We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT Food, Service and Price.....”

La Barca Spanish Tapas & Wine Bar
Ranked #2 of 58 Restaurants in Helensburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: La Barca Spanish Tapas And Wine Bar is officially Scotland's Best Mediterranean Restaurant three years running. You can find three tapas from £9.95 daily till 6pm. This multi award winning restaurant offers vibrant, authentic taste of Spain in luxurious, colourful and cosy surroundings. La Barca boasts a boat shaped bar, beautiful harbour scene mural and a generously stocked feature wine cellar. Relax in the luxurious surroundings and enjoy delicious tapas and paellas prepared by Spanish chefs and served by friendly, attentive staff. La Barca is the sister restaurant to the town's highly reputable Riverbank Bar and Restaurant nearby and is run by the same husband and wife team. It serves a traditional Scottish breakfast menu 9-11.45a.m during the week and from 10am sunday.Check out the board for their list of local suppliers including eggs and sausages from their local farm and butccher. Not just a place to eat, La Barca is perfect for a glass of wine, cocktail or coffee. Tapas served daily from 12noon to 10pm with 3 tapas from £9.95. Hasta Luego x
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“GREAT Food, Service and Price.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

What a great addition to Helensburghs choice of restaurants and a definite must go if you haven't already! We have now been to La Barca on 2 occasions and on both they were busy, very attentive and the food was excellent.....we are working our way through the Tapas choices! We run a local boutique B&B and will definitely be recommending La Barca to our guests, well done to Milan and his team.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CatrionaK64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    442
    170
    43
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent food, drink and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

A wonderful place - recommended by a friend and exactly right. If you like Tapas, or would like to try it, this is the place for you. The staff are very helpful and provide any guidance needed. Good wine list.
Stay local and support smal business.
Remember to book.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PeteGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
192 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Top Tapas Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Visited La Barca for a lovely lunch today, food was delightful and the service was excellent too. We got a nice warm welcome on a day when it was snowing heavily outside. There is a good menu and the pork cheeks were particularly tasty, falling apart, beautiful.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“La Barca - this time with olives”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

We first dined at La Barca early in January & (what??) there were no olives!

On my sister's birthday we returned, accompanied by our son. In we went, well received and into a buzzin' atmosphere. The menu was good with an emphasis on fish dishes and was a little on the short side. On our first visit our requested garlic bread needed 2 reminders and the service was less than attentive. Here the ordered (unsalted) anchovies required a nudge but the other 10 items arrived in good time and were uniformly well edible. The exception was the prawns in a liquid that had tiny bits of garlic in it and was tasteless. Odd! The Rioja red and Pinot Grigio rose were both declared very drinkable. The Rioja was a really good example, a little spice and good fruit flavour.

Again, the early service was fully acceptable but wandered as the meal progressed.

To summarise, La Barca is worth a visit. The food was well prepared, well presented and very well received. The wall paintings were a very nice backdrop and we agreed that La Barca offered good value for money at c£20 per head.

The olives? Pleasantly spiced and flavoursome and on our table!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank burtonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Tapastastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Great little taste of Spain right on the Helensburgh front. The menu was extensive and all the dishes were well cooked, well presented, authentic and delicious. I visited on a Monday night and it was still very busy with a lively, friendly atmosphere. The staff were all friendly and polite and the actual restaurant itself is very nicely decorated in a Spanish style and there is a great view overlooking Greenock from the window. Great attention to detail, I was thoroughly impressed with La Barca and will definitely be returning.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NadiaChaCha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Barca Spanish Tapas & Wine Bar also viewed

Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to La Barca Spanish Tapas & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing