We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad I hadn't paid full price, rooms very disappointing.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Killin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Killin Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Killin B&B and Inns
wigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Glad I hadn't paid full price, rooms very disappointing.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Nice Hotel downstairs. Restaurant, bar,breakast excellent. Location lovely. Room needed some work, bathroon needed a good overall, stairs and corridors needed hoovering very disapointing in need of TLc. Staff very helpful,polite and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShelbyWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    333
    182
    106
    61
See reviews for
134
558
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portgordon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Booked to stay on the way on to a family reunion on the west coast. Very warm welcome and clean well appointed room. Booked for dinner and could not fault either the food or the service. Great atmosphere in the restaurant too.
Would certainly recommend the Killin Hotel for a short break, plus, what great countryside.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night and is a lovely location. The hotel is in need of refurbishments particularly the wallpaper, carpets and bedrooms. However the food is excellent and highly recommend the steak! The staff are all lovely and friendly and was a very good stay.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ryan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

just back from a great stay at the Killin hotel, further to some other people who stayed at the hotel prior to us. Yes the rooms are a bit dated, the bed was clean and the shower was great with all the toiletries you need. The towels were changed after first night. The breakfast was good with enough to eat and the waitresses were very pleasant.We ate in the conservatory on the first night and the food was good, and the portions were huge. All in all a great stay for a weekend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

My son booked us here through Groupon and I HATED it!! Stained carpet, filthy pipes in bathroom, limited sockets, very basic breakfast and not got anything I could say in favour of staying here. I like to sum up situations, give the benefit of doubt and excuse mistakes but...I will NEVER stay here again! Sorry x

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dann1k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Killin hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

my wife & i just spent the last few days at this hotel,what a diffarence,compared to the last time,( 2002) a lot nicer place,food is very good though a bit pricey,but i suppose it is a touristy place,would reccomend this hotel if staying in this area.

Room Tip: try a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

This was our second visit to Killin and this hotel. Since our last visit the hotel has been spruced up a bit with the new dining area and annex building but the core of the hotel hasn't been updated.

Our room was basic but had everything you'd need, the only thing that let the room down was the en-suite and in particular the very small shower. If you are over 5'5' you'd need to duck to use it.

We didn't sleep the best this visit (we were on a different floor than last time) as our neighbours were rather noisy and walls rather thin (we could hear them snoring)!

For the price we paid it was still really good value and you wouldn't expect more for it, if we're in the area again then we may return.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sparksteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killin
6.1 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bridge Of Lochay Hotel
Bridge Of Lochay Hotel
#3 of 14 in Killin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dall Lodge Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Courie Inn
The Courie Inn
#2 of 14 in Killin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coach House Hotel
Coach House Hotel
#10 of 14 in Killin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
2.8 mi away
Loch Tay Highland Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killin Hotel

Property: Killin Hotel
Address: Main Street | Killin, Killin, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK21 8TP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Loch Tay > Killin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Killin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Killin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Killin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killin Hotel Scotland - Loch Tay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing