We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Killin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Killin Highland Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Great place to stay, fantastically positioned in centre of Scotland to allow day trips out to each side of country, we didn’t want to leave.

Recommend day trip up Ben Lawers which is just down the road from Lodge. Head up Ben Lawers and down the other side upon reaching Bridge of Balgie turn left along Glen Lyon. You won’t be disappointed. When you reach the other end you do have turn around and head back the way you came unless you have a 4x4 for the last few miles. Worth checking the weather if traveling in winter months as they don’t salt the road.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidaymakerKillin, Manager at Killin Highland Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Chris B,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Killin Highland Lodges, glad to hear that you "...didn't want to leave..." I am glad you managed to make day trips to each side of the country and not only is Glen Lyon spectacular by 4x4, it just as good (if not better) by bicycle! It is worth trying to get a lift up to the dam though as it is quite some climb!!!

Look forward to welcoming you again!!

Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 256 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights with our two dogs, the alder cabin was perfect, the break was affordable, the cabin very spacious and clean and had everything we needed. Colin was available to help or answer any questions . The dogs loved it especially the walk at the back of the cabins, we agreed that dogs should be kept on leads in the site as stated in the manual, not everyone is a dog lover, but the owners dog walked about freely, so perhaps a little contradicting. The cabins were in short distance from killin albeit you need to walk through a few fields to get there otherwise tackle the very busy road which isn't great for walkers or dogs! We enjoyed all aspects or our stay , although it did get a bit noisy late afternoon with the kids playing football outside, but nothing too disturbing!
WHilst staying there we visited aberfeldy, lochearn head and kenmore and also used a local herapist Liz from Relax and revive who Id recommend , she came to the cabin and done some treatments including a fantastic massage and pedicure. All in all a fab break and we would return here. One thing which caused us a few issues especially as we run our own business was the lack of phone signal, we had to go to he site entrance to make calls and even that was a hit or miss, we are both on O2 so maybe other networks are better. We Also got to use the sites wifi but the connection was sporadic and after Wednesday night we weren't able to connect, again it's something to be aware of if you need contact.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Macster99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidaymakerKillin, Manager at Killin Highland Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Macaster 99,

Thankyou for the review of Alder Log Cabin, youre comment "The Alder Cabin was perfect" is very heartening to read. We are glad you managed top make use of the local area and are happy that you "...Enjoyed all aspects of your stay..."

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future,

Best Wishes

Colin Bradley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had a great time in the beautiful Alder cabin that was comfortable and cozy, and included everything you need. The cabin contains a fully equipped kitchen, dining table, living room, two bedrooms and two bathrooms. It also has a wide veranda.

The owners were helpful and a pleasure to know.

Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mogli43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidaymakerKillin, Manager at Killin Highland Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Mogli 43,

Thankyou for your review of Alder Log Cabin, we were particularly pleased to see you describe it as "comfortable and cozy, and included everything you need". Thank you also to your children who kept Bezi so wonderfully entertained during your visit, we are all looking forward to your return visit one day!

Cheers

Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We have just spent five days at Killin Highland Lodges and really enjoyed our stay.

The area is beautiful and the location of the site is convenient for visiting the surrounding towns and villages or using the local adventure businesses.

During our stay Colin was a huge help with ideas, directions and was generally on hand to help us make the most of our stay - thankyou!

Killin highland lodges offers good value for money, the holiday is what you make of it. We hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hmilne15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidaymakerKillin, Owner at Killin Highland Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Hmilne15 Thank you for yoru positive comments and we were pleased to help you with ideas etc during your stay. we hope to see you again sometime soon. best wishes Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We have recently enjoyed a 9 day stay and would recommend these lodges to anyone. The situation is perfect being close to Killin at one end of Loch Tay, and the lodges themselves are clean, comfortable and well equipped. Although some have better views than others they all have nice patio areas which were well used by everyone while we were there due to the good weather. The site is looked after by Colin who is very helpful and does his best to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.. All in all we had a great time and will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: If the view is important Lodges 1-4 are better than 5 or 6 for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dave_shand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidaymakerKillin, Manager at Killin Highland Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dave, thank you for your review of our lodges, again it is nice to see you state "...the lodges themselves are clean, comfortable and well equipped." The patios are a recent addition and are proving to be very popular with our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best Wishes
Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Really good location ideal for seeing Scotland . The site is nice but would benefit from a little attention to detail . Dead plants in pots ,etc . The lodge we stayed in was adequate .Very dark inside as it never got the sun .The decor is dated and contributes to the depressing feeling inside the lodge .
Electric is by a coin meter . The cooker was well past it . The lodge was very clean but had a strong smell of disinfectant .
The site is very dog friendly which is why we chose it . There is a nice walk at the back of the site .
We loved Killin but would not stay here again .

Room Tip: consider the newer lodges .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EK11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidaymakerKillin, Owner at Killin Highland Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

EK11_11, Many thanks for taking the time to review our lodges. Your comment "The lodge was very clean...." will be appreciated by our hard-working cleaning team. We pride ourselves on being very dog friendly and it was nice that this was picked up on during your stay with us. The walk behind site is indeed a tremendous asset to the park.
We are sorry that there were dead plants in pots however we had some prolonged hot weather and were unable to manage to keep all of our plants watered sufficiently. The lodges are very often admired for the fact they are wooden internally and it may be that the fantastic weather outside may have diminished your experience of the inside of the cabin. Once more thankyou for taking the time to review our lodges.
Cheers
Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed in lodge 11 for part of our honeymoon which was absolutely outstanding. Far exceeded our expectations and I could probably happily live in it as my home!
Colin & Sarah who run the site were just a brilliant couple to have met. Both really friendly and interesting folk. It was a pleasure to have met them(and there wonderful perfectly mannered dog Bezie!)
Colin was helpful and had great knowledge of the surrounding area(and many other areas of Scotland if you are travelling after that) and things to do so was great to speak to about that too although we were there just to relax.
It's a 5 minute drive from the nice wee town of Killin, it's 2 minutes from the loch, behind the park is a great hill for walking(we had our 2 dogs and they loved it), the grounds are well kept and it's a nice, quiet area.
Thanks to the good weather and being lucky to have caught Colin & Sarah when they had some time off , we also had the extra bonus of getting invited to a BBQ at there place. Steaks, venison sausages, Sarah's home-made South African hot sauce... it was superb. This just added to our great stay. We will be going back and I'd highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AldoMed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidaymakerKillin, Owner at Killin Highland Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

AldoMed thank you for your very positive review and we are delighted that your stay was,in your own words "absolutely outstanding Far exceeded our expectations ". Colin and Sarah are warm and friendly and we are pleased that you enjopyed their company. We look forward to your return vists

cheers Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killin
5.7 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
439 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Four Seasons Hotel
The Four Seasons Hotel
#2 of 2 in St. Fillans
930 reviews
6.8 mi away
Clachan Cottage Hotel
Clachan Cottage Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lochearnhead
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Killin Hotel
Killin Hotel
#7 of 14 in Killin
1,014 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bridge Of Lochay Hotel
Bridge Of Lochay Hotel
#3 of 14 in Killin
463 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dall Lodge Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killin Highland Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killin Highland Lodges

Address: Aberfeldy Road | Perthshire, Killin, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK21 8TX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Loch Tay > Killin
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Killin
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Killin Highland Lodges offers 12 self catering holiday lodges with 1-4 bedrooms ( sleeping 1-8 people in each lodge). The lodges are situated on a south facing wooded hillside with views over the village of Killin (with its famous Falls of Dochart) and to the hills on the south side of Loch Tay. Free Wifi is provided in public areas and every lodge can receive a free Wifi signal in at least one room. The Lodges are rated as 4 star and 3 star by VisitScotland and have received Certificates of Excellence from Trip Advisor for 2012,2013,2014,2015 and 2016. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Killin Highland Lodges Scotland - Loch Tay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing