We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HIDDEN GEM WITH EXCELLENT STAFF”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Falls of Dochart Inn
Ranked #13 of 14 Killin B&B and Inns
clydebank
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“HIDDEN GEM WITH EXCELLENT STAFF”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Just back form a 3 night stay at the inn myself and my husband stayed here 31st Dec to 3rd Jan.Firework display at the Falls of Dochart was a fantastic way to bring in the new year.we stayed in room 6 had superb views of the falls the room was decorated to very high standards with four poster bed and very comfortable, the bathroom was very modern free standing bath with under floor heating.Breakfast in the morning was excellent with a wide variety of choice also meals where great a great big thank you to the chef.Staff where very friendly and helpful a great big thank you to Ellie,Lucy and not forgetting Wee Liz who has excellent customer service and always served with a smile. Before we left to come home we booked again for next new year and look forward to seeing you all again once again thanks to everyone at the Falls Of Dochart for making our New Year very memorable

Room Tip: Book a room with views of the falls
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doreen05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    70
    39
    33
    42
See reviews for
44
157
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

This is a fantastic old world sort of inn lovely and cosy and overlooking the falls.There is a cottage out the back you can rent .The cottage is fully equipped and equally cosy .The inn sells some great home made food of good quality.Excellent place at new year.As they light fireworks over the falls spectacular.

Room Tip: the cottage out the back is great.If you are going to the actual hotel ask for front rooms overlooki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kate p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waverly, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Late afternoon, in late September, cool evening, roaring water falls, scenic little town. We spotted this roadside inn, and enjoyed a great dinner by the huge fireplace, with local brews and local folks. The bed was warm and we could hear the water falling. Very convenient for walking around the village and enjoying the sights. Yes, the food and drinks were most costly than average, and so was the ambience.

Room Tip: window on the falls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mahgreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed here on a Saturday night in room 1 . Sure the room is small but it was clean & cosy & had character as opposed to the sterile hotel chains. The bathroom ceiling slopes steeply so a conventional shower would be impossible - perhaps a hose for the taps ?
I found the staff friendly & helpful . The evening meal was delicious though perhaps a bit over priced . Couldn't fault the breakfast
If I pay a return trip to Killin I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Scotspearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Truly beautiful location, with great views of the falls, and a lovely old building, but let down by the outrageous prices in the bar, and the disinterested bar staff. Will not be going in again, which is a shame. A glass of wine, pint of local beer, and a malt whisky was £13.05, whereas the same drinks in another pub 5 mins along the road was four pounds cheaper and served by a very friendly and helpful lady. We did not stay in the hotel, so my review is only about the bar, which unfortunately seems to be there only to part the unwary tourist from his or her hard earned cash

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monkey_Alan71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Killin hotels

east kilbride
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Driving home from a stay up north we decided on a stop-over and pulled into Killin. Very surprised at the size of the village. We chose the Falls of Dochart Inn to stay over at and were glad we did.
The staff were welcoming....as they should be...the place was clean...as it should be...the beer pipes had been cleaned...as they should be...the Real Ale was v.good...as it should be. The ambience of the bar/lounge/reception (all in one) ...is good.
We had dinner...nice selection and very, very enjoyable. (breakfast was more than adequate and in fact introduced us to the best ever yoghurt we have tasted.)
Our room was very comfortable...one or two niggly things such as having to move the kettle to the bedside floor to plug in...but there again I had to do that in a four star hotel in London.
I see some negative reporting of this hotel (inn)...I do not want to eat in a restaurant that allows dogs in, assisting or not and for someone to say the bedroom has a sloping floor...well this is a coaching inn several HUNDREDS of years old. Will we go back? Yes... in two weeks time... and if the owner reads this...mine's a real ale pint!

Room Tip: obviously we only stayed one room...no. 7 and the bedcwas comfy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dubsiesEastKilbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Spent 2 enjoyable nights. Stayed in room 1. Found the room small and cramped.but clean. No shower which was dissapointing. Making up for this was the cosy old world bar with open fire. And fabulous food. Felt comfortable and relaxed during the stay. Worth a visit.
Mrs inglis.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcbridewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killin
6.4 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
416 reviews
5.6 mi away
Clachan Cottage Hotel
Clachan Cottage Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lochearnhead
796 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Four Seasons Hotel
The Four Seasons Hotel
#2 of 2 in St. Fillans
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
415 reviews
0.5 mi away
Killin Hotel
Killin Hotel
#7 of 14 in Killin
993 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bridge Of Lochay Hotel
Bridge Of Lochay Hotel
#3 of 14 in Killin
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falls of Dochart Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falls of Dochart Inn

Property: The Falls of Dochart Inn
Address: Gray Street, Killin, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK21 8SL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Loch Tay > Killin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Killin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Falls of Dochart Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Falls of Dochart Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Falls Of Dochart Inn Killin, Scotland - Loch Tay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing