We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good B&B for winter hillwalkers”
Review of Breadalbane House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Killin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Breadalbane House
Ranked #4 of 14 Killin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“A good B&B for winter hillwalkers”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This B&B is one of the few open in Killin in February. Facilities are of a good standard, as is the breakfast and there is a nice sitting room for guests. Our twin room was small but adequate, with a good hot shower. There is plenty of guest car parking at the rear of the house. Our room and the sitting room were rather cold to start with, but warmed up during the course of the weekend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    26
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
25
41
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Breadalbane House.
The room was comfortable, clean and well equipped (e.g. TV, DVD player, hairdryer, clock radio, ...).
Breakfast was very good (e.g. full Scottish breakfast, home-made cereal, fruit, yoghurt).
Désireé and Wouter are very friendly and helpful hosts and we received a warm welcome.
For people who are not confident in speaking English it might be interesting to know that Désireé and Wouter also speak languages like German and Dutch.
Breadalbane House is a great place to stay as a base to explore Killin and the surrounding area. Killin is a beautiful village and the Falls of Dochart are simply amazing.
Therefore we would recommend a stay at Breadalbane House.
This was our fifth stay and we will be back soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie_Meerkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Although slightly formal at first, lovely personal touches given to guests by Desiree; Gooter has a whacky sense of humour when he is let out of the kitchen! Rooms are very comfortable and well appointed (we had room 1). The breakfast was very good, excellent choice and exceptionally nice dining room. We would highly recommend this B&B and would say it was very good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoyGlasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

A lovely B&B for a great price, the owner was lovely, they do speciality breakfasts and the food is really good. Our room was spacious and clean. There was lots of info on the area things to do places to eat in the hotel book in th room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharnad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Hiya, on our arrival we were warmly welcomed by the landlady.Rooms are great and also the breakfast was excellent, and a very quiet area with a stunning view of the falls.

Best regards
Vince, Miriam, Luke & Matthew ( Malta )

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VinceMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night on our travels through Scotland. The owner let us in and was very strict and formal. She didn't seem interesed in us at all. We had to fill out a form, we got the room key and that was it. For me, staying in a B&B means that the owners make some time to chat with their guests. Unfortunately that was not the case. We didn't even get some pointers on where to eat (it was dinner time). The room itself was okay and the bathroom was clean. Breakfast was really good, with fresh fruit salad and home made crunchy cereal and choices of Full Scottish or just scrambled eggs or an omelet.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vandoornw, Owner at Breadalbane House, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
We're sorry we fell short in the welcome you experienced. This is not how we would want to be met ourselves, and it is nothing like how we aim to meet people! We came to Scotland and into B&B because it was (and still is) what we want to do. Being there for our guests is very important to us, which makes us especially sad that this happened.

One thing we won't be able to change is the registration form. Registration is a legal requirement, and those B&Bs that skip it simply break the law.

Thanks for mentioning positives as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorebridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

A pleasant 3 day stay in Killin - all the expectations were met with Breadalbane house, you don't want me to tell you that everything was clean and tidy, etc, etc (which it was) because nowadays no-one would be in business if not. Two points to note - a general but unobtrusive attention to detail that gave the impression that these owners are aware of the ecology of the world. My true love was the music at breakfast was classical, light chamber music or Bach's piano music. Such a relief from the all pervasive and invasive musak

Room Tip: Ignore the sleep rating - that is me, not the B&B. Yes, free WiFI but stronger signal in some r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elephin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killin hotels
0.0 mi away
The Courie Inn
The Courie Inn
#2 of 14 in Killin
146 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coach House Hotel
Coach House Hotel
#10 of 14 in Killin
158 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bridge Of Lochay Hotel
Bridge Of Lochay Hotel
#3 of 14 in Killin
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dall Lodge Country House
0.2 mi away
Killin Hotel
Killin Hotel
#7 of 14 in Killin
963 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Falls of Dochart Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breadalbane House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breadalbane House

Property: Breadalbane House
Address: Breadalbane House Main Street, Killin, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK21 8UT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Loch Tay > Killin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Killin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breadalbane House, a three-star VisitScotland B&B, is set in the picturesque village of Killin, which is situated at the western tip of Loch Tay, and lies in an incomparable region of beauty in the very heart of Scotland. The world famous Falls of Dochart on the river that flows through the village are a must to see; and you are never far from things to do and see with fishing, walking, hill climbing, cycling, golfing, watersports and horse riding all on the doorstep. Breadalbane House provides excellent Bed & Breakfast accommodation in very comfortable rooms, all of which are en suite and well equipped with colour TV, DVD player (region 2), tea/coffee making facilities, radio alarm and hairdryer. One guest room is situated on the ground floor. The relaxing Residents' Lounge is the place to unwind after your day out. Private parking is provided and we can also offer secure storage for cycles, drying and ironing facilities. Wireless internet is available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Breadalbane House Killin, Scotland - Loch Tay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing