We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant food, lovely people, great service and a fantastic atmosphere and surroundings” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Smiddy

The Old Smiddy
Ranked #1 of 16 Restaurants in Killin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $22
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Brilliant food, lovely people, great service and a fantastic atmosphere and surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

The Smiddy does the best fish and chips, stunning pizza and chocolate cake to die for. All the food is excellent and home cooked. The staff are wonderful and caring. Whether it is a take away or sitting in for a meal The Smiddy is a great place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jacnken1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    65
    19
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Had a meal last night in the Smiddy staff so friendly this was our second time there and was equally as good the owner made me a lovely cocktail to finish of my meal I recommend the steak as it was cooked to perfection... we will be back !!!!!!!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank June37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Went for family lunch and we all enjoyed.

I had the steak pie one of the best I have had would def have to have again. Wonderful sticky toffee pudding which would also need to have again.

Children's meals were also great tasty and fresh.

Very friendly staff took children to ice cream counter to pick flavours :)

Chef was even kind enough to recommend a good place locally for Sunday roast.

Great food service and value :)

Helpful?
Thank Gordon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whithorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Got it just right”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

I have been visiting Killin in Perthshire for the past 12 years and I have to say it was probably the best I have ever had. Its only small but the owners have put a lot of effort into creating a good atmosphere. The food A1 and reasonably priced. The home made tartare sauce perfectly complimented the fish. Definitely back on our next visit and would recommend to anyone.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Yummy food Great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

We went for a late lunch and it was a great meal. The staff were very friendly and the food was great.

I had the steak pie which was amazing and a very generous portion :) my wife had the half chicken with BBQ sauce which was also delicious. The kids meals were also fresh and very tasty.

Had sticky toffee pudding for desert and was one of the best I have had.

The very nice waitress took my children to ice cream counter to pick what flavours they wanted which was kind.

I was looking for a place for a Sunday roast and the chef was happy to recommend a good place to go for that.

All in all a well deserved excellent.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gordon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Smiddy also viewed

 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to The Old Smiddy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing