We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect location”
other travelers have booked this property
Blinkbonnie Cottage looking north towards Ben Lawers.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Blinkbonnie Cottage looking north towards Ben Lawers.
Loch Earn. Ben Lawers from the front garden.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
Blinkbonnie Cottage looking north towards Ben Lawers.
Loch Earn.
Ben Lawers from the front garden.
Lounge area with log burner.
Patio doors to rear garden.
Lounge.
Lounge /Dining area.
Modern kitchen with all appliances.
King size bed.
Bedroom 2 twin 3'0 beds with memory mattress's.
Rear garden looking south over Lochan.
From the front garden.
Sunrise over the mountains.
Lochearnhead Village.
Loads of forrest trails in the area.
You will love Blinkbonnie Cottage.
Falls of Dochart, Killin
Falls of Dochart, Killin.
Neighbours!
Neighbours!
Who's watching who?
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Killin, Loch Tay, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Janette H
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed July 9, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We wanted a quiet peaceful location to relax and unwind and this was just the place we were looking for. The views we had were amazing,we could see deer in the distance but on the last morning we got up at 5am to pack and tidy up and we saw 7 deer in the garden just to the side jumping playing and chasing the ducks and rabbits away. Amazing. The house has everything you need to make your stay comfortable, games, books, music, binoculars (which we used every day to catch site of the wildlife). The kitchen provides all the utensils etc needed. The weather could have been better for us but it didn't stop us going out every day, isle of mull, Luss, Callander, Crieff, Ben Lomond, fort William, Oban, Stirling, Glen Coe and many other small villages for lunch etc. We loved it, it's a great central point surrounded by stunning places, views and lochs. My only advice is to take insect repellant. My partner and I must have been bitten 20+ times.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 12, 2016
Thank you both for your kind review and we hope to see you again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian B
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely, comfortable cottage, ideal base for walking the Highlands”
Reviewed July 6, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Disregard a recent poor review! This is a lovely, comfortable, well appointed cottage situated in a quiet spot 2 miles from Killin where you can buy everything you need. The owners met us as arranged and were friendly and helpful. The furnishings are all of good quality, the beds are comfortable and we appreciated the nice, soft towels. Don't be put off with the slight dicolouration of the water. The owners provided some bottled water for drinking. The cottage is an ideal place for walking this part of the Highlands and we would certainly stay here again.
,.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View from the lounge
Liked least: Limited preparation space in kitchen.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 7, 2016
Thank you Adrian and family for your kind review and Thank you for looking after our cottage during your stay. You were all great guests and are welcome back anytime! Hope we see you all again!
Best regards, Dave & Sandie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
captainsl...
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“the perfect holiday”
Reviewed June 25, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

lovely cottage in a perfect location with views of the hills at the front and a lochan at the end of the garden full of trout in front of a forest and hills at the back down the road is an art studio and beyond that a disused railway line which makes a good place to walk through he forests a few of which loggers often work at. the cottage is quite near to loch tay where I went kayaking also a bit further and just as good are loch earn loch lubnaig (my favourite) and loch lubhair which is a bit more tucked away and quieter. we went fishing on loch lubnaig which only cost us £7 for a day permit. theres plenty of places to eat especially in kiilin itself which is literally 10 mins drive away. theres a co op which is open 7am - 11pm many restaurants antique shop and gift shop also theres the falls of dochart there.
stirling castle is another place of interest too and on the way to that you go through callender a small town with a few charity shops and toy museum shop amongst others before callender theres a massive antiques and arts centre in doune
the one thing we noticed about the cottage was the tranquillity and quietness of the place as you sit in the garden at the back where we often saw deers grazing and alsorts of different birds too aswell as rabbits
very reasonably priced too...thankyou to david and sandie for such a great holiday and even took the trouble to visit us to see if everything was ok although we were out both times

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the locan and forest at the back
Liked least: nothing i can think of
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2016
Thank You! We appreciate the lovely review and it was a pleasure to have you stay with us. You are all welcome back anytime and perhaps we can have a beer together the next time! Regards, Dave
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SM062014
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another great week”
Reviewed June 19, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Third time I have stayed at this cottage and as good as ever. Extremely comfortable bed with quality mattress, power shower and exceedingly clean cottage. Of course the location is fantastic with views of the hills from the front and the lochan at the back. This time I was visited by rabbits, ducklings and a red squirrel , all of which came to the French doors to see what was happening. Across the lochan were deer. The situation is quiet and peaceful but an excellent location for the main trunk road (no road noise at the house). Walks start from the house in numerous directions. On top of all this Wi-Fi, TV,CD,DVD and iPod dock. What else do you need?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: The weather
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 20, 2016
Thank you Simon for your kind review! As always it was a pleasure to have you stay and we look forward to your next visit. Regards, Dave
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennyfurb
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage, great location”
Reviewed June 14, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a week here in the Easter holidays with our 2 year old son and had a lovely time. The cottage has everything you need and we enjoyed being in the garden with ducks visiting us and spotting other wildlife. Plenty of space for our son to play and very restful. The cottage is a great base for exploring the beautiful area around Loch Lomond and Killin, the local town, is excellent for places to eat out or to shop for food to eat at home. The owners were helpful and gave us some good ideas for what to do including at trip to Oban and on the ferry which we never would have thought of (would recommend the train journey - very scenic). A great holiday!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 15, 2016
Hi Both,

Thank you for your kind comments and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay! If ever you holiday in Scotland again we would love to have you as guests again! Regards, Dave & Sandie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan F
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed May 21, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We have just left Blinkbonnie Cottage after a lovely week. The cottage is so clean and comfortable. It was all I expected and more. I have not slept so well for years! Just happy to sit and watch the birds outside when it was raining. 2 sightings of deer, 1 up close and personal in the garden nearby then they walked round the front of the cottage. Thank you Dave and Sadie and we hope to be back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 22, 2016
Thank you Both for your kind review. You were a pleasure to have as guests and you are welcome back anytime!

Dave & Sandie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M C
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely location”
Reviewed April 16, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The location and the cottage itself are really nice but we had a really bad experience with the owners and beware as two men (the owner and a handyman), who came in on the first night to assist us with the water tank issue, were very rude, even suggesting to give us our money back and asking us to leave immediately, when we actually had a young child with us and it was Saturday, 10 pm just before Easter Sunday!!! Shocking!!!
They were shouting and telling my husband to SHUT UP as he only tried to share his opinion.
There is a washing machine which we have used for our dirty bike clothes, riding all Saturday, and that apparently have caused the water problem!? And when we wanted to take our first shower, we did not have any water left! We have contacted the owners for the assistance and as described above, that was the way they have dealt with us... The shower got fixed but it left us with a really bad feelings and our child had witnessed the whole situation...That is definitely not acceptable way of dealing with the customers...
On the other note, the tap water was YELLOW, so for the whole stay we had to buy our own water, as the owner left us with a couple of bottles for our 4 nights' stay.
The cottage has some lovely features and looked clean but it really was not cleaned by the owners prior to our arrival as there were some hair, hair products and a hair brush left under our bed. There was also a lot of dust and crumbs around the fold able dinner table... The curtains and the rug in front of the terrace door were all dump and soaking wet. The lady have explained it was down to the bad weather issues but the man who dealt with the shower accused us of the wet rug?!!!
The owners have tried to redeem themselves by bringing in some extra wood for the log burner, but we are afraid it is not enough as we have brought our own wood anyway. They have left us milk for our stay and a 1 pound price shortbread which unfortunately was out of date... they really need to take some advice on how to run a holiday let business...
Overall, it is a shame as we are using self catering accommodation very often across Scotland and Europe and we have never had such a bad experience with the owners.
This is why we can give this place 3 stars, based on the location and the cottage look only.

Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 18, 2016
Owners Reply

I would like thank these guests for their awful review as it means they will never be returning to our lovely cottage!
There are a number of points they raised and thank goodness I am allowed to respond to their untruths and inaccuracies.

1, They stayed in March not April!
2, I did not ask them to leave. I offered 100% refund if they wished to leave even if it was the following day!
3, The shouting was raised voices as the husband had been drinking whisky and watching football on the T.V. which seemed on maximum volume. The husband later fell over in the hall whilst kneeling down to see how the water supply worked.
4, He was not told to SHUT UP as stated. He was asked to listen whilst we explained that the hill water supply cannot cope with the demands that they had put on it! It needed to be given chance to fill up the attic cold water tank which gives the pressure for the shower to work! He found it difficult to listen and kept arguing and saying he knew best!
5, They stated that the water was yellow. The water is a hill supply and very enjoyable to drink, but can have a peaty colour to it during heavy rain spells which we had over the last couple of days. On these occasions we leave a couple of bottled drinking water normally for children!
6, The hairbrush and the deodorant (Not Hair Product)they say was found under the bed were not there when I used the small Dyson Hoover to clean prior to their visit.
7, The curtains and rug were soaking wet as the guests had the clothes drier there with dripping wet cycling gear on. We had to dry out under the laminate floor after they left as there was so much water.
8, The extra wood was delivered free of charge as the wood they had brought with them was soaking wet and unseasoned. At the time I delivered the extra they seemed very happy to be receiving it!
9, The £1.00 box of out dated shortbread must have been specially selected for them. As the last purchase I made from Tesco are all dated October 2016. We only ever purchase 6 to 10 boxes at a time to make sure that they are always fresh. We have two holiday units, so rotation of stock is swift!
10, I am accused of needing advice on how to run a holiday let business. I am always willing to listen (Unlike the husband) to anyone who gives good advice. I have run successfully a number of business’s over the last 40+ years and none more successful than the holiday let business as our 5 star reviews indicate. It is a shame that one malicious inaccurate review like this can do so much damage!

The brief outline of the initial complaint received by email (9-00pm) was that the shower was not working. My maintenance man and myself arrived at the cottage 35 minutes later to find that the washing machine was on and the kitchen tap running for no reason. There was 3 sacks of wet unseasoned wood stacked in the hall and more wood stacked on top of the wood burner stove. The cottage looked like a bomb had hit it. My maintenance man removed the wood immediately as it was a fire hazard. We checked the shower and found that there was no water pressure for it to work so the filters and pump were checked and found all ok. We gained entrance to the loft area and found the holding tank virtually empty. The water input pump was working and trying to fill the tank, but with the washing machine on, the kitchen tap running for no reason and a bath had been run did not give the water tank time to fill so the shower could be use. We allowed the water tank to fill and the shower worked fine. The bath was full of hair which looked like someone’s hair had been cut whilst in the bath! The husband then said that the stove flue needed cleaning! It had only been cleaned 2/3 months previous and the problem was the wet unseasoned wood he was trying to burn. We found some of the seasoned dry wood that I left and got the fire going no problem. The husband then accused my wife off leaving the cottage dirty and I did get annoyed at this as I had left five hours before and the cottage was immaculate. My wife stayed on as usual to meet and greet our new guests and make sure there were no problems. The guests arrived wet, cold and in dirty cycling gear (Their Words) and not in the best of moods. They complained that the electric charges were extra (Shown in advert), they complained that we do not provide washing powder or tablets, they complained that the cycle track was a few hundred yards from the cottage! My wife returned home and her first words were “I think we are going to have trouble with these guests” and boy, did we!

I would add that the guests wife apologised to my maintenance man for her husbands behaviour before we left. There were no further complaints during their stay. However, I did send in a full report to the Holiday Letting Company the day after they left as I was not happy with this guest and the state the cottage had been left in. I did not make a claim against their housekeeping deposit as a sign of goodwill, but I now have a invoice to pay £163.00 for emergency call out charges and time spent on site late Easter Saturday evening. We did not leave the premises until 11-00pm and the guests were perfectly happy then!

It is strange that this complaint has been made to Trip Advisor 17 days after the guests left the cottage. I know if I had had a genuine poor holiday the people concerned would have known immediately and a full report sent to the holiday company.

My independent maintenance man who owns APW Property Services can substantiate all of these facts given today and a copy of his invoice can be seen on request!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing