We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real treasure!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coach House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Coach House Hotel
Ranked #10 of 14 Killin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ryton
1 review
“A real treasure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed overnight en route to visit our son and his wife in the Highlands. Friendly staff, the best beef casserole (bar meal) that I've had in years, superb wine list, clean and comfortable room, (& booking late we were in the non-en suite room - it was still excellent and thoughtfully appointed). A hard working family business, delivering on all fronts. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceinwen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    45
    13
    6
    5
See reviews for
19
92
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peebles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Stayed one night .Very friendly owners and the room is spotlessly clean. Good quality pub grub in bar together with local beer and guest ales. Plenty of activites close at hand. Recommeded good value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank watrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Spent a week touring Mull, Oban etc and this was the best stop of the trip. Room was perfect, decorated to a high standard, great facilities. Great attention to detail and cleanliness. Breakfast was very well done - lovely dining room, well stocked with good menu choices and attentive service. Bar was traditional and comfy - food was all home cooked and delicious. Family run business with a friendly family feel to it. Pet friendly too. Staff were all very welcoming and helpful. Would happily stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

I stayed there for one night on the way to far north. The owners were very friendly and gave us good tips for next day. From the very beginning you will feel at home! In the evening we had fantastic evening in the bar, tasting some whiskey, playing with a cute dog. Room was simple but tidy and comfortable and super clean. Very good beds. Breakfast room is beautiful! Breakfast is good. You have a choice. Black pudding very tasty! Well done!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xandrator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

We were staying in Killin and thought we'd try the Coach House for lunch.

On our arrival in the lounge we received a warm welcome from the owner and his wife. The menu was decent with the usual fare you would expect from a family ran bar/hotel. We both went for the steak pie which had lovely succulent pieces of beef.

The owners have a nice friendly dog and a parrot, who comes into the bar during the day. We felt very comfortable despite the place being very quiet. There was live music that evening but we stayed in the hotel that we were staying in.

The Coach House has rooms, that look very nice, and we would consider staying there on our next visit due to the warm welcome.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambuslang, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Great room (Lochay), good facilities, very clean, very reasonably priced bar, good breakfast, friendly staff. Couldn't fault this hotel! We were there for one night, breaking up a drive from Glasgow to Fort William. Would definitely recommend!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ragazzo160971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

I stayed one night prior to driving to Edinburgh the following day. I had a twin-share room for a single person walk-in rate of GBP44, including breakfast.

What’s good: This was my 54th hotel stay on an extended trip. The room was basic, nothing fancy but clean and had free wi-fi. Parking next to the hotel (at the pub entrance). A bar serving meals is also onsite. Hosts were friendly, helpful and attentive. Credit cards accepted for accommodation. It's probably also a good base to explore Loch Lomond from.

My room (#105?) was on the top (third floor) with quite a few steps up to the room. There’s no lift so may not be suitable for those with mobility difficulties. Tea/coffee making facilities in the room.

Minor issues: The low slope on the ceiling over the beds meant I had to be careful not to bump my head.

Nearby: Killen is one of the very few places I’ve encountered on my Highlands drive, that has a coin-operated laudrymat in town, so I was able to do some much needed washing (driers swallowed my coins though). The ‘Dollar’ shop across the road from the laundromat sells washing powder (get in before they close). There’s also a small grocery store on the main street (Food Co-op), around 20 minutes walk from the Hotel, and a bank with an ATM. Killen also has a pub overlooking the Falls of Dochart (they’re steeped and more like rapids), and the small Breadalbane Folk Lore museum is opposite the pub.

For something unusual/different: Check out the tiny wooden figures above the newsagent on the main street in town.

Would probably stay again, although there is a large selection of B&Bs and a hotel in town.

Room Tip: Try a room on a lower floor to avoid the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boriski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killin
16.6 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.3 mi away
Killin Hotel
Killin Hotel
#5 of 14 in Killin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ardlochay Lodge
Ardlochay Lodge
#9 of 14 in Killin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Courie Inn
The Courie Inn
#2 of 14 in Killin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dall Lodge Country House
0.4 mi away
Bridge Of Lochay Hotel
Bridge Of Lochay Hotel
#3 of 14 in Killin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coach House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coach House Hotel

Property: Coach House Hotel
Address: Lochay Rd, Killin, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK21 8TN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Loch Tay > Killin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Killin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coach House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Coach House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coach House Hotel Killin, Scotland - Loch Tay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing