We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic break.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Ben Lawers Rest

Ben Lawers Rest
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ben Lawers Rest
Views from the hot tub
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Ben Lawers Rest
Views from the hot tub
Ben Lawers Rest
Craggantoul views
Kitchen
Ben Lawers Rest in the snow
Bluebells in Craggantoul forest
Path to Loch Tay
Hot tub
View up to Ben Lawers mountain from kitchen
Covered terrace at Ben Lawers Rest
Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Killin, Loch Tay, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jamescrui...
Scottish Borders, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic break.”
Reviewed February 12, 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Another fantastic stay at craggantoul. Our 4th visit for our wedding anniversary. Perfect lodge, fantastic scenery and the hot tub made it extra special. We will return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron P
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed December 12, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We booked Ben Lawers Rest for a short break immediately after our wedding and we are so glad we did. This is exactly the bit of peace we needed after some hectic days beforehand.

The booking process was easy and professional. The key was available on arrival and could be dropped off afterwards which i found to be a nice touch, as it made the experience feel like a home from home.

The property itself was ideal. It has two bedrooms with en suite bathrooms and large living space with wonderful views out over Loch Tay and beyond. While there are other properties surrounding, the position of Ben Lawers Rest has the feel of being very secluded. It has a great hot tub also which was nice treat to sit in at night, especially when temperatures were freezing outside of it!

The accommodation is very clean and has everything you would reasonably expect for self catering accommodation. Another nice touch was the bottle of house wine on arrival left by our hosts!

We were entertained on a daily basis by much of the wildlife in the area, including a group of pheasants that arrived at the back door each morning looking for seed! We seen some deer also, and the whole experience was great escape away from normality. When our time was up we didn’t want to leave!

We are planning to go back at some point in the future and we couldn’t speak highly enough of Ben Lawers Rest.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pauline k
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another fantastic visit to Ben lawers”
Reviewed October 21, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Yet another fantastic week at Ben lawers cottage. The new extension and upgrade is amazing.Nothing is too much bother for Greg and Nina and the wine is a lovely touch too. The cottage is comfortable and cosy and very well equipped. The standard of furnishings is excellent. The views and peace and tranquillity is just what we needed. Hot tub is great after a long day of walking. We will return again next year as usual. It never fails to impress me and you see lots of wildlife from the settee. Deer, pheasants and birds of all sorts , it's great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
climber_j...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Will be back without a doubt!”
Reviewed October 3, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Wow, what an amazing place! We stayed here for 3 nights on our honeymoon - the first week of which, we spent travelling in our campervan, so it was so nice to have some luxury.

The cabin is really spacious, clean, and warm. The bed in the main bedroom was very comfortable. The kitchen was well equipped. The veranda is great, as it meant we could sit outside even when it was raining. And the hot tub just topped it off! Absolutely perfect!

We sat in the hot tub at dusk (about 7.30pm end of Sept), and had bats flying just feet from our heads. If you turn all the hot tub pumps off completely, you can hear their wings beating as the fly past. We were also treated to a huge barn owl swooping up the lawn right towards us.

We bought some bird feed for the feeder from the hardware store in Killin (they preferred the sunflower hearts - the mixed seed got ignored).

We enjoyed a nice pub lunch in The Falls of Dochart Inn, and also had a good meal at The Three Lemons in Aberfeldy.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful place”
Reviewed June 1, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Booked 3 nights over the bank holiday weekend for my husbands 30th Birthday. Lovely cabin with luxurious feel and everything you would ever need.
Beautiful scenery and peace and quiet great escape from our city lives.
Evenings spent in the hot tub watching the sun go down and watching the visiting wildlife. Lovely walk down to the loch.
Would highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mb25uk
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing hideaway with beautiful views”
Reviewed January 17, 2017 for a stay in February 2015

First time staying at Ben lawers rest, we stayed 3 nights Sat -Tue.We stayed for our 10th year anniversary of our engagement. Scenery on the way is beautiful. Location is beautifully nestled in the best location next to loch Tay. Cabin itself is very traditional (how a cabin should look) but with all the mod-cons. Cabin is equipped with everything you would need including hot tub- whether it be for a short or long stay. It is decorated beautifully inside and is very clean. There's plenty to do within the estate and out with. Places near by -
BEN LAWERS HOTEL
KILLIN
KENMORE
There are plenty walks that are suitable for keen or not so keen walkers. We seen various wildlife from deers, pheasants and various birds. All in all we couldn't recommend it anymore it's like a home away from home and so worth the visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crook of Devon, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 8, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location.
Liked least: Leaving.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing