We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Falls of Dochart Inn
Ranked #13 of 14 Killin B&B and Inns
Kelty, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Noise”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Booked in for one night, left at 1.30 am in morning ( after doing a 15 mile hike, very tired ) due to noise levels, noise of someone running up and down the corridor up until just before we left. Room partition walls not very well sound proofed, could hear next door talking then snoring so if your looking for a good nights sleep forget it you'd be better in a tent outside. Phoned the next day to complain and got, wait for it ........ the massive sum of £10.00, will not be back!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fiona b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    63
    35
    33
    39
See reviews for
41
145
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dunbar, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We had 4 rooms booked and had been looking forward to a stay in this charming old inn.Well that soon turned into one big disappointment although booked since March and deposits paid, we were given what must be the worst room in the place.
Don't take room 1 if you want to wash your hair, bath only no shower connection for taps,or even a jug.If you want to have window open constant noise day and night from fan 3--4 feet away, no where to lay anything. Milk in in all 4 rooms out off date as far back as 2012.
Breakfast a joke had to ask for--cereal bowls-milk-butter-cutlery--had to wait over 30min. for pot of tea. 2nd. morning wrong meals brought to 3 of us. Fire doors left open all night big lack of security.
So much could be done with this lovely old building in such a beautiful location it is a shame.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank m C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Killin hotels

Motherwell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed here for the weekend, my third visit and absolutely fantastic as usual. Lovely friendly staff, beautiful food (I was only sorry I couldn't taste more things on the menu!) and new cask ales. It is a little dark in the pub but when you can sit outside and take in the view of the falls and the hills who cares? Looking forward to my next trip already!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeatherIshbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

no hospitality, shocking staff attitude, dirty, dark and down right miserable place... reviewed this place before and swore we wouldnt return .. sadly gave it another try this year and along with 3 other families we all left very disapointed, we were all just stopping for refreshment but were refused service even though there were a party of foriegn holidaymakers being served drinks! stupid staff !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aquamaria59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Arrived to find three lots of stairs to room, I had previously e mailed explaining I had a problem with too many stairs. The room was small, scruffy, and extremely hot with a sash window only opening a little way. The bathroom was hazardous with a glass shelf ready to fall down at any slight touch. No shower, or nowhere to put the shower head, I am unable to get into a bath. The food in the restaurant was in edible, I ordered a sandwich which came on hard ciabatta bread, when I complained they took it away and toasted it then returned it to me. My husband had venison which was not good.
Breakfast the next morning was another failure, no tatie scones first morning, no mushrooms or tomatoes, and what we did get was not well cooked.
The whole place is filthy and needs a good clean. The bar is lit mainly with candlelight, sounds romantic but it merely covers the dirt.
The manager explained he was in his second season and trying to put things right, however cleaning doesn't cost a lot. He did however, reduce our final bill.
Although there are many things need putting right this is a very sad example of Scottish hospitality would never go back there.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st andrews
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

stayed for a night this week on the way to the west
excellent room with great en-suite. The room was clean and had a great view over the falls
inn is very old and full of character
food was first class freshly cooked and was of a much higher standard that I had expected.
breakfast was excellent
will definitely stay again

Room Tip: try and get a room overlooking the falls the falls masks the road noise (not that there was much)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Never needed to put a review on trip advisor before but really disappointed. Booked for 2 nts on July 12th, arrived around 3 pm, opening the door to our family room we were confronted by the huge bunk beds which we had to squeeze by to get into the room ( could have been in a better position) large items of furniture that weren't used and really a waste of space that could be better utilised. Couldn't make a cup of tea as the milk cartons in the room were out of date ranging from oct 12 to may 13!!!!! Went down to breakfast @ 8.30 on sat and nobody ready to seat us or tell us what was available, kids got 1 & half sausages and we had to wait 45 mins to get a pot of tea. Service was just as shocking at night when we asked if food was still available at 8.30 in the evening they were more interested in the bar filling up to watch a guy sing!!!! Toilets in bar could do with a deep clean. Overall really poor service and cleanliness wouldn't recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharlene13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killin
6.4 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bridge Of Lochay Hotel
Bridge Of Lochay Hotel
#3 of 14 in Killin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Courie Inn
The Courie Inn
#2 of 14 in Killin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Killin Hotel
Killin Hotel
#5 of 14 in Killin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dall Lodge Country House
0.7 mi away
Coach House Hotel
Coach House Hotel
#10 of 14 in Killin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falls of Dochart Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falls of Dochart Inn

Property: The Falls of Dochart Inn
Address: Gray Street, Killin, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK21 8SL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Loch Tay > Killin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Killin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Falls of Dochart Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Falls of Dochart Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Falls Of Dochart Inn Killin, Scotland - Loch Tay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing