We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Smiddy
Nearby Hotels
$120
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Capercaillie(Killin)
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Old Bank(Killin)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pitchup.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Killin Hotel(Killin)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveler rating
96
22
1
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
22
1
1
1
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 121 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2012

This is by far the the best Bed & Breakfast / Bistro, it has excellent accommodation with great food and even better service. If you fancy a week, weekend or even just 1 night, you won't be disappointed with the Old Smiddy. Did I mention that the food is totally amazing?

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great, fantastic nights' sleep to be had in all of them, keep going back as the experience has been wonderful.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We were staying in self catering close to Killin and decided to have a night off cooking and go out for meal. We did not have good memories of eating out in Killin, indifferent food that was quite expensive. However that was a few years ago and after reading the Tripadvisor reviews we decided to give the Old Smiddy a try, we are so pleased we did.

We decided to go on a Thursday night at 6.30pm thinking it wouldn't be busy, we were surprised to find that the restaurant was full, but the staff did say a table would be free in half an hour. We asked them to reserve the table and walked across the bridge for a drink at the Falls of Dochart Inn. When we arrived back at the Old Smiddy our table was ready.

We both had Fish, Chips and Peas and they were excellent, served with decent tartare sauce.
The owner was very friendly and although very busy had time to chat to the customers.

The restaurant was very popular and they couldn't fit everyone in, so it is probably a good idea to book

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Dennis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We had a fabulous meal at The Old Smiddy, service was great and all staff very friendly. Homemade meatballs and spagetti were delicious!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Tereasa_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We were lucky enough to be squeezed into an already busy Old Smiddy restaurant on Saturday night. We each choose fish and chips and all five agreed it was the best we ever had. This and the beautiful Falls of Dochart only across the bridge makes Killin a sooner the better must return to village.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank kennymoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Lynn & Michael absolutely surpassed themselves as hosts when we booked in for one night B&B (Den room = lovely & cosy! fab views, great beds/en-suite/very clean/well stocked etc) - we checked in early as were due to head up the cover 7 of the local munroes as part of a reccie for an adventure race we arre doing in a few weeks & they kindly let us store our bikes in their private dining room & we gave them our route card & numbers & headed off stating we'd be back by 8pm latest - Michael said he would keep us some dinner as last orders were at 8pm. 10pm we arrived back after horrific weather in the hills, absolutely beyond drenched & exhausted & slight hypothermia was starting to set in...Lynn & Michael were almost finished tidying up and about to retire to bed (although had been phoning madly and were getting worried about us!) - but instead Michael put the fryers back on & made us a dinner of chips & quiche and put aside some beers for us as Lynn helped us by taking all our sodden wet clothes/boots & putting them away in the drying room before returning to wrap me up in a cosy blanket as we at dinner & desperately tried to warm up. To say I was seriously touched is an understatement at just how friendly and caring these people are!! Absolute gems! The room and shower were lovely and warm & a full cooked breakfast awaited within about 2 mins of being sat down at breakfast the next day. Honestly the best wee B&B with a heart of gold Ive ever stayed in! Cant recommend it enough & will be back to try some of the real infamous menu in the near future! Perfectly beautiful setting with stunning views over the falls in a wonderful area with so much to offer the outdoor enthusiast or just someone who appreciates the beauty scotland has to offer! Thankyou guys - you were a shining light after a very dark day!!

Suzanne (& Jon)

Room Tip: Stayed in the Den which is a family room - good sized double & a single bed - nice & quiet & cozy - with TV/coffee/tea facilities & nice wee ensuite with shower/toilet/sink - very peacful B&B with just 3 rooms.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews