We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Smiddy
Nearby Hotels
Clachan Cottage Hotel(Lochearnhead)(Great Value!)
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ardeonaig Hotel(Ardeonaig)
$108
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Achray House Hotel(St. Fillans)
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monachyle Mhor(Balquhidder)
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel(Crianlarich)(Great Value!)
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Fortingall Hotel(Fortingall)
$135
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$200
$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comrie Hotel(Comrie)
$107
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Kenmore Club by Diamond Resorts(Kenmore)(Great Value!)
$167
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveler rating
96
22
1
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
22
1
1
1
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
104 - 109 of 121 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2011

The takeaway food is excellent, fantastic hospitality very friendly & helpful, highly recommend

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FreeSpirt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

I booked this B&B as a base to show my partner around Scotland. The Ruby room was lovely; with a comfortable bed and we could even hear the faint sound of the waterfall from the nearby river! We had a fantastic nights sleep and were treated to an amazing cooked breakfast the next day. Michael and his family made our stay one to remember and the service was first rate, welcoming and friendly. If you want to get away from it all, Killin is so quiet at night and the area has amazing scenery making it a real gem if you want to relax for a few days.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trembler111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2011

I stayed at the Old Smiddy with my mum earlier this April. B&Bs in the UK at this price level can feel old and tired - and service is often disappointing. Not here. Michael the owner is super helpful and looks after his guests in a very personable manner (we got upgraded for free!) The rooms are fresh, and the views of the river superb. We opted for continental breakfast, which mentioned fruit. Whereas most places would have served tinned fruit or a predictable banana, Michael had a beautiful bowl of fresh fruit salad waiting for us every morning - with berries, kiwis, watermelon, the lot. Yummy. It's a great base to explore Loch Tay from. I will definitely go back next time I have friends visiting me in Scotland.

Room Tip: Pick The Den room; have a chat with Michael.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claudia186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2011

We were pleased to land in the Old Smiddy after a long day's hillwalking. The shower was hot and powerful, the room was cosy with a great view of the river and Michael was friendly and helpful. It also helped that we only had to walk downstairs for a lovely supper rather than trawl the local hostelries. The one thing I would suggest they do is make it clearer from the outside that it's a B&B as well as a cafe for the passing trade.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stoneywifie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2011

Been here to do some highland walking with my wife. Michael Crow and his crew were very helpful and friendly. And what a spot! You can see the Falls of Dochart out of your window (we slept in the Den). Only thing is that the bed is not for tall people like I am (being almost 2 m), and that the towles could use replacement after 3 days use. But very recommendable anyhow

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hans83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews