We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Inversnaid Bunkhouse”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inversnaid Bunkhouse
Ranked #1 of 2 Inversnaid B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I had an absolutely fantastic stay in the bunk house. the staff are ace, good food and an utterly unhealthy selection of beers wines and whiskeys which me and my walking partner decided to explore extensively. I would thoroughly recommend staying here as it is a really cool place to stop and recover before continuing the epic pub crawl that is the WHW. We intended to stay a night and ended up staying 3. Well worth a visit. A big thank you to the staff and will definetly be stopping in again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (344)
There are newer reviews for Inversnaid Bunkhouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 344 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

Can't comment on the accommodation as we just grabbed a meal in the bistro but the staff were all very friendly and the food was good. Good vegetarian options as well.

All in all one to be recommended if you are in the area and fancy some relaxed fodder!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snobbyrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

This is a really lovely bistro, excellent value for money and really lovely food. We didn't stay in the bunkhouse itself but would not hesitate in the future. Has free wifi, great location, good selection of drinks. All in all very good

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michchar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

a welcome stop after a long, hard day. Rooms & facilities as you'd expect from a bunkhouse. The staff were very friendly (especially Johnny), nothing was too much bother for him, great to sample genuine Scottish hospitality.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonW2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

The Inversnaid bunkhouse has poster advertising along much of the West Highland way which claims that they will collect you from the way and return you there in the morning. They do not. I phoned to book in and was told nobody was available to collect me. They said it was only a mile to walk. It may be only a mile but it is a mile up the steepest hill I have ever seen. Not what you want when you have just completed one of the most arduous sections of the walk. Despite the fact that there were around ten walkers in the bunkhouse, the owners did not bother to turn up and return us to the way in the morning. There was a driver there, but he made some excuses about insurance and disappeared off in his car. This guy had a seriously bad ' cant do and cant be bothered attitude'. There are no cooking facilities in the bunkhose ( I had to set up my stove in the dormitory to cook my meal. There is catering upstairs if you are prepared to pay, but its just a guy chucking packets of pasta out. The same ignorant staff member left music playing in the cafe area all night which echoed throughout the building, preventing anyone from getting any sleep. The baggage transfer services do not always call here, and indeed the same young guy refused to take my bag onwards up the way ( Despite the fact that he was already doing this for another walker. ) Dont be fooled by the posters and pretty leaflet, This place is owned by people who couldn't care less about you.

Room Tip: There are a couple of tent pitches further on up the way ( about 100m ) They are serviced free by th...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank alexcealex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InversnaidBunkhouse, Owner at Inversnaid Bunkhouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

Hi,

Whilst I accept that you were very annoyed by the lack of our free taxi service on that night it does not give you the right to be abusive and act in a threatening manner to my staff. Your review is a nonsense as you had clearly stated your desire to seek revenge before leaving. You did not use our restaurant facilities and yet have stated how poor they were. We provide a taxi service to and from the West Highland Way (less than 1km - a 15 minute walk) at great expense for such a small business including buying a new vehicle this year and the appropriate business class of insurance. We cannot insure anyone under the age of 24. The member of staff you were trying to pressure into driving you would have been uninsured and even after this was explained to you, you insisted that he break the law. Were are not responsible for the baggage service so I don't know why you are reviewing us for it.

Our marketing material is very clear that we cannot guarantee the taxi service although it is available 95% of the time. We have even employed an extra member of staff to facilitate this.

This review is obviously an act of revenge and aims to damage our business but I suppose it's only peoples jobs at stake. I hope you are proud!

Dave Lang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We arrived at the inversnaid Hotel after a long wet days walking to discover the bunkhouse was located up a steep hill, however we were soon offered a lift up to the bunkhouse by the staff which was a big relief for the feet!! also given some good help and advise re baggage transfers for the rest of the walk.
The quad room was exceptionally small and made getting showered changed and ready for the next day interesting !! however they were clean and functional
The service was excellent the staff very welcoming and friendly, the food was very good and reasonably priced.
We ordered pack lunches for the day after they were tasty and well worth the money as was the breakfast that set us up well for the days walking.
We were given a lift back down the hill to restart the walk
Not a palace but definitely an acceptable stop over on the WHY

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
Thank debra k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We called from their sign on the West Highland Way to see if they had a tent pitch available for the night. They did. So they drove down the big hill and picked us up from the Inversnaid Hotel. We were not the only guests, but we were the only tent. The low price gave us access to toilets, showers, and the drying room. We cooked our own dinner, but enjoyed the ales and desserts in the cafe. Cafe prices were fairly standard pub prices, £4 for dessert, £8.50+ for dinner main courses, etc. They had a number of other pay as you use facilities we didn't use. It's a beautiful building, a renovated church, and has an up-market hostel vibe to the place, if you like that sort of thing. It ain't luxury, but it is luxurious budget accommodation. I'd recommend it, just don't expect the hilton.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beekysky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inversnaid
0.0 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
1,079 reviews
0.0 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
0.0 mi away
Ardlui Hotel
Ardlui Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardlui
406 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oak Tree Inn
Oak Tree Inn
#1 of 3 in Balmaha
1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inversnaid Bunkhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inversnaid Bunkhouse

Address: Inversnaid, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3TU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Inversnaid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Inversnaid
Price Range: $37 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inversnaid Bunkhouse primarily provides bunk accommodation for walkers on the West Highland Way and is also open for group bookings. The Top Bunk Bistro is situated upstairs which is a fully licensed restaurant open all day and available to everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Inversnaid Bunkhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inversnaid Bunkhouse Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing