We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“why you should visit Killin - Drumfinn Guest House”
Review of The Old Bank

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Bank
Ranked #5 of 14 Killin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2007

Only stayed one night in the passing but will definately return.
Accomodation and breakfast superior. John has every right to be proud of his porridge, even folk who think they do not like it, do!! Everything is catered for, right down to umbrellas for the odd occasion it rains in Scotland!! Any info needed is provided and more beside. Being a scot, living in Scotland, having sampled much accomodation, would strongly reccommend this experience.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marycecil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 150 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2007

This was our second visit to Drumfinn Guest House and once again Cath and John Goulden made us very welcome. Our room was comfortable and the food was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble - from giving advice about walks or where to eat to drying out our boots and other walking gear - all was done with charm and good humour. This is a perfect base for exploring a wonderful area of Scotland.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2006

Excellently run b&b, with probably the best breakfast in the business. Nothing is too much trouble for the owners, from providing early breakfasts for those who are travelling long distances to ferry ports to providing dress trousers for a forgetful wedding guest. Where else do you enjoy breakfast in front of a real coal fire? If its local information you require then just ask one of them, they are very well informed and only too happy to advise on energising scenic walks for hangovers. Bedrooms are on a par with many hotels at a fraction of the cost.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank achmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2006

This offers the best all possible b&b scenarios. It is efficiently run and had a relatively extensive breakfast menu (more than 10 choices) which is to be filled out on the preceding evening. The room and bathroom were very comfortable and the choice of snacks(coffee,tea,hotchocolate,cookies,etc) was what you might expect from a luxury hotel. One would typically see these features in a hotel or one of the long established, very busy, and often impersonal b&bs. Instead our host was engaging, helpful and truly seemed to enjoy his occupation. We thought that we received excellant value for our rate of 28 pounds per person in high season for our room with private bathroom.
Not only would we go back but we would consider a detour to visit this place again.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank HardlyEverSatisfied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Brisbane, Australia
638
Reviewed November 13, 2005

I stayed at the Drumfinn Guest House for one night in September 2005 and wished it could have been for longer. I had single accomodation with share facilities at a cost of 24 pounds. My room ( freshly decorated ) was very large, with a double bed ( very comfy ), chairs, table, wardrobe, sink & mirror and television, with a spectacular view of the mountains from my window. Chocolates on my pillow was also a lovely touch. The guest house is situated on the main street of the small village, a short walk from the Falls of Dochart, pub, bank and groceries and has its own carpark. John, the proprietor is incredibly nice and very helpful. Breakfast was the standard fare of bacon & eggs etc ( very well cooked and presented ),along with choice of cereals and porridge, toast, juice, fruit, tea & coffee - a great start to a busy day. I can not recommend this guest house highly enough and would certainly stay again.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank INGRID M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank LoupCypha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killin hotels
0.2 mi away
The Courie Inn
The Courie Inn
#2 of 14 in Killin
178 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dall Lodge Country House
1 mi away
Bridge Of Lochay Hotel
Bridge Of Lochay Hotel
#3 of 14 in Killin
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Killin Hotel
Killin Hotel
#7 of 14 in Killin
1,020 reviews
0.7 mi away
Coach House Hotel
Coach House Hotel
#9 of 14 in Killin
169 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ardlochay Lodge
Ardlochay Lodge
#10 of 14 in Killin
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Bank

Address: The Old Bank Manse Road, Killin, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK21 8UY, Scotland (Formerly Drumfinn Guest House)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Loch Tay > Killin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Killin
Price Range: $118 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Victorian House, formerly a bank, set in the Loch Lomond & Trossachs National Park near Loch Tay, Perthshire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Old Bank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Bank Killin, Scotland - Loch Tay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing