We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Quality rental”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Yew Tree

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Killin, Loch Tay, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
ipswichsu...
Suffolk
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Quality rental”
Reviewed December 26, 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A great modern rental with all facilities you may need. We found Yew Tree comfortable, warm and a great location. Good comfortable beds and a large sofa to relax on after a good walk. All the equipment is a good quality. Top tips are: Use post code FK21 8TS or you will not find the place. Book a home delivery for food stocks and use the above post code. Do use the pub over the road its great and the local Co-Op down the road. Don't think for a minute you will get mobile signal and the internet is a little flaky. Yew Tree is very new and I would have given it a top rating apart from the following very small points that I hope will be sorted soon. No toilet roll holders, no coat hooks for walkers with wet coats. Noise in the lounge/kitchen/diner can be excessive.

Date of stay: December 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: size and comfort
Liked least: noise in lounge/kitchen/diner
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 14, 2016
We are delighted that you had a nice stay over Christmas 2015. Please note that during very bad weather conditions, we can experience poor mobile reception in the area. We are really sorry you found the kettle, TV and washing machine noisy but the open plan nature of the property means these are audible when in this area - we have checked these and they are all working normally and not making any noises that they shouldn't be making. We are delighted that you had a nice time and would be delighted to welcome you back anytime in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jambohud
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“So Chilled”
Reviewed October 6, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Me, my wife and 5 month old child were invited up here by my parents who had booked Yew Tree lodge for a long weekend break. We only travelled up to stay for the one night due to work commitments but it was absolutely lovely. the lodge is beautiful and very bright and spacious with comfy couch, table and chairs and beds. The hot tub was lovely even on an October night you were not cold as the lodge is literally 2 steps from the tub once you are done in the tub, with adjustable temperature and different mood lighting options it was an excellent adition to the lodge. My daughter had a great time with the local ducks and red squirrels making regular appearances on our decking looking for some food, which we were happy to give them. You have a pub/restaurant just over the road and the main town is a lovely scenic 15 min walk away. Overall it is absolutely stunning if you are looking for a chilled, relaxing break. Hope to return in the very near future.

Date of stay: October 2015
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: hot tub
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Graeme19...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed September 15, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

10/10
Place is stunning has absolutely everything you need or could want
I
We will definitely visit again

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub
Liked least: Patio furniture
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Val06942
Gourock, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great accommodation and facilities in a fantastic location”
Reviewed September 2, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

location is convenient for shops, restaurants, bars. lodge is beautiful with excellent hot tub and fishing and golf on doorstep.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: views from lodge and location
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellarja...
Karlsruhe, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed August 25, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We travelled with our 6 year old daughter from Germany. It was our first time in Scotland and we loved it very much. The Yew Tree Cottage has all we needed and a lot more. The beautiful and peaceful sourrounding – lovely riverview – made it a perfect hideaway. We enjoyed the elegant furniture and the well equipped kitchen. Everything was clean and in the right place. A perfect highlight was the hot tub! After two weeks we were sad that we had to leave, but will surely come back for a future holiday.

Date of stay: August 2015
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny L
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful & peaceful place!”
Reviewed July 1, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Travelled from Glasgow with my husband and our son for a 2 day break to celebrate our first anniversary. The house was everything we were looking for. Arrived to the place all ready for us and spotless, with lovely touches such as bathrobes and little chocolates on all the beds. The living room is very spacious yet cosy and we enjoyed eating at the dining table with a nice view.

The hot tub was a big hit especially with our 5 year old son, it was lovely relaxing with the sound of the river and the sun setting. It is completely private and although there are other properties around we didn't see or hear anyone else for our stay. The hot tub was on perfect heat settings so didn't have to touch anything.

I enjoyed the outside seating area and while having my coffee one morning I was lucky enough to see a beaver come out of the river for a little while. We also had visits throughout both days from Daisy & Donald the mallards and enjoyed watching the swallows flying about as well as bats at night.

Owners were very helpful throughout the booking process and had no problems whatsoever.

We visited the Falls of Dochart & the village which are a 2 min drive away and all the local people were very friendly. We also went to the Ben Lawers mountains for some walks including the nature trail which we all enjoyed, however i'd have been more than happy staying in yew tree all day relaxing on the sofa or in the hot tub. Will definitely return soon!

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub & the river!
Liked least: Nothing - loved it all!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louise h
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Perfect break, do as much or as little as you like.”
Reviewed April 7, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
4
people found this review helpful

I have to say this was a very late booking, we booked on the Saturday for the Monday. The owners were great and very obliging and ensured everything was ready for us on arrival.

Yew Tree is a lovely cottage on the side a stream opposite a golf course. However, it is not overlooked due to a good covering of trees on the bank of the stream. Outside there is a private Hot tub which is also not overlooked and a seating area for eating.

Inside the living area is open plan and has amazing ceiling to floor windows. It did snow whilst we were there, we were all transfixed by the view and sat for quite some time just staring out of the windows watching the snow fall. The property really does provide everything you may need and is in that respect, home from home.

The bedrooms are also a good size and have very comfortable beds and pillows. Two bathrooms are always a bonus.

If you have young children take some bird seed. We had lots of wildlife that wanted feeding, particularly small birds and ducks. There was also a resident sheep for a few days of our stay. Whilst returning from town one day we saw a deer in the hotel car park over the road. I know this is probably an everyday experience for people that live there - but not for us!

The town is a 5 minute walk away, as is the Falls of Dochart. All very easily accessible, if you would prefer to drive it would be 2 minutes and there is lots of free parking available.
There is an outdoor shop where you can hire bikes for half or a full day. Plenty of trails to follow on foot or on a bike, depending on age and ability. The Ben Lawers nature trail is a good walk and takes under an hour. Free brochures offering walking routes are available in town near the information board.

I would stay both in the Yew Tree and in Killin again.

Date of stay: March 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing