We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and cosy establishment”
Review of The Old Smiddy

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Killin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Smiddy
Ranked #8 of 14 Killin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2012

The room was decorated to a high standard and was very homely.
Given the inclement and cold weather outside, the room was very cosy, despite the building's age.

The hosts were attentive and friendly and provided a tasty breakfast.

I would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graham K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
There are newer reviews for The Old Smiddy
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 122 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2012

Michael Crow is the perfect host - from the moment we walked in to the Old Smiddy there was a friendly welcome. The room was very comfortable, the food and drink were excellent, and the staff went way beyond the call of duty to make our stay perfect. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank squarecompass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Fantastic Service, lovely accommodation, very reasonably priced. Will definitely return and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

This is by far the the best Bed & Breakfast / Bistro, it has excellent accommodation with great food and even better service. If you fancy a week, weekend or even just 1 night, you won't be disappointed with the Old Smiddy. Did I mention that the food is totally amazing?

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great, fantastic nights' sleep to be had in all of them, keep going back as...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We were staying in self catering close to Killin and decided to have a night off cooking and go out for meal. We did not have good memories of eating out in Killin, indifferent food that was quite expensive. However that was a few years ago and after reading the Tripadvisor reviews we decided to give the Old Smiddy a try, we are so pleased we did.

We decided to go on a Thursday night at 6.30pm thinking it wouldn't be busy, we were surprised to find that the restaurant was full, but the staff did say a table would be free in half an hour. We asked them to reserve the table and walked across the bridge for a drink at the Falls of Dochart Inn. When we arrived back at the Old Smiddy our table was ready.

We both had Fish, Chips and Peas and they were excellent, served with decent tartare sauce.
The owner was very friendly and although very busy had time to chat to the customers.

The restaurant was very popular and they couldn't fit everyone in, so it is probably a good idea to book

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Dennis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We had a fabulous meal at The Old Smiddy, service was great and all staff very friendly. Homemade meatballs and spagetti were delicious!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Tereasa_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We were lucky enough to be squeezed into an already busy Old Smiddy restaurant on Saturday night. We each choose fish and chips and all five agreed it was the best we ever had. This and the beautiful Falls of Dochart only across the bridge makes Killin a sooner the better must return to village.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank kennymoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killin
6.2 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
433 reviews
16.2 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
426 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Courie Inn
The Courie Inn
#2 of 14 in Killin
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Killin Hotel
Killin Hotel
#7 of 14 in Killin
1,007 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coach House Hotel
Coach House Hotel
#9 of 14 in Killin
164 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ardlochay Lodge
Ardlochay Lodge
#10 of 14 in Killin
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Smiddy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Smiddy

Address: The Smiddy Main Street, Killin, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK21 8XE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Loch Tay > Killin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Killin
Price Range: $95 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Old Smiddy Killin, Scotland - Loch Tay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing