We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit pricey but good food.”
Review of The Bistro

The Bistro
Ranked #11 of 16 Restaurants in Killin
Price range: $5 - $21
Cuisines: Scottish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Bistro Loch Tay is now under new management Jason and Kaley are looking forward to the season ahead to welcome you to the bistro for either a simple coffee or a well prepared meal we look forward to seeing you in the near future
scotland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A bit pricey but good food.”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We paid £60 for 2 adults and 1 child for a 2 course meal, which some might think wasn't bad but for what we got I though it was a bit pricey. Food was good but not worth £60.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandJinty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    30
    9
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
lisburn
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Poor waitress and menu”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We have been before and given positive reviews but unfortunately not this time. The waitress was grumpy and nearing rude. The menu was very poor for a Sunday and only offered basic lunch options. We were a large table and happy to spend money as befor but had to settle with burgers and fried fish. This could be easily fixed for the future. Fingers crossed as the setting and cottages are superb.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hammy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Made to feel unwelcome.”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

My Niece and her Friends were staying in the area to celebrate her 18th birthday and had a fantastic time and would like to return to Killin. After looking about the area they decided to have lunch at the Boathouse on Sunday 29th April but found that the staff were unfriendly and one in particular was very rude. They were made to feel very unwelcome and the member of staff even commented on their choice of seating. Although the premises was almost empty the member of staff was not happy that their party of six sat at a table for eight. One of her Friends tried to help by clearing and gathering the plates etc and was told by the same member of staff "I only have two hands". I know that everyone can have an off day but there is no excuse for rudeness and feel very upset that they were treated in this way especially on such a special birthday.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank colonsay186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent food with a great atmosphere”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We would thoroughly recommend the Boathouse. Great food, lovely atmosphere and very friendly staff. Nice choice of freshly made food with also a great choice for kids.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caitkirs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good food.”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

I have just spent a short break with my family at these lodges. The 3 bedroom lodge was very good, nice furnishings,clean and tidy,fantastic views from the large decking. The stroll down to the marina was nice and it was there we found the Boatyard restaurant and bar. This is a first class eating place with a wonderful menu. Fresh food was served up by Lora the manageress and made by a fantastic Chef called David,and his staff. I would certainly recommend this restaurant as the staff make you feel right at home, thank you all.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dundeeunited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bistro also viewed

 

Been to The Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing