We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - great food”
Review of The Old Smiddy

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Killin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Smiddy
Ranked #8 of 14 Killin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lede, Belgium
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location - great food”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Stayed here in September with my husband, his brother and his girlfriend. Our rooms overlooked the falls and the dwelling water just put us to sleep the evening.

Be sure to book a table in advance, because lots of people eat there. That's no coincidence, because the food is just perfect! Youre stuffed afterwards!

Friendly hosts and in the morning we had a great breakfast. We all went for the continental breakfast, since it was our last morning in Scotland and we got tired of cooked breakfast after 10 days. I specificly loved the fresh fruit salad!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FemkeVD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    22
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
33
52
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Comrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

What a stunning building steeped in history and character in the most amazing settings. The staff are all amazing and really take the time to get to know you and serve you well. The food is consistently excellent (I go at least every fortnight now!) and the fish tea is possibly THE best I have ever tasted. Topped off with tablet ice-cream and a wander around the falls, it is a little piece of tranquility and soup for the soul every time I visit.

Room Tip: Speak to the staff, they are more than willing to get you a room that best meets your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gronald1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from another fantastic stay. Loved it clean, nice views, lovely friendly staff and delicious breakfast. They have a fabulous little restaurant for dinner. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dancerSotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Ourselves and friends visited for a meal on saturday 12/10 and despite having to delay our booking after being delayed on a mountain bike trip nothing was too much trouble . Absolutely fantastic service, food was fabulous and very reasonable for the quality. Have never felt so welcome in a restaurant, would return in a second.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheFrasers2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed 2 nights whilst hill walking. Room clean, spacious and comfortable enough - and conveniently located in village. Lulled to sleep by the sound of the Dochart falls rushing by the window. Hosts welcoming and helpful - and small restaurant convenient for dinner - although last orders at 7-45. Good food in pub opposite as well - and later orders taken.
Breakfast good - but you do have to pay extra if you want both cereal and a traditional Scottish fry up. Surprised that the room was not serviced before the second night - had to ask for more milk etc for tea ( very forthcoming when asked for) . Useful drying room for wet clothes.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobba1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Having been here twice, I can't think of anywhere better to escape to if you want somewhere within 1.5hours of glasgow. Different pace of life altogether!
The B&B itself is charming, run by a great family. We stayed in the Ruby room and this time round the Paris room. Clean, comfortable and relaxing! The restaurant is very good as well.
The area itself is ideal if you want to go for a walk and unwind- Glen Lyon and the munros around Ben Lawers are a great day out!

Room Tip: Ruby room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ksjfhhgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Our journey to Killen, by Dochart Falls in Scotland was a wonderful surprise, due to the culinary talents and warm personalities of Old Smiddy owners Lynn and Michael. The hot, smoked salmon salad ordered for dinner was so delicious that we ordered it as a takeaway the next day. The takeaway was packaged and timely complete with a picnic basket and blanket packed for a romantic lunch by Inverlochy castle. Other menu delights included the fish and chips, tapas and steak pie. Be sure to get there early to reserve a dinner spot and stay the night for a wonderful evening at their B and B with a view of the Falls before heading up to the Highlands. The Old Smiddy was a delightful find that is well worth going back to again and again for both the hospitality and the delicious fare.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the falls!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killin
6.2 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
395 reviews
0.2 mi away
Killin Hotel
Killin Hotel
#7 of 14 in Killin
963 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Courie Inn
The Courie Inn
#2 of 14 in Killin
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Coach House Hotel
Coach House Hotel
#10 of 14 in Killin
158 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Old Bank
The Old Bank
#5 of 14 in Killin
131 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dall Lodge Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Smiddy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Smiddy

Property: The Old Smiddy
Address: The Smiddy Main Street, Killin, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK21 8XE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Loch Tay > Killin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Killin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Old Smiddy Killin, Scotland - Loch Tay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing