We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful surprise at the Old Smiddy”
Review of The Old Smiddy

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Killin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Smiddy
Ranked #8 of 14 Killin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Our journey to Killen, by Dochart Falls in Scotland was a wonderful surprise, due to the culinary talents and warm personalities of Old Smiddy owners Lynn and Michael. The hot, smoked salmon salad ordered for dinner was so delicious that we ordered it as a takeaway the next day. The takeaway was packaged and timely complete with a picnic basket and blanket packed for a romantic lunch by Inverlochy castle. Other menu delights included the fish and chips, tapas and steak pie. Be sure to get there early to reserve a dinner spot and stay the night for a wonderful evening at their B and B with a view of the Falls before heading up to the Highlands. The Old Smiddy was a delightful find that is well worth going back to again and again for both the hospitality and the delicious fare.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the falls!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 121 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for my husband's birthday in early August; our third visit to Killin. The village is beautiful ( though you are a bit stuck for things to do if it's raining and you've already visited the museum as we had first time round) and the surrounding countryside pretty amazing. The meal we had was delicious. We shared the tapas and then I had fish and chips. As it was my Hubbie's birthday he went for pizza and chips AND sticky toffee pudding so it was no wonder he declared himself stuffed afterwards. Breakfast too was a hearty portion. Thoroughly recommended; especially the fish and chips.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed one night as part of a walking holiday. Cheerful and friendly welcome. Rooms small but cosy and imaginatively decorated. Ate in at the bistro and had a really enjoyable meal and evening. Good pint at the Falls of Dochart Inn - ideal for a pre-prandial.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ferroequine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed for one night, only wish it had been more. This is a lovely village and a lovely little Inn . We stayed in the Ruby room which overlooks the falls and positively enhanced the whole stay. Excellent food and service and I would not hesitate in recommending The Old Smiddy to friends and family. Very good value and service.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

After a lot of googling, and reviewing other accommodation, we decided to stay at the Old Smiddy and we were not disappointed. We were in the ruby room which faced onto the Falls of Dochart..Not the biggest room we have slept in but did the job perfect. We booked to eat in the Bistro the first night.. Food and service was amazing. So we ate there all 3 nights. The fish and chips were out of this world. Breakfast was cooked to order and was excellent. Lynn was the perfect hostess. We are already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovesholidays18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

The Falls of Dochart pass the front door but no 'lulled to sleep by the sounds of the waterfall' for us – we were in the 'Paris' room round the back. In keeping with the French theme it is 'bijou' but manages to squeeze in an 'ensuite' shower-room. However, the room was quiet, clean and comfortable and we slept well.
Breakfast was either / or - either cereal or fry-up. Or, for extra, you can have both! - which, since I was on my hols, I did and it was v.nice.
We weren't in the house much - the scenery and the history around Loch Tay is incredible and so was the weekend weather – but the owners were friendly, chatty and helpful with directions.
All in all, a pleasant weekend and I would recommend this place.

Room Tip: The view out the back isn't great but it's quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank How-did-I-get-here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stopped here 3 times now. Killin is a wonderful peaceful place to stay and the Old Smiddy must be the jewel in the crown. The rooms though small are immaculately presented. The food in the restaurant is superb and great value for money. Above all, the welcome and service are amazing. Nothing is too much trouble, and when we had a minor problem Michael sorted it out for us, going above and beyond our expectations.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the main road have a great view of the falls, and the sound of the water is extreme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killin
6.2 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
439 reviews
0.2 mi away
Killin Hotel
Killin Hotel
#7 of 14 in Killin
1,014 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Courie Inn
The Courie Inn
#2 of 14 in Killin
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Old Bank
The Old Bank
#5 of 14 in Killin
149 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coach House Hotel
Coach House Hotel
#9 of 14 in Killin
167 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ardlochay Lodge
Ardlochay Lodge
#10 of 14 in Killin
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Smiddy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Smiddy

Address: The Smiddy Main Street, Killin, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK21 8XE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Loch Tay > Killin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Killin
Price Range: $97 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Old Smiddy Killin, Scotland - Loch Tay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing