We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful Pine Cottage”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Pine Cottage

Pine Cottage, Wester Lix, Killin
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pine Cottage, Wester Lix, Killin
Stunning views from the front patio area and dining table Dining area, looks out over the cottage garden and Glen Ogle
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Pine Cottage, Wester Lix, Killin
Stunning views from the front patio area and dining table
Dining area, looks out over the cottage garden and Glen Ogle
Perfect bird watching spot-you'll also see deer, red squirrels and lots of rabbits.
Wood burning stove - very cosy!
Kitchen with washing machine, fridge/freezer, microwave and lots of storage
Double bedroom with good storage space
Twin bedded room, 2 large cupboards for clothing and storage.
Cottage bathroom, shower over bath.
Sunny spot at the front of the cottage
Northern Lights over Pine Cottage (photo from a recent guest) Wow!
Sunset at Pine Cottage
Long walks right from the front door-dog heaven!
The Falls of Dochart, Killin
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Killin, Loch Tay, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Adrian C
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peaceful Pine Cottage”
Reviewed August 10, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My wife, 9 year old son, small dog and I spent a week at the delightful Pine Cottage. This was our first experience renting a cottage and could not have been more pleased with our accommodation. Instantly felt at home, cottage located in a beautiful setting and was furnished to a very high standard (my son particularly liked the single bed). Every utensil/appliance required was provided, log burner was needed on a couple of evenings ....even in July, and the welcome pack much appreciated.
We were fascinated by the uninterrupted views N, S &E from the cottage, and the number of visitors to the garden and surrounding area and included woodpeckers, blue jays, various tits and finches, red squirrels, bats, deer, overhead - buzzards and even a golden eagle (I'm sure..). With my limited knowledge of wildlife, the provided bird book was a regular reference point and various other house books and maps were very useful.
Some lovely walks directly from the cottage using the old railway and around Loch Tay, though unfortunately the cycle path path to Killin was blocked due to fallen trees.
Great base to explore Loch Tay, Callander, Comrie, Crianlarich and further.

Will definitely return in the hopefully not too distant future - Thanks Nigel and Sara.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 31, 2015
Thanks for your review-I know how helpful people find them. You saw so much wildlife! You are not alone in thinking you saw an eagle, we have had quite a few mentions in the guest book. Glad you had a great time and hope you come back some day in the future. Best wishes, Sara and Nigel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shetland6...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Delightful Stay”
Reviewed June 29, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Pine Cottage is one of the best self catering places we have stayed in,absolutely spotless and ample supply of all household items required for your stay,especially if you have dogs,welcoming pack deserves a special mention,superb.also TV has sky tele,not the usual freeview rubbish that's in most self catering places,with pets a 5 minute walk from the cottage and your walkin thru forests and on to the hills,Killin is approx. 2.5 miles away reached by going back to main road,tun left and then entering Dochart Forrest just before the road to Killin,from there you join the Rob Roy way to Killin.All together a very enjoyable stay,very relaxing and quiet,will certainly recommend to friends. ,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall property was first class
Liked least: Pictures make you think its on its own,but three other cottages close by
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 31, 2015
Thanks for your review! We are happy you had a great holiday and found the cottage welcoming and well equipped. Killin is a great village and we really love the walk through the forest for a spot of lunch and beer, it takes about 45 minutes each way (sometimes a wee bit longer on the way home after a beer or two). Perhaps one day we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back. Cheers!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poppscoco
Clovenfords
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“5* Excellent, Highly Recommended”
Reviewed January 11, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

My husband and I spent New Year at Pine Cottage. We were not disappointed. The cottage was lovely, fresh and clean. On our arrival a welcome pack was waiting for us, which was very much appreciated. Weather was in our favour, only one day, we had rain most of the day, but that did not stop us from going out. We had our two yellow labs with us, Molly and Bailey, and they just loved going out. Plenty of walks near the cottage, which meant you did not need to take your car anywhere, and the scenary was beautiful. We highly recommend Pine Cottage. We will definately be back, in the not too distant future. Thank you Nigel and Sara for a lovely stay in your cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 22, 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for Pine Cottage and we are delighted you had such a fantastic Hogmanay! Cheers Sara and Nigel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommandoA...
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
“Definitely be back to this beautiful cottage in wonderful surroundings”
Reviewed November 25, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

My wife & I stayed at Pine Cottage with our 2-year-old daughter and our dogs and we all had a wonderful time. It is perfectly situated in peaceful surroundings yet only a short drive from many attractions. Communication prior to our arrival was perfect, instructions clear and accurate.
The cottage had everything we could wish for and the log burner made the evenings nice and cosy. The welcome basket catered for all the guests, even the four-legged ones :)
The cottage was ideal for our family and after a trip to Stirling Castle, our daughter declared the kitchen her "castle". We certainly made the most of our stay by getting out and about most days to Loch Lomond, Stirling, Crieff to name but a few. The scenery is fantastic and the location allows you to do as little or as much as you wish. We were lucky with the weather in November as it only rained on the day we headed home, so the dogs got plenty of beautiful walks.
We will most definitely be checking our diaries and planning another trip next year.
Thank you Nigel & Sara for letting us stay in your fabulous cottage

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 22, 2015
Thanks for writing such a lovely review and we will look forward to welcoming you all back whenever you wish to return. Many thanks, Sara and Nigel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane O
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosy, comfortable, well-equipped cottage in an idyllic setting”
Reviewed October 27, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We loved our time at Pine Cottage. The week went all too quickly. The views are wonderful, the accommodation and equipment of a high standard, making for a very relaxing base from which to explore the countryside around. A real rural retreat within reach of many places of interest.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 1, 2014
Come back again; you are always welcome! So glad you had such a great time. Best wishes, Sara and Nigel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrsbrooks...
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely, relaxing stay in a perfect setting!”
Reviewed September 21, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We have just returned from a week at pine cottage. The cottage itself was perfect; cosy, spotlessly clean and equipped with every home comfort you could wish for. The scrabble dictionary was particularly useful :). The setting was absolutely gorgeous and we're missing the views already. Our two dogs really enjoyed the holiday too and the walks straight from the door were perfect for them. Thanks for a great stay, hope to come back soon!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 14, 2014
So glad you had a great time at Pine Cottage and many thanks for your lovely review. From experience we do know the scrabble dictionary is a must to maintain the holiday calm. Kindest regards, Sara and Nigel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephenan...
Leven, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely little place in a beautiful area.”
Reviewed August 18, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

My wife and I had a lovely time at Pine Cottage. The Cottage is in a secluded remote area next to three other similar type chalets / cottages. The cottage is detached and has a private garden area. It was easy to find and is surrounded by beautiful scenery and wildlife. The cottage itself has everything you need, from a very comfy bed to lovely décor and furnishings. There are cracking walks immediately form the cottage which we walked daily. Killin is about 3.5 miles away and is a beautiful walk through the Dochart Forest. If your looking for a getaway from it all break then this is the place to go. Thank you Sara and Nigel.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Honestly can't think of anything.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 30, 2014
You are most welcome! So pleased you enjoyed your holiday and the nearby walks and village. All the best, Sara and Nigel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing