We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and tranquility in a beautiful setting”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Killin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Killin Highland Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Peace and tranquility in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

My husband had booked a surprise night away for our anniversary. All I knew was that we were heading to Killin.

Upon arrival, Colin greeted us warmly and showed us around our cabin (Rowan 1) which was perfect for the two of us, very clean with all the amenities you need for a quick get-a-way including CD player and flatscreen TV. Inside, the welcome pack was very informative and thorough, a guide to the local area and also further afield included which was really interesting and a complimentary welcome pack of tea, coffee, cookies and milk included. Lovely.

In the morning we woke up to the sounds of ducks and sheep, a stunning view of the hills and a somewhat rare glimpse of the sun. Bezi, the onsite chocolate lab, greeted us good morning and spent some time with us playing fetch. An incredibly friendly dog, we really wished we could take her home (our cats are probably happy we didn't)

We found everything to be clean, comfortable and Colin was an absolute gem, he even let us take our time with check out in the morning so we didn't have to rush away. A great base for exploring the surrounding area and we'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaCoverdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidaymakerKillin, Owner at Killin Highland Lodges, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Lisa. We were delighted to see that you enjoyed your surprise anniversary trip. We are pleased that you found the welcome on arrival from Colin to be warm and welcoming and look forward to seeing you on another visit. Best wishes Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    54
    14
    4
    5
See reviews for
89
96
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We came to Killin to visit family in the area, my mom found and booked this lodge and it was lovely and provided everything we needed, set in the most beautiful of locations. Colin was very welcoming and will help in any way possible to make your stay even more enjoyable. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidaymakerKillin, Owner at Killin Highland Lodges, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Alice W Thank you for taking the trouble to write your review and we are very pleased that you found the welcome from Colin was warm and helpful. We look forward to seeing you on a return visit when youcan further explore this beautiful area cheers Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Having had a very wet camping holiday in Dorset at the beginning of the summer, we decided to treat ourselves to staying in Alder Lodge for a week.

The accommodation is ideal for a family of four (our 13 and 15 year olds were happy to share the twin room) and having the benefit of two bathrooms with two teenagers is a definite plus. We particularly liked the open plan layout of the living/dining/kitchen area and were able to make good use of the veranda for catching the afternoon and evening sunshine.

Great location - within easy striking distance of Lochearnhead - great for water-ski-ing and our youngsters particularly enjoyed the exilarating inflatable rides available there. Very good cycling routes and various options to hire kayaks locally too. A little further afield, we tried our hand at water rafting at Aberfeldy.

It was lovely to see the younger children visiting the lodges making good use of the little field set up with goalposts and a good tree swing - a great spot for hide and seek. There's a great walk directly from the lodges up the hill, giving fantastic views of Killin and over Loch Tay.

We were fortunate to have great weather and so were able to make full use of the built in BBQ. Accommodation well equipped with everything we needed.

Colin was a great help with his local knowledge of good cycling routes, nearby safe swimming spots (10 mins drive away) and suggestions for good trips through Glen Lyon and was only too happy to assist with any queries we had on the area.

We would certainly consider returning in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RMT655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidaymakerKillin, Owner at Killin Highland Lodges, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
RMT655 Thank you for your full and useful review which covered many of our local activities. We were pleased that you enjoyed such an action packed holiday with water skiing, cycling and river swimming and rafting and that we were able to help with suggestions and local knowledge
best wishes Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We have been coming to these lodges for 5yr now & can not fault anything about them. Colin is always so welcoming & helpful & the kids took a shine to him also Bezi (the dog) who they love to play with, and of course Cleo when she comes to visit. We stayed in Cabin 10 for 1 wk with our kids (4 & 6yr old boys) & my in-laws had a fantastic wk, a great cabin with a beautiful view. We had a fantastic day out at auchingarrich wildlife park (a must if have kids) for our wee boys 6th b'day day out whilst on hol, Went to Lochearnhead for the day to the water sports centre we had a shot on the speed boat & the boys got a turn of driving the boat (an experience that will never be forgotten!!). Also did old railway walk around the loch went to see the old castle, visit to loch tay, the boys love playing at the local park. We all had an excellent hol, that good we went home on the Sunday & returned again on the Monday minus the in-laws but with the dog this time!!!! Wk2 was just as good as the 1st, Jim & his wife were telling us about the new fire pit which they took our son to go see as he asked if could go with them, he loved this. Overall great location & holiday & everyone who works here are so friendly, helpful & just genuinely nice ppl. We are hoping to go back for long wknd in August & are already booking up again for next year. Thanks for another great escape from reality
Angela, Steven, Steven & Robert :-D

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A-SGardiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidaymakerKillin, Owner at Killin Highland Lodges, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Angela and Steven It is always a pleasure to have your family stay and we are so pleased that you continue to find things so much fun. We hope to see you again in August with the boys

cheers Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

The lodges can be confusing to find as its also part of a caravan park so perhaps an extra sign post would help a little, apart from that, the cottages are ideal, spacious and have all the facilities you would need and the location is excellent, its close to good fishing, scenery and local walks.
Great for pets as its pet friendly.
the meter takes £1 coins so remember to take a handfull.
we had some broken items when we arrived but they were promptly fixed.
the cottages are fully kitted out and have satellite tv.
there is also a small football pitch and tarzan swing - check the rope has not freyed out.

Room Tip: closer to the living room is warmer
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Killin Highland Lodges, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Gary R Thank you for your helpful feedback. Although we share our entrance with a caravan park we do not own it and cannot add a further sign to the one which is already present in the common area ..but thank you for the suggestion. We do wecome pets and there is some great dog walking available from the site! We are sorry that there were some items needing fixed when you arrived but pleased that we fixed them quickly and to your satisfaction. ( And we do check the rope on the swing weekly to ensure it remains safe but thanks for that useful suggestion) Best wishes Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Upon arrival we were warmly greeted by Colin, who showed us around our cabin (Lodge No 5)
The lodge was spacious and had everything that we required for a long weekend break.
Colin was a great help and very friendly, we were there to participate in the Bob McGregor Memorial Trial and Colin let us wash the bike and help dry out my sons riding gear as this was a 2 day event and a lot of water was involved. I am looking forward to my next visit and I would recommend anyone wishing to visit this part of scotland and looking for somewhere to stay, then this is the place.

Room Tip: Lodge no 5 suitable for 6/8 people comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 71Alexh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Killin Highland Lodges, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
71 Alexh Thank you for your report and we are pleased that you noted our high standards of cleanliness which is a priority for us. Tjhis year we were upgraded to " Excellent" in our cleaning standards and proccesses by by the Scottish Tourist Board following their annual inspection. Jane and her cleaning team keep our standard high! Wedo try to help guests and are please that you found everyone in the team welcoming! Our decision to install flat screen TVs has proved popular. We hope that you will return one day soon even if you did not win teh bob mc Grgor memorial Trial.Best wishes Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We stayed as a family for a long weekend and found the accommodation very clean and in good order. The rooms were suitable for our family needs being as we had two babies with us and the family dog. The livingroom area was comfortable with tv, dvd and cd player. Kitchen area had all what we required and the microwave was handy with baby bottles to heat on demand. Beds were comfortable and we had ample wardrobe/drawer space. The staff were friendly and always asking did we need anything. Had a nice sitting area just out on our porch were we had a bbq on the Sunday. We all really enjoyed and we would go back and also recommend it to friends and family. It was so peaceful in the grounds of the lodges. The scenery all around is lovely.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Killin Highland Lodges, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Jan r Thank you for your very positive review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and family BBQ and especially the peace and quiet. at the lodges We have found that the kitchen equipment upgrade we carried out pver the winter has proved popuklar and the dishwasher in pparticular has been appreciated Our location in west perthsire is surrounded by excellent scenery wnd long views through the hills Wehope to see you back on another visit cheers Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killin
5.7 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
366 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Achray House Hotel and Lodges
2.2 mi away
Loch Tay Highland Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Dall Lodge Country House
0.6 mi away
Bridge Of Lochay Hotel
Bridge Of Lochay Hotel
#3 of 14 in Killin
426 reviews
0.9 mi away
Killin Hotel
Killin Hotel
#5 of 14 in Killin
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killin Highland Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killin Highland Lodges

Property: Killin Highland Lodges
Address: Aberfeldy Road | Perthshire, Killin, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK21 8TX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Loch Tay > Killin
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Killin
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Killin Highland Lodges offers 12 self catering holiday lodges with 1-4 bedrooms ( sleeping 1-8 people in each lodge). The lodges are situated on a south facing wooded hillside with views over the village of Killin (with its famous Falls of Dochart) and to the hills on the south side of Loch Tay. Free Wifi is provided in public areas and every lodge can receive a free Wifi signal in at least one room. The Lodges are rated as 4 star and 3 star by VisitScotland and have received Certificates of Excellence from Trip Advisor for 2012,2013,2014,2015 and 2016. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Killin Highland Lodges Scotland - Loch Tay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing