We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic getaway!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Killin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Killin Highland Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic getaway!!!”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

4th visit to lodges for wife's 30th..Although we couldn't get our usual cabin, still sorted us out in lodge 9...had a brilliant bbq and drinks by the fire pit..met Colin on arrival.(nice to be remembered when coming back to these lodges)...again no issues...had a ball and wife was very happy .. which means I'm happy.....great night on sat when Colin came out for few drinks and joined us by the pit fire and two other guests brought their guitars....magic night ....to the next time guys ....thanks Colin and Jim.
.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dav3del
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidaymakerKillin, Owner at Killin Highland Lodges, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dav3del Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed our three star lodge with its new shower rooms when your 4 star prefernce was unavailable. The firepit is proving poular and we are pleased that you enjoyed it and till the next time.. cheers Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    55
    14
    4
    5
See reviews for
90
98
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is our fourth time up here with family and friends came away for my big sisters 30th as a suprise and we had a ball !! Staff are very helpful and friendly couldnt ask for nicer people ! And there dog is so friendly that i could take her home ! The cabin was just what we needed at such a short notice we were in one of the 3 star cabins (we usually r in the four)but last min.... was clean and had everything we needed ! And the location....well i would live here if i could ! Highly recommended will definately be back.... kerr/melville family

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maymai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidaymakerKillin, Owner at Killin Highland Lodges, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Maymail Delighted you enjoyed your stay in Lodge 9 where we recently installed 2 power showers. Alas our friendly lab can't be taken home but we are glad that you and the childrem enjoyed her company. We look forward to seeing you on a return visit . Best wishes Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

First impression was very good-colin welcoming and showed us how to use coin meter etc. View amazing. We went to grab our stuff from the car only to notice Colin's dogs doing their business next to the area of grass right next to our lodge (more a cabin really)-I was a bit disappointed with this as it was clearly an area for guests to use. My husband had booked the lodge as a surprise anniversary short trip - and he was very upset and disappointed by the standard of our lodge. We were in Rowan lodge 1-we could see that some of the other lodges were of a higher standard, but all were 3 stars, which is not what I would give our lodge. We had thought about leaving straight away and finding somewhere else to stay, but I did not want to upset my husband and we decided to just slum it. All in all -I cannot believe the reviews, if they are true, then we must have got the worst lodge-not very clean, smelly and the kitchen/shower room need updated especially the toilet seat, which smelled of urine. This is totally unacceptable in this day and age. I was glad to get home to my lovely clean home.The owners need to stay in this lodge for a couple of nights and really see for themselves the standard they are expecting their guests to stay in.

Room Tip: not for a romantic break not for people who don't own dogs/cats
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drrivett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidaymakerKillin, Owner at Killin Highland Lodges, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Drrivett
We are delighted that you found Colin so helpful on arrival.. As you did not discuss any concerns raised in the review while on site, we were unable to discuss these with you. Visitscotland rated our cleaning standards as "excellent" during their last inspection and the great majority of our guest reviews confirm the accuracy of this rating. We regularly check the site for dog soiling and clean up and would have done so immediately on request.. There is a great dog walking area on the hill behind the lodges. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay nor respond to our email sent following your departure.
Best wishes Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
123 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Just returned from another week at the lodges. The fourth time we've been in 4 years. Further upgrades to the lodges have made them even better! They are immaculately clean, in a superb location and brilliantly equipped. We were a party of 12 staying in 3 lodges which were all lovely. If you are visiting this area to walk Munro's, cycle or do whatever you couldn't pick a better place to stay. I'm booking us in for next year already!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidaymakerKillin, Owner at Killin Highland Lodges, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Paul

It was great to see you back with your enthusiatic friends and we are pleased that you enjoyed the new showwer rooms which we installed inLodge 9 over the winter period. You have already booked to come back bnext year so we look forward to seeing you then.

best wishes Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Five of us stayed in Lodge 9 for a week, with some other family members in a smaller lodge. Both cabins were clean, comfortable and had beautiful views. Killin is a lovely village, we ate out most nights there and didn't have a bad meal. Colin was great at recommending some restaurants for a special occasion meal, and made us all feel welcome. The cabins are a good base for walking, cycling (Callander to Killin on the national cycle route 7 was very scenic) and exploring the area. We had 2 dogs with us and the dedicated dog walk at the back of the site, straight out onto the hillside was ideal. Would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amyls86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidaymakerKillin, Owner at Killin Highland Lodges, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Amyls86
It was great to hear that you had enjoyed yourselves during your recent stay. with family. Our new shower rooms in Lodge 9 have proved popular and we are glad you enjoyed the views of west Perthshire. We look forward to welcoming you back on another occasion

best wishes Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stumbled upon these lodges after bailing out of my tent whilst hill walking one particularly soggy weekend recently. I turned up, damp and slightly disheveled, to be met by Colin who swiftly ushered me into a nice warm cabin which was to be mine for the night. The lodges are set amongst some really nice quiet woodland just outside Killin and are ideally placed for exploring the local Lawers hills. The cabin was comfortable, clean and tidy. The price was very reasonable and Colin was a perfect host. I'm already planning a return visit with some friends. 5 stars from me!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gadameer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0lidaymakerKillin, Owner at Killin Highland Lodges, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Gadameer We are pleased we were able to rescue your weekend during your recent trip to the Lawers range of mountains. Nothing quite as good as a warm dry bed when you have been soaked on the hills! We hope that you will come for longer next time

best wishes Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2013

My friends and I booked Killin Highland Lodges for a 2 night stay in April. There were 8 of us in the Oak Log Cabin.

The service was outstanding and the pictures of the lodge do not do it enough justice. It was lovely. It was a fantastic break away.

Would recommend Killin Highland Lodges for a break for Family, couples and of course friends.

Overall the cabin was clean, comfortable and just what we needed for a break away. Would definatley return

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidaymakerKillin, Owner at Killin Highland Lodges, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Karly D Thank you for taking the time to report on your breif stay with us. We are delighted that you were so pleased with what we offer and hope to welcome you back on another occasion best wishes Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killin
5.7 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
2.2 mi away
Loch Tay Highland Lodges
0.9 mi away
Dall Lodge Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bridge Of Lochay Hotel
Bridge Of Lochay Hotel
#3 of 14 in Killin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.9 mi away
Killin Hotel
Killin Hotel
#5 of 14 in Killin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ardlochay Lodge
Ardlochay Lodge
#10 of 14 in Killin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killin Highland Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killin Highland Lodges

Property: Killin Highland Lodges
Address: Aberfeldy Road | Perthshire, Killin, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK21 8TX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Loch Tay > Killin
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Killin
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Killin Highland Lodges offers 12 self catering holiday lodges with 1-4 bedrooms ( sleeping 1-8 people in each lodge). The lodges are situated on a south facing wooded hillside with views over the village of Killin (with its famous Falls of Dochart) and to the hills on the south side of Loch Tay. Free Wifi is provided in public areas and every lodge can receive a free Wifi signal in at least one room. The Lodges are rated as 4 star and 3 star by VisitScotland and have received Certificates of Excellence from Trip Advisor for 2012,2013,2014,2015 and 2016. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Killin Highland Lodges Scotland - Loch Tay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing