We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit and very impressed”

La Barca Spanish Tapas & Wine Bar
Ranked #1 of 63 Restaurants in Helensburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $26
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: La Barca Spanish Tapas And Wine Bar is officially Scotland's Best Mediterranean Restaurant three years running. You can find three tapas from £9.95 daily till 6pm. This multi award winning restaurant offers vibrant, authentic taste of Spain in luxurious, colourful and cosy surroundings. La Barca boasts a boat shaped bar, beautiful harbour scene mural and a generously stocked feature wine cellar. Relax in the luxurious surroundings and enjoy delicious tapas and paellas prepared by Spanish chefs and served by friendly, attentive staff. La Barca is the sister restaurant to the town's highly reputable Riverbank Bar and Restaurant nearby and is run by the same husband and wife team. It serves a traditional Scottish breakfast menu 9-11.45a.m during the week and from 10am sunday.Check out the board for their list of local suppliers including eggs and sausages from their local farm and butccher. Not just a place to eat, La Barca is perfect for a glass of wine, cocktail or coffee. Tapas served daily from 12noon to 10pm with 3 tapas from £9.95. Hasta Luego x
cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“First visit and very impressed”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Took an early evening meal here without booking a table. The staff explained we would need to vacate by a certain time but that was absolutely fine. We had 5 tapas between us and 2 desserts and were very satisfied with the quality of the food and, the portion sizes and the excellent service. The ambience is very bustling and as some large groups came in as we were leaving I suspect can get quite noisy, so don't expect a quiet meal. We would certainly go there again, the bill was pretty reasonable as well at £45 including wine.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nantwichgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    468
    177
    44
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Portion size very small”
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Was really dissapointed with La Barca, the portion size is shocking for the prices they charge. Been in tapas restaurants before and felt full, however not the case in La Barca. Service was just average. The waiter never asked if our meals were ok as I would have mentioned the portion size. Nice restaurant, but really dissapointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Juliejugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic service.....”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

......we went in to see what all the hype was about......and we were delighted in the outstanding food, atmosphere and decor!! special 'thanks' goes to Stewart for giving us great, stylish, friendly, attentive service...... I'm in the hospitality industry myself (beyond fussy and hard to please) I was more than delighted to be treated to such 5 star service..... Thanks again and have a great summer!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chrisp2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“Freshly prepared and excellent Tapas”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I have visited this restaurant on many occasions, along with its sister restaurant Riverbank and never been disappointed by either the ambience or the food. There were 7 of us to please and each and every one of us had nothing but good things to say about the quality and freshness of the food. The staff here go out their way to make your evening the best that it can be and I have always found this to be the case. Each tapas was tasty and plenty of it. Great value for money and definitely on a par or better than any other authentic tapas restaurant I have eaten in both here and abroad. Don't miss it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginger005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A wee bit disappointed”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

a group of us headed to La BArca to try it ont one lunchtime. Although the food was good it was obviously bought in and really did not reflect the "Tapas Bar" it claimed to be. Maybe I was just being picky, but I love to go for Tapas while in Spain and I suppose that is what I expected here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pwm199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverbankowners, Owner at La Barca Spanish Tapas & Wine Bar, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to review us and appreciate you saying the food was good and giving our food four out of five stars. But I'm sorry you felt a bit disappointed and thought the food was "obviously bought in" . I just wanted to stress that our food is most definitely not bought it. We source all our ingredients fresh including seafood, meat, dairy and veg and spend hours prepping dozens of tapas every day. Our paellas take 30 minutes as they're also made to order. We have many regular customers who also visit Spain and enjoy La Barca. You didn't rate us as value for money so I wanted to let you know that we launched a new 3 tapas for £9.95 lunch and early evening menu on Monday which has been very popular. Thank you again for your feedback and hopefully you'll give us another try again soon. Regards Cara Nikolic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Barca Spanish Tapas & Wine Bar also viewed

Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to La Barca Spanish Tapas & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing