We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect holiday cottage”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Beech Cottage

Beech Cottage - in a forest setting
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beech Cottage - in a forest setting
Approach to Beech Cottage The main bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Beech Cottage - in a forest setting
Approach to Beech Cottage
The main bedroom
The main bedroom
Second bedroom with twin beds
Relax with the comfort of the log-burning stove
The living room and dining area
The dining area - with views of the garden
Beech Kitchen
Beech Kitchen
Relax in the South facing sun porch
A regular visitor to the garden
Local attraction The Falls of Dochart
Acharn Forest - View along the No7 Sustrans Cycle Trail - a short distance from the cottage.
River Lochay at Killin
Looking South across Loch Tay
Labradors and water - enjoying Loch Tay
Bridge over the Falls of Dochart at Killin
Glen Dochart from the old Killin Line - ideal for dog walking
A snow-capped Glen Dochart
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Killin, Loch Tay, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Cazbilly
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect holiday cottage”
Reviewed September 18, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a fantastic weeks stay at Beech Cottage. What a find! A lovely welcome pack and milk in the fridge for your first cuppa after a long journey is so thoughtful and much appreciated. The cottage is very well equipped and has everything you might need for self catering and has a real home from home feel. We certainly felt at home there. The cottage is surrounded by wildlife and we were glued to the French windows watching chaffinches, jays, rabbits and our favourite visitor a red squirrel! There were so many birds enjoying the peanuts and seeds we brought. We had some great walks from the cottage along the old railway track, both in to Killin and behind the cottage. The hosts had kindly provided lots of maps of the area. The location is perfect for some amazing days out by car with so many places just over an hours drive away. We got to the Falls of Bruar, Pitlochry, Aberfeldy, Glencoe, Fort William, Loch Awe, Seil for a brilliant wildlife boat trip and to Oban for the Calmac ferry to Isle of Mull. There is still so much we didn't get to do a week isn't enough! A big thank you to Lyndis and Paul for great communication from booking to a really welcoming and homely cottage on arrival. We can't recommend Beech Cottage highly enough and would love to return.

Date of stay: September 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D H
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superb in every way”
Reviewed July 13, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Beech cottage is in a fantastic location with stunning views.
Everything you need is in the cottage and it is exceptionally clean, and very comfortable.
The red squirrels and the large variety of wild birds in the garden were a bonus. I would not hesitate to recommend Beech cottage to anyone.
Thanks for a truly wonderful stay.

Date of stay: June 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 16, 2016
Thank you for your very kind comments and we're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Beech Cottage. The wildlife in the area are a joy to watch. We'd be very pleased to welcome you back to Beech in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holcombe5...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fantastic !”
Reviewed June 8, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Thank you for such a super week. The cottage is airy, spotlessly clean, comfortable and so peaceful.
We were lucky with the weather so could make the most of the beautiful walks in the area.
Lovely welcome packs for us and the dogs
The garden is well fenced and so peaceful to sit out watching the wildlife.
Get some peanuts and it will come flocking. Wonderful to see the red squirrels so close.
I think our favourite walk was the Rails to Trails in Killin, along Loch Tay banks
A fabulous place to stay in a fantastic area.
Thank you very much

Date of stay: May 2016
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 9, 2016
We're really pleased that you all enjoyed your stay at Beech - it's the dogs holiday too! Your very kind comments are much appreciated and we hope to welcome you back to Beech in the future.
Kind regards
Lyndis & Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie R
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Superb holiday”
Reviewed January 3, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Had a fantastic stay at Beech Cottage. The cottage itself was amazingly situated within forest walks and wildlife. Squirrel visits were hilarious watching them do acrobatics on the feeders, my son loved watching them. We took our 4yr old Lab and she loved the walks, fresh air and enclosed garden. Killin is beautiful alway worth a visit some fab walks around there. Had some bad weather (as expected) but we loved that and was all snuggled up in the cottage with tv, board games etc. Just a fab time and i highly recommend this holiday cottage to everyone. Lyndis & Paul are great hosts , would be brilliant in summer too x

Date of stay: December 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: relaxed atmosphere
Liked least: my holiday wasn't longer
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 4, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We're really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Beech, even though the weather could have been better! We would be pleased to welcome you back at any time in the future.
Kindest regards
Lyndis & Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynne G
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a wonderful cottage, thoroughly enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed November 15, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We booked this cottage for ourselves and our dog hoping for a few days away to enjoy our wedding anniversary. What a wonderful place. The owners should be very proud of the service they offer, the cottage was a delight with everything we could possibly need supplied. The added extras in the welcome pack for both ourselves and our collie were very much appreciated. We saw deer in the grounds, rabbits and red squirrels in the garden and a multitude of birds. Home now, refreshed and relaxed. Thank you very much.

Date of stay: November 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The homeliness of the cottage. Well equipped
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 19, 2015
We're just so pleased to receive your very positive review. We try and make Beech as comfortable as we possibly can and that includes our four legged friends, who after all are on holiday too!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Beech Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luckyliam...
UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great cottage in an idyllic setting.”
Reviewed June 1, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed here for 5 days with our dog in May. A lovely cottage in a ideal location. The cottage was warm on arrival and the welcome pack was very appreciated after a long drive. The enclosed garden was perfect for our dog. It was the great base for walking and we were blessed with the weather. The cottage contained lots of info about the local area and had maps detailing paths and locations of walks. Killin only a short drive away had a Co-op supermarket. Excellent facilities in the cottage, the television, DVD player and WIFI were great to relax with after a day out hiking. Would definitely recommend.

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 2, 2015
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We try and make our guests stay as comfortable as possible, including our canine friends. We would be pleased to welcome you back to Beech Cottage in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross S
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect stay.”
Reviewed February 16, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Perfectly set up for the dog with an enclosed garden and plenty of walks in the surrounding area. Very cosy evenings in with the option to pop into killin if you fancy it. Would definitely recommend.

Date of stay: February 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 17, 2015
We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Beech Cottage. We aim to make your stay as comfortable as possible and would love to welcome you back to Beech at any time in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing