We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect weekend break!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loch Tay Highland Lodges

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Loch Tay Highland Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect weekend break!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

We stayed in Wigwam Ben Vorlich for 2 nights. Had a great time and the wigwam has everything you need, heater, kettle, microwave & fridge. The flatscreen tv has plenty of freeview channels to watch too if the weather isnt that good or at night time. Very comfortable to sleep at night too. We thought it would be alot colder at night but the wigwam keeps the heat in very well. The firepit is outside the wigwam and is great for campfire or BBQ.

The toilets were in the temporary block but was literally a 10 second walk and we found them clean and plenty of signs up to let u know if toilet roll needs replenished to let them know, but there was always plenty there.

I cannot think of any faults & looking forward to returning!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PinkNeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    641
    359
    111
    35
    28
See reviews for
490
472
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

This was a weekend break 2 adults and 2 children. The cabin was lovely, clean and the wood burning stove made it very cosy and kept it warm. It has 1 bedroom with 2 sets of bunkbeds in it and the living room had a fold down sofa bed. The bathroom was clean and functional. The surroundings and scenery are beautiful. The Co-op supermarket is a short drive away and has most of the supplies for meals etc. On the down side, the sofa bed in the living room was so uncomfortable for sleeping on that we decided to leave a day early. If we had brought single duvets we could have had a bunk bed each but we had brought a double duvet for a double bed. The bunk beds would be great if the adults don't mind sharing a room with the children! We booked the cabin thinking we would have separate accommodation from the children! I advise never relying on a sofa bed for comfort. We hired kayaks and had great fun, the chap who organised us was very helpful and friendly-£12 for the children and £15 for the adults.
You need to remember to bring, matches to light the fire- we didn't have any and there is no shop on site to buy any.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grabthemoment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stayed in the waterfall lodge we loved the views from here and being next to the waterfall
The lodge is really clean has a dishwasher,microwave and a really good electric cooker pans and cutlery
The Co op in Killin is more or less the same as all Co op's on price
If you dont want to cook then the Boat house on the Estate serves really good food
Overall we had a really good time we will be going back here next year
Hope this helps

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paul g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland,UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed in one of the new wigwams for 2 nights with our 7 year old daughter. Stayed previously in one of the older tipis a few years ago. Pleasantly surprised at the size of the wigwam - spotlessly clean, with everything you need as previously mentioned. Temporary shower and toilet facilities still in place, however site staff do their best to keep these clean at all times...just get down early as there was a bit of a queue.
View from the wigwam location was perfect and the weather turned out to be better than expected. Did not eat in the Boathouse on this occassion, however the food was lovely last time around and would recommend. We are looking to book up again for a few days during the October school holidays.
All other wigwams were fully occupied during our stay, mainly by couples and a few families. No rowdy neighbours which was a bonus.
Used the campers kitchen on the first night, however due to the better than expected weather we managed a BBQ outside the wigwam on the second night.
Great walk in Aberfeldy - The Birks of Aberfeldy - up and around a fantastic waterfall.
Cant wait to go back......

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Suzrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

I haven't been camping for several years so it was a bit of a trip down memory land when i pitched up at Loch Tay Highland Lodges and booked into a 'Belle Tent' for a few nights. No complaints about the tent other than it would have made sense to make sure a permanent tent is pitched on a level bit of ground. The slope gets to be a bit of a pain after a while. The tent itself was comfortable with great views across the loch and the mountains beyond. Pretty cold but that's Scottish weather for you!
My real concern was the very limited toilet facilities - one shower for the upper field meant sharing with as many as 20 other people. Not great. Also felt a bit cheated having to pay to use it given the fact it was totally inadequate for the campers. The other issue (and perhaps I'm showing my age here) was the large groups of young people who had been booked in and wanted to live the T in the Park experience in what should be a relaxing family site. I'd strongly recommend the owners review their booking policy and make it clear this isn't the place for a party experience. My ears plugs were wedged so far in I needed a fork to get them out in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fussyduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
l0chtay, Manager at Loch Tay Highland Lodges, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
We would respectfully bring to your attention that there are two shower blocks provided ( total of 5 shower cubicles ) on the upper part of the park both of which are available to tent guests and both are close to the tent field. Their location is shown on the park map which is given to all guests on arrival. We are a family park and advertise as such, we do not intentionally book in groups who we expect to cause a disturbance to other park users and we are sorry that on this particular occasion you experienced this problem on your visit. Our 24 hour park warden service ( contact number recorded on main office number and displayed at reception ) is also on hand for our guests to call should they require assistance. We hope this will not deter you from future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

Having made a spontanious booking for the yurt, we'd never stayed in one so were openminded about what to expect. The yurt was clean and welcoming, with an unlimited supply of logs, kindling & fire lighters (just request more at reception when needed) our 4 nights stay has been VERY pleasant. Stunning views and private location, toilet and shower facilities were just a short distance away and they were also clean although basic.
There was kitchen facilties available which are newly fitted, although there was a distance to walk they were ideal to store fresh food for the many BBQ's we had.
I would recommend anyone who stays there to take lots of blankets and quilts for that extra comfy homely setting, there are scatter cushions but I'd bring your own pillows too. I'd also had the intention to bring some solar powered fairy lights to decorate the inside, i'm sure they'd look stunning. For £20 per head, per night we were very happy with what we got.
Ideal base to explore surrounding areas, lots to see and explore.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TinaWilliams78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights in a Wigwam, it was good value for money, very spacious for a couple and a small dog. Good for those who like the outdoors but also your comforts as the wigwam had electricity, a little flat screen TV, microwave & kettle. There is also an outdoor fire-pit/BBQ provided with each wigwam along with an outdoor picnic bench. I was a little confused about the booking confirmation telling us to bring £1.00 coins for a meter as there was no meter but the electricity worked??!!
The restaurant on site had lovely food and what a beautiful setting and very nice friendly staff.
The only thing that i myself was put off by was that the other wigwams were occupied by groups of boys and girls on stag/hen weekends who were really noisy and stayed up LOUDLY drinking into the wee hours with music on and with no consideration for the rest of the people staying very closely. For us who were there for an active weekend it was a bit of a pain being kept up when we were up early both mornings.
Obviously this was not the parks fault but still let down our stay a little.
However we will be back as we thoroughly enjoyed our stay as it is in such a beautiful part of the country...... we will probably opt to stay in a lodge next time though and hope we wont be as disturbed by others.

Room Tip: wigwams good value but a bit noisy.... if looking for quiet maybe upgrade to a lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Badgersmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killin
3.3 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
17.0 mi away
Moness Resort
Moness Resort
#1 of 4 in Aberfeldy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,141 reviews
22.9 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Balquhidder Braes Scottish Holiday Park
11.5 mi away
Mains of Taymouth Cottages
11.3 mi away
The Kenmore Club
The Kenmore Club
#1 of 2 in Kenmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Tay Highland Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Tay Highland Lodges

Property: Loch Tay Highland Lodges
Address: Milton Morenish Estate | Milton Morenish Estate, Killin, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Loch Tay > Killin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Killin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Loch Tay Highland Lodges 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, PitchUp and LateRooms so you can book your Loch Tay Highland Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Tay Highland Hotel Killin
Loch Tay Highland Lodges Killin, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing