We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“magical killin”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Killin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Killin Highland Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I absolutely endorse these lodges they have everything you need in them we had number 1 and 2 these are one bedroom but there are bigger lodges too,number three has a queen size bed .The owner is a lovely friendly guy but no one bothers you there.the new year was great everyone from the village goes down to the falls of Dochart and the fireworks over the water was amazing.The people are very friendly and although a huge crowd it was all very orderly.Lovely place surrounded by amazing lochs and mountains.

Room Tip: Rooms one two and three I can vouch for as I've been in them all but theyre all good clean lodge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kate p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidaymakerKillin, Owner at Killin Highland Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Kate P

Thank you for your very positive review. Again great to hear how helpful and Friendly Colin has been
Come back soon. cheers Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 256 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2014

Well where do I begin, we have always wanted to go away for Christmas and we decided that Scotland was the place to go as it's so beautiful. We had looked at other lodges online and decided to choose Killin Highland Lodges and that we definitely chose the best one, We booked our holiday with Jim and Caroline in January 2013 for the following dates 21st December to 28th December in Alder Log Cabin No:11,

We had arrived a little early at Killin Highland Lodges so we decided to have a quick look through the window at our accommodation, just then a gentleman walked up to us and introduced himself who was Colin and he such a wonderful lovely person. We advised him that we were sorry that we had arrived a little early and he said that this was no problem at all, Colin advised us that we could go inside immediately and that we do not have to wait outside in the cold.

Colin showed us to our door and took us inside, my first words were WOW, it was absolutely beautiful inside and could not believe how big it was. We were showed around the Lodge and the second bedroom had the biggest bed ever and we decided then that that was our room lol. The heating and electric and gas meter was explained to us and Colin explained that there was brochures in the TV drawer that explains all about the area, he said to knock on his door anytime if we had any questions or needed anything which we both thought was lovely.

We both had another look around the Lodge when Colin had left and again we could not believe how beautiful it was and everything was finished to a very high standard and had also provided us with tea, coffee, biscuits and a very lovely Christmas Tree which was very nice touch.We eventually unpacked the car and had a well earned cup of tea and some Scottish shortbread biscuits (well we were in Scotland). The views from our balcony were breathtaking to say the least and you we able to see Loch Tay and the mountains, we could not believe how quiet it was as we are so used to the busy city life,

The next day we went into the village and it had everything you needed a couple of pubs, coop supermarket, lovely gift shop by the Falls Of Dochart and a few restaurants, other shops and finally a bank. There are lots of beautiful walks around the village which we went on most of them, but make sure you are wrapped up toastie and warm as the temperature can drop dramatically and the last thing you want it to be stuck on a trail feeling cold. We found everyone very helpful and so welcoming and always had the time to get to know you,

We noticed Colin as we were leaving and mentioned that we were going to do a bit of sightseeing, he mentioned a few places that was worth a visit, we went to Fortingall where there was the oldest Yew Tree in Europe which was 5000 years old. We also visited Kenmore and Taymouth Castle which was a the end of Loch Tay and well worth a visit, we also went to Aberfeldy and to a whiskey distillery there but unfortunately it was closed due to it being Christmas. We did attempt to drive up towards Ben Lawers but got so far up and we decided it got to dangerous due to the snow and it was getting dark.

On Christmas Eve Colin knocked the door and appologised for disturbing us and said that he's got a little something for us and gave us two bottles of wine some chocolates and a roasting bag for our turkey, we were so overwhelmed as he had not experienced so much generosity like this before.

The day before we were leaving I emailed Jim and Caroline to advise them that we wanted to book again for Christmas 2014 and that we were interested in Lodge No:10 as we wanted the children to come with us, Colin immediately knocked on our door and said that he had been contacted by Jim and would love to show us Lodge No:10. After taking about 30mins getting ready Colin showed us around the Lodge, again it's absolutely beautiful inside with four bedrooms one with en suite and a bathroom with bath and shower. The living room was absolutely massive with views to die for overlooking the loch, unfortunately our children have already made alternative arrangements for Christmas 2014 and have decided to stop in the Lodge that we originally had in 2013.

So I am a man of true words and can honestly say that you are really missing out if you have never stopped at Killin Highland Lodges, it caters for everyone's needs whether you want a quiet relaxing time or if you are the outgoing person who enjoys walks and the wilderness. wherever you look there are views to die for and nature all around you, to all the staff that work there you do a fantastic job in making everyone's staff a memorable one and my wife and I have memories that will be with us for the rest of our lives and thanks once again for everything x

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oatsey1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidaymakerKillin, Owner at Killin Highland Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Oatsey 1968

Wow thank you for such a full and comprehensive review of your Christmas stay. We are delighted that you found Colin so helpful, as have many other guests. You will be looking forward to your return in Christmas 2014 and we look forward to seeing you again then. Cheers Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This was our 2nd new year at Killin Highland lodges and have already booked for next new year.
The lodge we stayed in was Birch no 6 . The lodge has one large bedroom and a sofa/bed in the living room this is plenty big enough for 2 adults 1 teenager and our dog. The lodge is warm and very comfortable. New year we gathered outside the lodge and looked down on killin's firework display (fantastic). Colin who is always there to help gave everyone a wee dram of whisky to see the new year in. Killin has plenty to offer co op , pubs café and great walks . Killin is a great central location . This area is perfect for walking ,driving and photography , Glencoe and Glen Etive a must !

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidaymakerKillin, Owner at Killin Highland Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dianne H Glad to hear that you enjoyed your second visit so much that you booked a third!! It is a great area of outstanding natural beauty and ideal for the walking and photography yopu mentioned
See you again at New Year

cheers jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We booked Killin Highlands Lodges for 5 nights during Christmas week, to escape the city noise, for some much needed peace and quiet. We stayed in Pine Lodge 9, which was well equipped and more than met our needs. The highlight being the 32 inch satellite TV, as the weather didn't allow for much outdoor exploring. Thank you Colin for being so friendly and accommodating. We hope you have a great, well earned holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AM1980_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidaymakerKillin, Owner at Killin Highland Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

AM 1980 Great to hear that you so enjoyed your Christmas get away where you enjoyed peace and quiet in a "well equipped2 lodge which "more than met our needs". Hast ye back

cheers Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

The lodge was brilliant for a family Christmas for eight - roomy, comfortable and cosy. The kitchen was well equipped and we had no problems doing a full Christmas dinner for eight. The dining table was enormous and was great for the family board games! Beds were comfortable and the lounge had three large sofas so everyone could sit together. The location is wonderful - despite the horrid weather, we had several trips into Killin and a lovely drive right round Loch Tay on a sunny Boxing Day. Colin couldn't do enough for us and his thoughtful visit on Christmas Eve with some wine and chocolate was an extremely welcome surprise!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank yachtscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidaymakerKillin, Owner at Killin Highland Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Yachtscot Your comments "The lodge was brilliant for a family Christmas for eight - roomy, comfortable and cosy" is music to our ears. We try hard to please our guests and are delighted to read such a positive endorsement which suggests we are succeeding
Thanks for taking the time to provide a review. Best wishes Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

An excellent place for our family get together for Christmas. The lodge was just perfect for our needs and the owner couldn't have done more for us.

The lodge was well equipped, clean and comfortable and we had a lovely time!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Singingcapers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidaymakerKillin, Owner at Killin Highland Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Singing capers We are pleased that you found that "The lodge was well equipped clean and comfortable" and that it was "just perfect for our needs". Best wishes JIm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

This has been the best honeymoon we could wish for. What a beautiful, peaceful place for our special time. Colin & Sarah made us feel extra specially welcome and helped us to settle in. The flowers, card and bubbly for our honeymoon were a very lovely touch and surprise. Killin Highland Lodges are in a tranquil setting in the hills a short distance outside Killin village. The village is most definitely worth spending time in. The Falls of Dochart waterfalls are spectacular, especially in full flow. The only time we ate out was at The Capercaillie restaurant, which was very friendly, welcoming, served lovely food (we had chicken & rice soup) and has a brilliant view of the rapids below the falls. We look forward to coming back for our anniversary, if not before.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidaymakerKillin, Owner at Killin Highland Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Chris all honeymoons are memorable and we are delighted that Colin and Sarah made you feel so welcome and that you will have such positive memories of Killin and Perthshire which you describe as an "idyllic location". We hope to see you again in the coming year. Best wishes JIm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killin
5.7 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
439 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Four Seasons Hotel
The Four Seasons Hotel
#2 of 2 in St. Fillans
930 reviews
6.8 mi away
Clachan Cottage Hotel
Clachan Cottage Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lochearnhead
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Killin Hotel
Killin Hotel
#7 of 14 in Killin
1,014 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bridge Of Lochay Hotel
Bridge Of Lochay Hotel
#3 of 14 in Killin
463 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dall Lodge Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killin Highland Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killin Highland Lodges

Address: Aberfeldy Road | Perthshire, Killin, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK21 8TX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Loch Tay > Killin
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Killin
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Killin Highland Lodges offers 12 self catering holiday lodges with 1-4 bedrooms ( sleeping 1-8 people in each lodge). The lodges are situated on a south facing wooded hillside with views over the village of Killin (with its famous Falls of Dochart) and to the hills on the south side of Loch Tay. Free Wifi is provided in public areas and every lodge can receive a free Wifi signal in at least one room. The Lodges are rated as 4 star and 3 star by VisitScotland and have received Certificates of Excellence from Trip Advisor for 2012,2013,2014,2015 and 2016. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Killin Highland Lodges Scotland - Loch Tay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing