We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint ,worldly falls of drochart inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Falls of Dochart Inn
Ranked #13 of 14 Killin B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 5, 2013

This was a present for Xmas and a location we hadn't thought of but the Killin area is like a step back in time in a nice way,our room overlooked the falls which was nice and probably the reason they get away with charging £95 a night ,bad point is we usually retire early after a days walking and the t,v which we reported not working at 2pm when we booked in was still not working when we retired at 10pm (no refund offered) however the room was clean ,great views and its a long time since I had a bath and this ones enormous with a big headrest to enjoy,we had a lovely wee lassie that served breakfast dont know her name but she was on duty Tuesday night in the bar and we'd morning 3rd on April a smile and a skip in her step there is a good sized car park at rear and I just loved the open fire which looked like an Iron Age throwback ,overall if I went back I'd prob go for a cheaper inn there's one across the road The Smiddy for £28 it's only a bed at the end of the day but would recommend this establishment for its view we had room number 7 at the front

Room Tip: Room 7 for best views and take ear plugs the down stairs fridges hum continually
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grantelder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 274 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

Booked in for evening meal, we were looking forward to good food and a warm cosy atmosphere to relax in, after a long days sightseeing. However we were shown in to a very small room, which also accommodated three further tables for two and a table for four. there was hardly room to draw back your chair before bumping into the diner behind you. The waitresses were literally brushing passed our table as we were eating as there was so little room. Luckily there wasn't much of a wait before our food arrived as it was very cold, other diners commented too. We found ourselves eating quickly so that we could go back to our own hotel to get warmed up.Lovely food just not a pleasant experience dining there.

Room Tip: If you are eating here in the winter put on extra layers, as it does spoil your dining experience, h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank alynthompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Never let down by the food or the service here! We visit Killin quite alot and whilst we normally stop off here for a drink (or two) we have now eaten there quite a few times after being let down by one of the other local hotels. The food was absolutley amazing, no complaints from us, the staff were greawt and we will definitley be returning - a hidden gem! Well Done.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank tafbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

As with Lindas comments they saved the day. We had the BEST meal ever with menus printed for our friend to celebrate her 40th with just 24 hours notice ... excellent and kind people. The staff were really great and the menu was compiled to suit us. they opened up another part of the hotel to accommodate us. If you go anaywhere in Killin go here - you will feel welcome, wanted and most certainly you will not come away hungry

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clare H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Never stayed here but husband and I stopped in for a drink,its set in a beautiful location right across from falls.gorgeous old Scottish building with a huge open range fire..very cosy, the barmaid was and punters were too.www had a look at brochure for rooms and they look lovely xx

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank lynski173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I've been to this restaurant 5 or 6 times now. I've always enjoyed the food (i've never been to the hotel part so can't comment on that).

Food is unexpensive and of good taste. The view is amazing, from the back room you can enjoy the falls. Killin is very small but really interesting to visit.

Definitely go for it!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GenuineOpinions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

had a three day break in Aberfeldy/ Pitlochry and was disappointed by shops either shut or bad meals, even the Queens View was closed! However this little establishment more than made up for everything else.
Great location, great atmosphere, and even better meals.
Excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benitoDalgetyFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killin
6.4 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
445 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Four Seasons Hotel
The Four Seasons Hotel
#2 of 2 in St. Fillans
932 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Achray House Hotel and Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Bridge Of Lochay Hotel
Bridge Of Lochay Hotel
#3 of 14 in Killin
468 reviews
0.5 mi away
Killin Hotel
Killin Hotel
#7 of 14 in Killin
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falls of Dochart Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falls of Dochart Inn

Address: Gray Street, Killin, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK21 8SL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Loch Tay > Killin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Killin
Price Range: $114 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Falls of Dochart Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Falls of Dochart Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Falls Of Dochart Inn Killin, Scotland - Loch Tay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing