We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Perfect Stay in a Beautiful Location”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Otter's Holt

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Killin, Loch Tay, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ken161
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Perfect Stay in a Beautiful Location”
Reviewed February 18, 2018 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Otters Holt is quite simply perfect. It set on the banks of a fast flowing river and the accommodation is just fantastic. There are ducks on the river who visit you frequently and we bought a big bag of bird seed for a pound in the village to feed them as bread is not good for them.You have everything you need here, a well equipped kitchen, 2 bathrooms, good lounge areae 2 bedrooms, under floor heating and is immaculate. There are some shops close by if you want to prepare your own meals or you can dine in the hotel just across the road (literally 2 minutes walk) and if you tell them were you are staying you will get a discount (the 1st time we stayed we asked the hotel manager if we could have our breakfast there on our last morning which he kindly obliged us). This was our 2nd stay and this time we brought another couple who were equally as impressed. There are plenty of places to visit within reach such as Glencoe, Pitlochry, a deer park near Kenmore or you can walk in and around Killin itself,
Looking forward to going back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HayleyArc...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice relaxing stay”
Reviewed January 22, 2018 for a stay in January 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at Otters holt for two nights in January 2018. Very lovely, modern, clean and spacious place to stay. Amazing views!! Hot tub was a nice way to relax and warm up after a cold walk. Straight across the road is the Lochay Hotel where we enjoyed a lovely meal and a few drinks and got 10% discount that is offered if you stay at otters Holt. Complimentary bottle of wine was a lovely added extra too

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
demipowel...
dalbeattie
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfect retreat”
Reviewed October 6, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Absolutely loved this property! Will definitely return for a longer stay. Beautiful location. Beautifully set out. Everything you need. Walking distance to everything in town and easy access to a huge area of attractions! So peaceful and lovely!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GracieUK
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“PERFECT in every way!!!”
Reviewed August 22, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Don't really know where to start but here we go... after a loooong drive we finally arrive at Otter's Holt and it WOWed us right away.
The position is strategic, as it is right on the river and the view is simply amazing. Once we opened the door the magic continued as we were in awe of the splendid room. We were greeted with a nice bottle of wine and a lovely welcome card. The room has a huge window and you can see the river running wild.
Bedrooms at a high standard extremely looked after and they both have en suites!
Kitchen has all and more to cook and there is a washing machine and a dishwasher!!
A Coop supermarket is nearby and so is the baker, chemist and some lovely shops.. ah and a fish and chips van!!
We didn't visit any of the pubs or restaurants nearby we always packed our snacks and lunches when we went out and cooked for our dinners.
The house is the perfect base to explore some of the most beautiful places.
Just down the road you will find the amazing Falls of Lockhart.
A visit to Lawers dam is a must, especially on a good day as the view is amazing. The dam co-exists with the surrounding Ben Lawers National Nature Reserve where you will find a variety of wild animals and millions of sheep!!
Many castles to visit, Edinburgh and Stirling Castle to name a couple.
Many activities for the most adventurous people.
At the end of the day a nice relaxing time in the hot tub.
If you are lucky enough with the weather and if you are a star enthusiast the sky will literally make your day. You can almost touch the Milky Way and identify many of the constellations, spot satellites and shooting stars.
We can highly recommend a stay at Otter's Holt and we will visit again hopefully soon!!
Thank you so much!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blue2410
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfection xx”
Reviewed May 10, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We stayed here with family for a wedding. The lodge is stunning and we had such a wonderful time we did not want to leave. Loved it so much we will be rebooking one of your lodges. Thanks

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
majorca10
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay once again.”
Reviewed April 24, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Fantastic stay at Otters Holt, our second stay through craggantoul.

Can't fault anything inside, had everything we needed and more. Clean, good quality furniture and furnishings. Whilst there were people staying surrounding us there was no issue with privacy etc. Heating was perfect for coming in from the hot tub at nights, the lighting outside was also just enough after all you don't want to be flooded under a spotlight whilst relaxing at night in the hot tub. Had regular visits from the two ducks that come up to the deck for a feed and sleep.

We ate out locally two days which was lovely and cooked in the lodge one night which was perfect, it had all the utensils and appliances we would need. The hot tub is perfect for star gazing at night and the fairy lights around the edge of the lodge are a nice added feature. The fact you don't take the cover fully off gives you extra privacy from the bridge even though we never saw once person walk over it in our stay especially at night.

Would definitely stay again, thanks for a lovely break.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing