We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Loch Tay Highland Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2014

10 of us from the Kent Honda Owners Club stayed in Loch Tay House, while 2 others stayed in one of the Lodges for a 7-day holiday. The house is very spacious and well appointed. The master bedroom is a good size with ensuite incorporating a bath, shower and sauna. Three of the other bedrooms have adequate ensuite facilities and the main bathroom has a lovely jacuzzi bath. The bonus was the utility/boiler/drying room for our wet motorcycling gear. The house has plenty of outside, flat parking making it ideal for our five motorbikes (and space for a car as well). The maintenance chap came out very promptly at 9.00 one evening as the boiler had stopped working and he resolved the problem straight away. Our rating of the property reflects that fact that given the proximity of the house to Loch Tay, it would have been great to see the views; but the view from the balcony was obscured by some huge tall trees. We were told that the trees are going to be cut down, but that didn't happen during our stay. The couple who stayed in the Lodge were quite satisfied with its facilities. The Highland Lodges and the Boathouse Restaurant are a great base for a holiday, but as we only had a few drinks and snacks at the Boathouse, we cannot comment on the food. However, the one thing that we did complain about was the one day 'Legend Whisky Tour'. This was a very disappointing day out for far too much money and did not live up to our expectations.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Pauline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,532)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,348 - 1,354 of 1,532 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stayed for two nights. Were booked to stay in a wigwam however were upgraded to a cabin which was an added bonus. Cabin was a great size, living area, cooking area, shower room and a bedroom with two sets of bunkbeds. A number of things were broken (door handles etc) however felt seeing as we had been upgraded not really an issue. A super location in between Killin and Kenmore. We ate at the Falls of Dochart pub and it was lovely. Took a trip over Ben Lawers and stopped at the Glen Lyon post office/cafe - beautiful setting. Seeing as the park is a drive away from things and they have a restaurant on site it should be perfect however we took a trip down to the Loch side in the hope of a drink and a bite to eat in the most beautiful setting but came across a tierd run down building with equally tierd and run down staff.."the chef is off"..."we have some cake but its a few days old so wouldn't recommend it" was the conversation we had. What a waste of a facility which must be one of major pulling points to such a site. I only live 40 miles away, and sometimes in Scotland we come to expect such attitude but I really wonder what tourists must think of such attitudes. Such a shame. Most of our camping neighbours thought the same and a number had to cook their breakfast on the fire pit for dinner due to having had enjoyed some wine before heading down to the restaurant - we gave one poor couple a lift into killin so they could eat. Hope they realise what an asset they have on site and do something to rectify it as it would make it a 5 star camping experience.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Travelqueenscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

I booked 4 wigwams for my sister's hen party and was pleasantly surprised. The premier wigwams are great with comfortable beds, a nice bathroom and lovely outdoor seating area. The basic wigwams, are exactly that but come with access to a large clean shower block and excellent campers kitchen. Good value and great stay.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank MLL27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed for 2 nites in a standard wigwam with my 8 year old daughter and hd a fantastic time. The accommodation is first class, for Glamping and the addition of the fire pit was fab to allow us to have campfire was a bonus. The toilet block was clean but the fact there was only two sinks did make it a bit busy in morning. Campers kitchen/lounge was fab although we didn't have to make use of it as we preferred to stay close to wigwam and our fab fire. Only let down was the Bistro!!! Although we originally planned to eat there on arrival we decided to eat at wigwam but headed down for a drink to find it was closed!!!!! Lots of disappointed people were hanging about waiting and it would have been a nice social place to meet!!! The team at reception were very helpful and we will definitely be back.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank AnneBury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Went for a weekend with a friend to relax and go for a cycle and stayed in one of the glamping pods. The pods are beautifully done and furnished. The shower block and kitchen are also well done. Remember matches for your fire and lanterns but a pack can be purchased from the office. It rained one of evenings but reading with the fire burning inside and the lanterns on it was still enjoyable. You are advised to take an under sheet for the bed. Take 2 because the beds are 2 singles pushed together and a normal double doesn't fit.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Emma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We rented a wigwam for the night and had a relaxing time. The wigwam was lovely; the views were spectacular and the barbecue was fun. The only thing we weren't impressed with was the service in the bistro. Despite a sign outside claiming food was available we were met with an apathetic member of staff who looked like they'd rather be elsewhere. The cook, we were told, was off and there was no chance of getting a bite to eat- a bit frustrating as you can imagine.
Despite this we did have a great time and the site is recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed in a Premium Wig-Wam for which we could not have been more pleased with! The Wig-Wam made such a great alternative to the average tent as we were warm, dry and comfortable- all night long! Having kitchen and bathroom within the Wig-Wam was also a plus as it added a little more comfort to the entire experience. On top of this, the interior is wonderfully decorated, definitely adding a homey feel to the place.

You can buy wood for the log fires outside your cabins, where you can get a great view of the loch and the surrounding areas. Killin itself was a pleasant little village, however it's better to drive around a little bit to find other places to explore as well!

Amazing place, would definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nwurfbain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killin
3.3 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
445 reviews
8.7 mi away
Achray House Hotel & Lodges
Achray House Hotel & Lodges
#1 of 2 in St. Fillans
643 reviews
22.9 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Balquhidder Braes Scottish Holiday Park
3.1 mi away
Ardlochay Lodge
Ardlochay Lodge
#10 of 14 in Killin
24 reviews
3.1 mi away
Killin Hotel
Killin Hotel
#7 of 14 in Killin
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Tay Highland Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Tay Highland Lodges

Address: Loch Tay Milton Morenish Estate | Milton Morenish Estate, Killin, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Loch Tay > Killin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Killin
Price Range: $53 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Loch Tay Highland Lodges 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp and TripOnline SA so you can book your Loch Tay Highland Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Tay Highland Hotel Killin
Loch Tay Highland Lodges Killin, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing