We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly B&B in great area” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Bank

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Bank
Ranked #4 of 14 Killin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly B&B in great area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

This was our 2nd visit to killin and our second stay in The Old Bank. Killin and the area around it are great places to visit and you'll be very welcome at The Old Bank. Rooms are quite large and v clean, with tea, coffee and quality biscuits provided in the rooms. Breakfasts are hearty - a selection of compotes/stewed fruits, three types of breakfast cereal including muesli, two or three types of bread (for you to toast yourself), gallons of tea and coffee and Jennie's locally famous cooked breakfast, which you can design yourself - a choice of sausage, bacon, potato pancake, eggs (boiled fried or scrambled) beans, tomato, black pudding, haggis. All the ingredients appear to be high quality and locally sourced - and very tasty. We've now stayed in two of the five rooms and both have enjoyed fabulous views. I believe all the rooms have ensuites and they are very clean. Rooms have bedside tables, desks/dressing tables, wardrobes, tea and coffee making facilities, televisions. Bathrooms have a hand towel and bath towel per person and hand soap and shower gel was provided. There is adequate car parking space for five cars, but parking in Killin is no great problem anyway. There are several pubs/restaurants within a 5 minute walk and the bakery opposite the B&B presently does pizza nights each Friday. Loch Tay is about a ten minute walk and the Falls of Dochart about two minutes. In all, a lovely place to stay and you can sense that Jennie really cares about providing value for money. The guest book has many entries from returning couples and I found that Jennie was known as a good hostess in the village too.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jamesryoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    16
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
70
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

What a nice welcome at the Old bank,Jennie could not do enough for you. Rooms lovely and clean, very comfortable. Breakfast excellent, liked the way everybody sat together, that way you got to know people.Have already recommended this place to a couple of friends.Every credit to you Jennie you run a FAB B&B cannot fault we will return. Many Thanks x

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penicuik, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

The Old Bank is a really first class B&B. The room I had (no. 2) was very comfortable with a separate bathroom/toilet across the landing. The room was well appointed, towels soft and fluffy and tea/coffee making facilities were included. The host Jennie was very welcoming and made me feel totally at ease. Breakfast was fantastic, a generous cooked breakfast and a super selection of cereals and fruit on the buffet. The dining room was a real joy and I think I could have easily spent the morning chatting with the other guests over more tea. I had a date with Ben Lawers however.
Killin makes a really excellent base to explore the Trossachs and is much quieter than nearby Callander. I highly recommend the town and particularly the Old Bank B&B.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alastair H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

A great place to return to after a long, cold day on the hills.

Pristine room, crisp white sheets and great breakfast.

Jenny hosts brilliantly, friendly and attentive without being intrusive.

Wet kit left out is dried (boots stuffed with paper etc).

I would strongly recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, MD.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Drumfinn Guest House of Killin, Scotland is now The Old Bank. The name may have changed but it's every bit as good as before...
And, it keeps getting upgrades. Over this past year the building got a new roof. And, there have been some new touches to some of the rooms as well. All to the good.
Mary and I have stayed with Jennie, Sootie and Alfie (Sootie and Alfie are the cats) twice now. Last summer about this same time we got to stay for five nights. Unfortunately we were on our way south this time, with only a few more days to our trip, and could only do two nights. We asked for the same room (No. 4) we had last year, as it was very comfortable with lots of space for us to do our half hour of morning yoga. The en-suite facilities were great.
Jennie fixes a wonderful "Full Scottish" and there are lots of extras like yogurts, cereals, juices, and different kinds of bread for toasting. After a breakfast like that you are indeed ready to hit the hiking trails or, like the two of us, head out for a day of searching for the area's ancient stone circles, standing stones and cup 'n' ring carved rock outcrops. In fact, right there in Killin, on the other side of the bridge and falls (Falls of Dochart), there's a beautiful stone circle called Kinnell of Killin, named after the farm on which the stones stand.
The whole Loch Tay area is gorgeous and one can easily spend one's whole holiday right there. The Old Bank....Comfortable rooms, great breakfasts, at least one of the cats (Sootie) may be around for petting purposes, and lots of countryside to explore during the day. Aand there are several possibilities for dinner. What more could you ask for? Enjoy!!
Thanks for such a nice visit, Jennie. Short but sweet. We'll let you know when we're coming through Killin again.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the main street and sometimes there can be heard loud (youthful) voices below wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hwmccoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Our first visit to Killin, just asked for a Double Room. Had not stayed in this area before. Jennie most welcome and we were made to feel at Home. Our room was lovely, spotless, comfortable bed, quiet and beautifully furnished. Our experience at a hotel the previous night was not good, this lovely B&B made up for our lost sleep and ticked all the boxes. Good Luck Jennie, we shall visit The Old Bank again. Thank you. Rosie and Kingsley

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carterton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Great B&B in a nice Scottish village with a friendly and helpful host, Jenny. A grand looking guest house, formerly a Scottish bank. Large room with all the trimmings, including wifi that worked in our room. The only minor blemish was the shower which was one of those all too common economy versions that is all wind and little water. Great breakfast served on one table so guests had to mingle. May not suit some but suited us. All in all, a very good B&B in a very nice location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Don K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killin
9.9 mi away
Monachyle Mhor
Monachyle Mhor
#1 of 2 in Balquhidder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dall Lodge Country House
0.3 mi away
The Courie Inn
The Courie Inn
#2 of 14 in Killin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Bridge Of Lochay Hotel
Bridge Of Lochay Hotel
#3 of 14 in Killin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ardlochay Lodge
Ardlochay Lodge
#9 of 14 in Killin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.7 mi away
Coach House Hotel
Coach House Hotel
#10 of 14 in Killin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Bank

Property: The Old Bank
Address: The Old Bank Manse Road, Killin, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK21 8UY, Scotland (Formerly Drumfinn Guest House)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Loch Tay > Killin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Killin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Victorian House, formerly a bank, set in the Loch Lomond & Trossachs National Park near Loch Tay, Perthshire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Old Bank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Bank Killin, Scotland - Loch Tay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing