We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Service”
Review of The Capercaillie

The Capercaillie
Ranked #6 of 16 Restaurants in Killin
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: near the junction of Main st and Craignavie rd
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice Service”
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

Called in when passing for a coffee, was pleased with the reception and speed of service. The location overlooking the rivers was nice, we guess it's better in the summer months when everything is in leaf. Food was on the table quickly and was very tasty we would call in again if passing.

Helpful?
Thank 007Paddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    111
    47
    20
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful food”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stopped in Killin for Christmas and it was our friends birthday on 22nd December, we booked our table. And was welcomed by a lovely lady who showed us to our table. We all ordered our food and my wife opted for the haddock and chips, well she could not believe the size of the fish and that you actually get not one piece but actually two. I chose the chicken fajitas which again came and was absolutely massive, we all agreed that the food and atmosphere was amazing and that's to all staff for a memorable evening x

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank oatsey1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow united kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“great hotel ! , great value ! , great food ! , great staff ! .”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

we arrived on new years eve and were greeted by the manageress with a very warm and friendly welcome , we then were taken to our rooms , ours was the best as it had a fantastic view of the river , which was in full spate ! , the rooms were very basic , but more than made up for it in the price ! . the hotel staff were very obliging and the food was amazing , one very member of staff was most helpful and always greeted us with a smile and a laugh ! , thanks eileen ! . to eat i recommend the fish and chips , fajitas , generous portions and always fresh and hot ! . the breakfast is a wonder in itself ! , so much so that you will be hard pushed to eat at lunch time ! , the Stornoway black pudding and haggis a meal in itself ! . every new year the people of killin go across the bridge to see the fireworks display , a must see event ! , many thanks to the men from paisley for the display , even better than last year ! . things to do in killin . go across the bridge over the falls of dochart in the middle is a small gate , you have to get the keys from the town hall , go down the steps and go straight ahead and you enter the clan mcnab graveyard , only the men are buried here . the falls of dochart are a sight to see ! , with many a foreign voice ! . the hotel is very dog friendly ! , again get my thumbs up for that ! . diese hotel ist sehr deutche freundlich ! , gut zu essen , hund freundlich , und ist sehr interestammt ! , ein seher alte und historichler klein gasthaus , freundlich also fur kinder ! wann sie und ihre famillie reisse zu killin im stirlingshire , geht kein weiter dan dieses hotel . nummer eins ! . my thanks to all the staff once more for making our stay in killin so very very special ! .

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steinerdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“lovely”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

went in weekend before Christmas and had a great meal. staff were great......attentive without being annoying.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
162 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Quiet, Great Food”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We came here a bit after lunch time for our lunch break!
The restaurant situated in a very peaceful place with a beautiful view of the river..
We ordered one dish of Salmon and one dish of plain Pizza.
Both dishes were great and good value for the money we paid for.
The waitress was very kind & helped us for any question (tips for travling the area) we had during our stay here!

Thanks for a great time!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelOGlazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Capercaillie also viewed

 

Been to The Capercaillie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing