We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Notes from an art critic”
Review of Killin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Killin Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Killin B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Great food - Nick had a giant lamb shank and I beautiful mussels. Great atmosphere in both the rustic bar and the conservatory with view of Loch Tay. Best of all is the reception area, authentic from bygone times including 50ies' scripts, shutter lift and nice manager in old fashioned booth. All lovely, tasty and tasteful. But then you get to the annex for your bedroom and there it is: bedroom art. Generic photographs on canvas of flowers, scenery and clouds that could be from anywhere in the world. All this bingo matched with some vases that contain artificial flowers. Comfortable enough room despite the irritating decor. Sorry not to give them the last star. Will do once they have considered the art.

Room Tip: Don't go into annex.
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Claudia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,020)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

655 - 661 of 1,020 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2013

Bar ok but the rest of the hotel needs updating, the lift was noisy from our room and did keep me awake, the place itself was brilliant even though it rained the hotel was a let down. The food in the hotel was good although we asked the waitress for a pudding menu and she never returned with one so we gave up. The staff behind the bar were nice and polite.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Had a great weekend with my wife at the killin hotel using a kgb deal, never been before but will definitely be back. Its a ideal place for the active outdoors types or a restful break like me & my wife had. The hotel is is in a great location with spectacular views, the rooms are clean & tidy & the food is great. I would highly recommend the killin to everybody.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank splash64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

This is an old hotel which has had various bits added to it over the years. The reception on entering was efficient and reasonably business like. The lift is out of the ark. In fact it might be even older than that! Having said that it got me to where I needed to be and saved me having to carry my cases up the flights of stairs. The room was adequate in dimensions and seemed to have been recently refurbished. The double bed was comfortable but very close to the ground. It felt like sleeping on a futon. The ensuite didn’t have an electric shaving point.
The public areas had a feeling of being used and in need of refurbishment. The breakfast room lacked charm in the looks department but more importantly the food was good.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MINIPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

The Killin Hotel is a fine old building standing at the western end of Loch Tay and we stayed there in early May 2013. It has a large reception area (with tartan carpet, naturally), 3 eating areas, a small quiet lounge and a small bar which has seen better days and needs a refurb. Our bedroom was a reasonable size and was very clean. The large en suite bathroom had no heating and was quite chilly in the cool May weather. We ate in the hotel on the first night. The menu is quite expensive (e.g. £6 for starters, £15 for mains and £5 for desserts) but the food quality was quite average. My roast salmon, for example, had a soft texture and was layered in whole grain mustard while the vegetables were just blanched rather than cooked al dente. Service was very good, however. The breakfast was a combination of self-service buffet and waitress service. The food was good and plentiful and the waitress very efficient and friendly. The hotel was excellent value for the price we paid for our two night stay including breakfast and one meal and we would certainly stay again on a similar deal.

Room Tip: Room 45 looks out onto a rooftop and has no views at all so avoid it if this is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 6foot2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Travelled and stayed as part of a walking group of 60 people from Bandon Co.Cork Ireland .
The welcoming smiles from the staff at reception set the tone for what turned out to be an amazing hotel.
The food and bar facilities were excellent.Andy and his staff were very professional, helpfull and extremely friendly. We would definitely recomend the Killin Hotel and we certainly will make a return visit !!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerrymcS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed two nights recently at the Killin Hotel. The food is fantastic and I would definitely recommend eating there! The portions are well rounded and balanced it really is lovely food. Unfortunately the room let it down it was very small, I found several insects and I realised the hotel was pet friendly after finding several dog or cat hairs and sneezing most of the first night as I have a slight allergy to dogs and cats. I think the room just needed a deep clean. I should have checked first whether pets were allowed. On checking out our bill had been mixed up with another room and I was rather bemused, took a little sorting out but otherwise staff were nice. Can I just ask the hotel NOT to serve frozen bread at breakfast though it really was awful and unless you live in outer Mongolia I don't see why you cannot serve fresh bread. Apart from this it was ok. Not sure I would stay again though, sorry.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killin
6.1 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
445 reviews
20.4 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
14.5 mi away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Clachan Cottage Hotel
Clachan Cottage Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lochearnhead
814 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bridge Of Lochay Hotel
Bridge Of Lochay Hotel
#3 of 14 in Killin
470 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Courie Inn
The Courie Inn
#2 of 14 in Killin
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killin Hotel

Address: Main Street | Killin, Killin, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK21 8TP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Loch Tay > Killin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Killin
Price Range: $76 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Killin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Killin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killin Hotel Scotland - Loch Tay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing