a week at this cottage at the beginning of September with our three year old twins and it was fantastic. The cottage is very well done with modern decoration and plenty of kitchen utensils (often not the case in self catering accommodation). The view was absolutely stunning and the owners are very helpful and friendly. There is access to the loch which was great for the kids as they could go down to feed the ducks and my husband was able to fish. The location is a great base for lots of day trips and we had some lovely Scottish food in the hotel in Killin which is just down the road. The shop in the village was useful and it is possible to get cash from the Post Office which was also very good. We got on the Steamer across Loch Katrine and cycled back round which was great fun and the kids loved it. I would recommend this cottage to a family and we hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
briarinfo, Owner at Briar Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thank you for your kind and helpful comments about Lochearnhead retailers, the region and our luxury cottage Briar Steading that looks over Loch Earn. I am glad that your twins enjoyed the run around space beside the cottage and in the loch garden where a group of mallards come to feed regulalry. Some nest in our garden in spring and bring their ducklings to us for food. Delighted that your husband got some fishing time in. Guests can fish here without a permit any time during their stay which is ideal when you want to fit in around your families plans. The fishing season will be over this weekend on the 6th October for another year however it resumes on 15th March 2014. Have a great winter. Best wishes, Kim and Fraser Proven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I stayed here with some of my family at beginning of September and what a brilliant place to stay. The cottage is very spacious, well equipped, very clean and has a spectacular view. It is very well situated with easy driving distances to Crieff, Perth, Stirling and smaller towns and villages such as Calender, Aberfeldy, Killin and Kenmore. All of which are worth a visit. There are lots of different species of wildlife to keep you entertained...especially the very friendly ducks!!! The owners Kim and Fraser are fantastic hosts and can't do enough for you. This was our second visit and have no doubt we will be back soon. Thank you.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandyp1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
briarinfo, Owner at Briar Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you very much for choosing to return to Briar Steading cottage in Lochearnhead, which you have now experienced in a different season from last time. Each season has its attractions and we are beginning to hear the stags rutting in the forest on the hill behind us now. Your family did a great job looking after the wild ducks in the garden on Loch Earn. They are still looking for you! We see ducklings hatch in spring and again in June however they were more like teenagers when you fed them. Thanks for sharing the towns and villages that you enjoyed visiting. We are lucky to be in such a central position within Scotland enabling easy trips to tourist attractions in all directions on the map. We would love to see you back here again in any season as we are open all year round.

Best wishes to you and the family

Kim and Fraser
www.stayatbriar.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I had a great few days at the cottage. The view is second to none, the most friendly staff, a fantastic location. I was there with two huskies and they really settled in and enjoyed the walks in the surrounding area. Couldn't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clanfalcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
briarinfo, Owner at Briar Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience of our pet friendly cottage Little Briar. Delighted that you found the break relaxing and enjoyed the views. It is also important to us that your lovely huskies appreciated the grounds and local walks. We often wonder what pets would say about the garden space, loch garden and local walks if they could write on TripAdvisor. Best regards Fraser and Kim Proven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Everything about our stay was wonderful.

The cottage was equipped with all the essentials, with two bedrooms and a spacious living area, divided into dining , kitchen and a living room , but what I loved most ; was the cleanness of the cottage..

The view from the living room was spectacular ; i read many reviews about how beautiful the view is , but i think there are no words that can justify that beauty ..You must see it to really appreciate it..

The owners; Kim & Fraser were warm welcoming people, they didn't spare any effort to help us finding what we needed or answer any query we had.

And just before we leave , we ran into Gerard Butler ( YES !! Gerard Butler ) few miles away from the cottage while we were having our dinner in a place recommended by Kim and Fraser , and that was What I call the perfect end for a perfect holiday :)

Overall , the place z a must see , and would strongly recommend it to anyone who is looking for a scape from the city .

One important note , having your own car is strongly recommended .

Fareshta

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fareshta303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
briarinfo, Owner at Briar Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience and observations and I love the photo showing the gable end of Briar Cottage and Little Briar cottage. I am glad that your first family holiday in Scotland was enjoyable and yes what a bonus that your sons spotted Gerard Butler along the road. He would be here visiting his mum who lives nearby. I am delighted that he took time to chat with you and that your sons had their photo taken with him. Kindest wishes Kim (+Fraser)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Everything about our stay was wonderful.

The cottage was equipped with all the essentials, with two bedrooms and a spacious living area, divided into dining , kitchen and a living room , but what I loved most ; was the cleanness of the cottage..

The view from the living room was spectacular ; i read many reviews about how beautiful the view is , but i think there are no words that can justify that beauty ..You must see it to really appreciate it..

The owners; Kim & Fraser were warm welcoming people, they didn't spare any effort to help us finding what we needed or answer any query we had.

And just before we leave , we ran into Gerard Butler ( YES !! Gerard Butler ) few miles away from the cottage while we were having our dinner in a place recommended by Kim and Fraser , and that was What I call the perfect end for a perfect holiday :)

Overall , the place z a must see , and would strongly recommend it to anyone who is looking for a scape from the city .

One important note , having your own car is strongly recommended .

Fareshta

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fareshta303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochearnhead
0.1 mi away
Clachan Cottage Hotel
Clachan Cottage Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lochearnhead
802 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Four Seasons Hotel
The Four Seasons Hotel
#2 of 2 in St. Fillans
923 reviews
8.6 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Lochearnhead Hotel
The Lochearnhead Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lochearnhead
179 reviews
22.1 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briar Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briar Cottages

Address: Lochearnhead, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK19 8PU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Lochearnhead
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Lochearnhead
Price Range: $58 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TRIPADVISOR CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE 5 OUT OF 5 bubble rating, 2016 AWARD WINNER: We (Kim and Fraser) will welcome you on arrival at Briar Cottages where we offer a spacious luxury holiday cottage for 4 (plus baby) and a charming pet friendly cottage for 4 plus 1 dog or 2 plus 2 pets in the friendly village of Lochearnhead. The cottages and grounds offer outstanding views south over Loch Earn to Glenample and Stuc A Chroin behind Edinample Castle, free trout fishing in season, a petanque piste with boule and cochinette, fun 6 flag lawn putting in the loch garden, a jetty, summerhouse, slipway, #BLiSStrail sculptures, moorings and picnic tables within 3 acre landscaped gardens. Detached and finished in local stone to complement our B listed thatched cottage, both holiday cottages are elevated within the gardens and are 60 metres apart. Briar Steading sleeps 4 in king and twin bedrooms both with en-suite bathrooms (one offering a spacious walk in wet shower room). A travel cot and high chair are available in Briar Steading. Completed in winter 2010, the bedrooms are separated by an open plan lounge for comfort and privacy. Glass windows and doors lead to the patio garden from the lounge and bedrooms enabling plenty of light, stunning views all year round and individual access to and from the patio. The comfortable 26 foot open plan living space includes a wood-burning stove, dining area, and a fully fitted kitchen with integrated appliances. The interior is tastefully decorated in natural and warm hues reflecting the mixed colours within our local stone which can be seen in the waterfall that sits behind the self-catering property. Free WiFi can be accessed in all rooms and on the patio outside. Briar Steading is a pet-free environment, however our dog-friendly cottage Little Briar is charming and cosy with a kitchen dining and lounge area overlooking the loch. The pet friendly cottage sleeps 2-4 in one double and one twin room with a bathroom/shower. Dogs adore the run around space behind the cottage. One couple can bring up to 2 dogs and 4 people may bring one pet. Both cottages are WiFi enabled. Guests can access the Proven's loch garden for free trout fishing in season plus there are moorings, a slipway and jetty, petanque piste (bocce ball), picnic tables and summer house. Pets are welcome to swim if you let them. When you are booked in for 7 nights or more you will be invited to view inside Briar Cottage's lounge, once the old byre or cow shed in our restored b-listed thatched cottage. See a fine example of an original Scots pine cruck framed ceiling. We will be delighted to share stories of past tenants from local clans MacGregor and McLaren. Descendants of these clans often return to the area to see the house and grounds and to take part in the traditional Highland Games in Lochearnhead in July. Briar Cottages offer excellent view points for photography - from the top of the garden near the old Lochearnhead to Comrie railway walkway - to the jetty on Loch Earn. This is a terrific area for outdoor sports, wildlife, touring Scotland and relaxation. There are two hotels just 200m from the garden gates and many more wonderful places to eat and drink within a short drive. I (Kim) am a member of the Federation of Small Businesses, have Association of Self Catering Scotland Quality Assurance grading and am Chair of The Loch Earn Tourism Information group. I will be delighted to assist with any queries. We aim to offer you a comfortable, enjoyable and memorable holiday experience at Briar Cottages and look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Briar Cottages Lochearnhead, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing