We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Killin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Killin Highland Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed in one of the attached cabins in May 2012 and found it to be good value for money. The cabin was spacious and well appointed with TV, Cd player and good kitchen equipment. The cabin did not retain heat well and as it was freezing cold we spent a fair few pound coins on the meter (don't forget to take some with you). Once the heaters were on the cabin did heat up well. The bed was really comfy and extra large; which was great because our 2 year old was ill and in the middle all three nights. We were made to feel very welcome by Colin and our neighbors were friendly; which was good because the balconies are interconnected.
The cabins are in a lovely setting but it is set out rather like an American motel. So out of the main window the predominant view is your own vehicle, then the car park, then some other lodges and if you are lucky a glimpse of the mountains. This place is perfect for warmer weather and serious walkers. I would recommend it to those who are going to the highlands to be out in countryside and want a good value base from which to explore.

Room Tip: try and get one of the cabins nearer the entrance, they don't have another building in front so...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moonkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

Moonkay Thank you for your very positive review . It is always useful to be reviewd by a guests with a larger number of reviews as they clearly know what useful information to provide for others.. We are pleased hat you appreciated the kitchen upgrade which we recently had done. Your lodge was on with a superking double bed which proved useful in the unfortunate event of your 2 year old's illness during your visit. It is goodthat you found everyone around friendly and helpful and hope to welcomeyouback in the future cheers Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
There are newer reviews for Killin Highland Lodges
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 254 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

Lovely stay, lovely location. Staff very helpful. Would definetly return.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank peebs2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

Peebs2000 thanks. Useful review, brief positive! cheers Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We stayed at the lodges for a few days in March and found our lodge very clean and comfortable. There were plenty provisions in the kitchen and some cleaning products available. We were in a Birch lodge which is terraced type, but never felt disturbed by next door. There was new decking which we enjoyed sitting out on during the unusual hot March weather. It was very peacefull and we enjoyed the surrounding area for walking our dog. This is not a big site, and is well kept. You feel made at home and the resident staff on site are pleasant and approachable. We will go back if we are returning to this area as we felt it was an ideal spot for going into the village by car, or visiting the surrounding areas.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cshift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

c shift Thank you for you helpful review. Wehad glorious March weather and are enjoying anothe lovely spell as we respond towards the end of June! We do hope you will return as you suggested you might and can guarantee the same welcome and friendliness from our team as you found during this visit cheers Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Upon arrival we were warmly greeted by Colin, who showed us around our cabin and explained the Sky dish was broken, but that we had been given 2 bottles of wine as compensation. Well, as watching television was the least of our concerns with the magnificent Trossachs to explore, in the middle of an unseasonal March heatwave, that was not a concern, although the wine was gratefully received!

After Colin had left us to unpack and settle in, he very kindly gave us a lift in to Killin, giving us a brief but informative guide to what the village had to offer.

The weekend was very relaxing and the cabin was very cosy, with the electric heaters quickly warming up the cabin whenever the temperature dipped.

All in all I would recommend Killin Highland Lodges if you are looking to base yourself in the area, although bear in mind that the cabins adjoin each other, rather than being detached, albeit Colin was ready to step in should any of the other guests become too rowdy!

We will certainly look to come back again in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Martin I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

Martin I We are glad that you enjoyed your visit and that Colin was able to help with information and a lift to the village etc. And we never complainabout unseasonal March heatwaves which you clealy enjoyed as we did. We are sorry that we had trouble with our TV system in your lodge during your stay and pleased that it did not cause you too much inconvenience

best wishes Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Killin lodges is one of the most relaxing places I have ever visited. We had the most amazing time and when we decided to have a BBQ the hosts could not be more accommodating even heading out to buy us coal! I am actually looking in to another visit. I can't talk it up enough it really made my 30th one I will never forget for all the right reasons!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julianne1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

Julianne1982 Happy birthday, somewhat belatedly. We are delighted that you had a memorable 30th birthday and look forward to seeing you for your 31st! We do try to make all visits special for guests and are delighted when they report thatwe have succeed Thank you! cheers Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We decided to book a long weekend at Killin Highland Lidges after having quite a busy time at home and being in need of a child free, hassle free break. We arrived to find that the lodge was locked but this was not a major problem. We just phoned Jim, who phoned Colin who came out and opened up for us. Colin even put a few extra pound coins in the meter to make up for our short wait at getting in. Colin took quite a bit of time to show us all the workings in the lodge and was really pleasant and friendly.

Our dog, Spade, made great friends with Bezi and Cleo (Jim and Colins dogs) and they even came for a walk with us up through the woods and tracks surrounding the site.

The lodge (No. 1) was brilliant for a couple on a get away from it all weekend and it was lovely and warm considering it was February, snowing and very cold.

Jim (the owner) and his son (Colin) were really friendly and helpful and pulled out all the stops when our car wouldn't start (flat battery). Colin even offered me his battery charger which wasn't necesssary, in the end.

If we ever require another weekend for chilling out we will definately be back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

Andrew B We are pleased that you found your lodge cosy during the snowy weather outside and our recent decison to double up the loft insulation seems to have been a good one! The walks around the site are easily accessible and we are always grateful for guests who take our dogs with them as they explore the beautiful surroundings. Aflat battery can be really awkward and we are pleased that we were on hand to help out and minimise inconvenience. Best wishes Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Went there with 8 family members and every one had a great time

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wstewart7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killin
5.7 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
431 reviews
6.8 mi away
Clachan Cottage Hotel
Clachan Cottage Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lochearnhead
801 reviews
21.3 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
The Four Seasons Hotel
The Four Seasons Hotel
#2 of 2 in St. Fillans
923 reviews
0.9 mi away
Killin Hotel
Killin Hotel
#7 of 14 in Killin
1,006 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bridge Of Lochay Hotel
Bridge Of Lochay Hotel
#3 of 14 in Killin
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killin Highland Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killin Highland Lodges

Address: Aberfeldy Road | Perthshire, Killin, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK21 8TX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Loch Tay > Killin
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Killin
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Killin Highland Lodges offers 12 self catering holiday lodges with 1-4 bedrooms ( sleeping 1-8 people in each lodge). The lodges are situated on a south facing wooded hillside with views over the village of Killin (with its famous Falls of Dochart) and to the hills on the south side of Loch Tay. Free Wifi is provided in public areas and every lodge can receive a free Wifi signal in at least one room. The Lodges are rated as 4 star and 3 star by VisitScotland and have received Certificates of Excellence from Trip Advisor for 2012,2013,2014,2015 and 2016. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Killin Highland Lodges Scotland - Loch Tay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing