We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Woodland Cabins & Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Loch Tay Highland Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Recently enjoyed a wonderfully relaxing stay with my girlfriend in Glen Lochay woodland cabin. We were lucky to receive an upgrade as we had booked one of the teepees which while we were there were in the process of being knocked down and replaced with brand new accommodation. The cabin we stayed in was beautiful, clean, well laid out and had everything needed for a short stay away including log burner and bbq facilities. The location was fantastic(limited bus service though!) with plenty outdoor pursuits including canoeing on loch tay which we thoroughly enjoyed. All the staff were friendly and very helpful especially Joe the warden and his wife isobelle who went out of there way and gave us a lift to catch our bus which saved us a 7 mile walk. Thanks again guys! Would definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheHappyCampers_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,521)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,398 - 1,404 of 1,521 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Great lodges, tepees, and views. Staff in The Boathouse were helpful and put up with our Stag frolicks with good humor! Limited cleaning kit in the lodges so get a delivery from the local Asda when you arrive. Few midges outside in early June, but not too bad. Local quad biking and white water rafting with Splash in Aberfeldy was great- thoroughly recommended too. Thinking about returning with the family soon.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mawelby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

With only booking two weeks in advance before a bank holiday weekend - we only had the choice of the yurt or a Belle Tent - (wigwams & Teepee's were all fully booked).
We snapped up the yurt - costing just £80 for the two of us for 2 nights! we had never stayed in a yurt before but believe me this was a super cool experience that I would highly recommend!!!!
Parking was available close enough to the yurt by reception. The yurt could accomodate up to 6 people with 3 double sofa beds in side which quickly can transform to double camp beds. There was a complimentry basket of logs and kindling for your stove in the centre of the yurt, little tables, rugs and stools scattered around - it was so cool!!!! You just need to take your own bedding and food! Slight downside when we visited was we had to use temporary toilet and shower facilities which were about 500 metres away. But they were cleaned frequently and in great condition! It did get quite cold in the yurt over night and you seemed to wake early with the natural light shining through...

There was a campers kitchen which you cook in and even sit and have a warm by the lovely fire!

The site itself was so beautiful with a mixture of cabins, tents, yurts, wigwams and teepee's all set in green woodland areas on a raised hill over looking the stunning Loch Tay! It was a good 10 minute walk to the loch from our yurt but was all down hill. By the loch was a lovely bar and restaurant which served a small variety of meals - we didnt eat here as we BBQ'd both nights! They also arranged full or half day fishing trips where you could take your own boat out on the loch. We did a 4hour (half day) trip at 10am on the saturday, costing £40 for the 2 of us - this was so much fun, even if we didnt catch anything!!!! You have an option to hire fishing rods.

Room Tip: Pick the yurt!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed in a wigwam at the end of May and we were very impressed. The wigwam itself was lovely, very cosy and clean. Having the fridge, TV, microwave and kettle was handy too. The toilet and shower blocks were very clean and warm. The showers had great pressure and not far away from any of the wigwams in the park. The location is also lovely, lots of walks and scenery nearby.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusieLW1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

We come to Lochtay Highland lodges every year and enjoy it more each time, it's now our home from home we stay in Elm Tree Point which is a 3 bedroom lodge and has fantastic views over the Loch. The lodge itself has everything you could want and more , spotlessly clean , the recently upgraded bathrooms are stunning with power showers which are amazing and have added that little extra. The access road has recently been tarred which again is a fantastic addition to the park. Can't wait to come back :-)

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cerob78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We're planning to go camping but previous wet weather rendered that impossible. Luckily managed to get a deal on wigwams £39 for 2 nights. Was v. Pleasantly surprised. Wigwams were lot bigger than I was expecting- compared to a tent! Very warm and comfy beds. We stayed in 'Skye' front line to amazing view over the loch. The location was stunning. Kids had great fun toasting marshmallows on fire pit. The shower block was superbly clean and lots of hot water. On site bar/restaurant bit pricey and customer service was crap. All in all a fab stay. Would def return

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edmondo069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Decided to get away last minute for a night, stayed in a woodland cabin. All staff friendly and helpful, gave us milk to save dashing out to the shops. Beautiful location and setting and will return to one of the bigger lodges with friends later in the year. Only downsides were kettle needed a clean, and the bed had a few collapsed springs! Wood burning fire a treat and views made up for it.Stargazing was awesome too.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sam g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killin
3.3 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
445 reviews
11.4 mi away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
923 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Four Seasons Hotel
The Four Seasons Hotel
#2 of 2 in St. Fillans
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Ben More Lodge Hotel
Ben More Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Crianlarich
265 reviews
9.4 mi away
Balquhidder Braes Scottish Holiday Park
3.1 mi away
Killin Hotel
Killin Hotel
#7 of 14 in Killin
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Tay Highland Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Tay Highland Lodges

Address: Loch Tay Milton Morenish Estate | Milton Morenish Estate, Killin, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Loch Tay > Killin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Killin
Price Range: $54 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Loch Tay Highland Lodges 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp and TripOnline SA so you can book your Loch Tay Highland Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Tay Highland Hotel Killin
Loch Tay Highland Lodges Killin, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing