We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very stylish and comfortable Hotel with a warm welcome”
Review of Inversnaid Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Inversnaid
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inversnaid Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Inversnaid
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very stylish and comfortable Hotel with a warm welcome”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed here whilst walking the West Highland Way. having seen previous poor and terrible reviews from other walkers i was slightly on guard and only stayed here as it was our only option as we we slightly out of season. I have to say I was nothing other than pleasantly suprised from the moment we walked in. the reception was warm informative and nothing was a problem, he even offered to help us with our packs to the room. The room was clean, well equiped and comfortable, the only let down was the shower which seemed to have 2 settings, Nuclear inferno or artic breeze but after a good 30mins of fiddling with it we eventualy got it to bearably boiling ( im sure if we had informed reception they would have done somthing about it, but cant drop to many points as we didnt ) . The food was basic but good, we had the same as the coach parties that were staying and couldnt fault it ( the homemade lentil pate was great ). They had an entertainer in the bar whom was talented and funny which was arranged clearly for the coach parties but they had no problem with us joining in. Cooked Breakfast portions were small but well cooked, im sure they were geared for the main client base which is understandable, however it was fine for me as i was walking 14 miles that day and didnt want to overfill.to sum up i was pleastently suprised given the hotels bad reviews from fellow walkers and i will stay or eat here again

Room Tip: Loch view rooms are great, we didnt ask for one but got one anyway, the views are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank graham a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    163
    46
    25
    35
See reviews for
74
276
41
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We arrived at the hotel in the evening & were greeted with a warm welcome, our cases were
brought to our room within 15mins. The room was very small for a twin room, the bathroom was
very modern & well lit.
The only down side was the tv which had loose controls which we had to keep adjusting to make
sure it worked.
The staff were very polite & helpful, the meals seemed small but with 3 courses at breakfast &
evening meals I was never hungry
The hotel it situated on the banks of Loch Lomond & the scenery is out of the world, we crossed the loch by boat to & from the hotel each day which added to the fun.
Yes we will be going again & would like to try all the Lochs & Glens Hotels

Room Tip: Front of hotel have rooms overlooking Loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pauline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed at this Lochs & Glens hotel in 2012 and visited again this year by boat after a trip on Loch Lomond.The staf were very welcoming and it was great to visit again.I took more views and video of the wonderful waterfall alongside the hotel.I will definately visit again one year.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Lochs and Glens own their own hotels in Scotland ,and frequently run coach trips from various parts of the country to each of them.
Inversnaid is one of them and situated on Loch Lomond. The hotel sits at the bottom of the only road down to it,and the coach takes approx 45 minutes to travel the 16 miles from Aberfoyle down the single track road. They have their own small boat that transports guests across the loch(taking just 10 minutes) to the waiting coaches in readiness for the days excursion.
Inversnaid is a large hotel with rooms on 3 levels. It has a spacious dining area capable of seating three coach parties in one sitting. Rooms vary in size,but ours was spacious,with a doubkle bed, en suite ,TV (few channels) and a glorious view overlooking the Loch.
Food was of excellent quality (choice of starter,main course and sweet). Tea/Cofee served afterwards where you can relax in a choice of seating areas including a function room where entertainment was nightly. Entertainment was not really to our taste on two nights,but we found a quite room where there was a fair choice of board games to play.
Overall,it was excellent value for money and the days out included the opportunity to visit Glasgow,Stirling Callendar and the trossachs. The destination of the trips vary throughout the year and are included in the price.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the loch or waterfall for great views. There is a small lift for the first and second f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Location is excellent for walks and views but the access road is something else.
Food basic but wholesome and a reasonable choice, you won't go hungary. Service first class, pleasant staff and always there. Bar prices a welcome surprise. Obviously geared for booked coach parties, the B&B price would not be a bargain

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freddyxxMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Not our first visit to the Inversnaid, but our first time as a large group of friends. We’ve been on Lochs & Glens Winter Warmers cheap out-of-season breaks for the last 4 years now, with each time our group getting bigger until this January when we took over the whole coach. There had been heavy snow blocking the M6 overnight, but this had been cleared by the time our warm and comfortable coach made its way north on Saturday, with just some snow left on the hard shoulder and on the central reservation. Anyone who has stayed at the Inversnaid will know that the way in to the hotel is via a 15 mile single-track road from Aberfoyle. The normal procedure is to go in via the road on the first day to unload passengers and luggage, and out via the Inversnaid Motorway again the next morning, and from then on the coach will park up on the other side of Loch Lomond at Inveruglas, for the ferry across the Loch back to the hotel. At Moffat, our driver Ross Henry announced that we would be going in by road with a 4x4 escort from the hotel. The road had been cleared, but the passing places and edges were still snowbound, making the ditches and walls on either side of the coach invisible. This was a nerve-wracking winding bumpy journey for those unfamiliar with the road, with the addition of overhead branches dragging along the coach in the dark but Lochs & Glens drivers are all well-used to this and we arrived safely. A round of applause for Ross and in no time at all we were in our rooms while our luggage was delivered swiftly by staff.

The Inversnaid dates from 1820 and is full of charm and character. The rooms are all very different and I heard of no complaints from our party. Each room was warm and comfortable, neat and clean, with tea/coffee, small TV, hairdryer and fluffy towels. Our room had a large wardrobe, 2 sets of drawers and some comfy chairs. There are lovely open fireplaces on either side of reception, a bar, entertainment room, and a smaller quiet lounge or games room. There is free wi-fi, but only near the reception desk. Extra toast was on offer at breakfast time and the evening meals were lovely with plenty of veg. My husband is a Coeliac which means he can’t eat wheat, barley or rye. The menus here aren’t marked with gluten-free options, and while some staff were able to tell him instantly what options were safe for him to eat, others checked with the kitchen before reporting back.

I can’t praise the friendly and helpful staff enough. While we were there, one of our party received some upsetting news and did not feel up to coming down for breakfast or out on the coach that day. Manager Jackie Martin made sure some coffee and breakfast was taken up to her room. Thanks also to the man who got her a stiff drink from the bar the previous evening when the news arrived. I don’t know if he was staff or another guest. After dinner Ashley had us all in fits in the function room – if you get the chance to see him do his regular handstand while wearing his kilt, make sure you’ve got your camera ready, or better still, a camcorder. The daily quiz is a bit of fun, some people take it too seriously, get over it.

The weather turned from snow to rain and strong winds, and after our first few trips across the loch on the ferry we had to revert to taking the coach back in and out on the road, as it was too rough to get safely on and off the ferry.

Coach trips may not be to everyone’s taste, and they can seem a bit regimented (breakfast at 8.00 on coach at 9.00), but for excellent service and value for money, you can’t get better than Lochs and Glens.

Room Tip: If you go into Glasgow, visit the City Chambers (Council ofices) on George Square. Free guided tour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DEPBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Just reurned yesterday from 6 days at the Inversnaid Hotel and our 16th trip with Lochs and Glens. These holidays are such good value for money, yes, its about 12 hours on a coach, but we have nt found the journey too bad. There are about 3 stops on the way,coaches are comfortable and if you take books to read or music to listen to, it soon goes. The drivers are all very helpful, keeping everyone well informed of whats happening, trips etc. We have found the staff to be so helpful and nothing is too much trouble.On arriving at and leaving Inversnaid, we had to use the boat as the road was too icey for the coach, which meant all our luggage had to be taken by boat as well. The staff worked hard to bring our luggage and then when it was in the hotel, they brought it up to our rooms, all done efficiently.
We had a room overlooking the Loch,small but everything you need. The rooms are a little tired,but it is an old Hotel,with character and again such good value for money. The food is good with something for everyone and the service is excellant. We have been to the Edinburgh Tattoo 3 times with this company and I don t think anyone else could do it better! We did go once with someone else, as Lochs and Glens fully booked. Did nt take us long to think we wished we had nt bothered. As we were walking out of the Tattoo, the Lochs and Glens coaches were already pulling away! Thats where their drivers experience showed, they know how to park in the right place! All said,if you have never been to Scotland, this is probably the best Company to travel with. Having stayed at all their Hotels,except the brand new one at Loch Long, we can say they are all run along the same lines, so you know what to expect. Can recommend going in winter as the scenery is just beautiful, but I would return at any time!

Room Tip: Ask for a lower ground room if not good with stairs. Lift does not easily give access to all areas f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Juliec1782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inversnaid
3.5 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
455 reviews
8.7 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
9.8 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,141 reviews
10.0 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
16.2 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inversnaid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inversnaid Hotel

Property: Inversnaid Hotel
Address: Inversnaid, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3TU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Inversnaid
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Inversnaid
Number of rooms: 115
Also Known As:
Inversnaid Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing