We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tapa delights”

La Barca Spanish Tapas & Wine Bar
Ranked #1 of 64 Restaurants in Helensburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $26
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: La Barca Spanish Tapas And Wine Bar is officially Scotland's Best Mediterranean Restaurant three years running. You can find three tapas from £9.95 daily till 6pm. This multi award winning restaurant offers vibrant, authentic taste of Spain in luxurious, colourful and cosy surroundings. La Barca boasts a boat shaped bar, beautiful harbour scene mural and a generously stocked feature wine cellar. Relax in the luxurious surroundings and enjoy delicious tapas and paellas prepared by Spanish chefs and served by friendly, attentive staff. La Barca is the sister restaurant to the town's highly reputable Riverbank Bar and Restaurant nearby and is run by the same husband and wife team. It serves a traditional Scottish breakfast menu 9-11.45a.m during the week and from 10am sunday.Check out the board for their list of local suppliers including eggs and sausages from their local farm and butccher. Not just a place to eat, La Barca is perfect for a glass of wine, cocktail or coffee. Tapas served daily from 12noon to 10pm with 3 tapas from £9.95. Hasta Luego x
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Tapa delights”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Good welcome sets the scene
Food not yet 100% but well on its way - Paella not quite what is provided in Spain
Good selection of lager beers
Prices acceptable
Good ambiance encourages satisfied customers to stay on after dining. Indeed could be used simply as a bar or meeting place
I am a repeat visitor and plan to go again soon

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank icecoldinalex1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    476
    180
    44
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Super food...”
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We popped in on New Year's Day and had some super food. We'll definitely be back next time we're in Helensburgh.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in town”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We ate here on the Thursday just after New Year. We didn't book, thinking it would be quiet -how wrong could we be - we were very lucky to get a seat!
The food was delicious, service first class and the atmosphere was excellent. We had 3 tapas each, which was more than enough. Prices are very reasonable.
We usually go into Glasgow for meals out but we will certainly be eating here again. Not to be missed if you are in the area- we can highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ecolley2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Dropped in for dinner to check out this new venue. We had six dishes to share, two vegetable dishes, one fish and three meat. Can't fault the quality of the food, it was excellent. The portions were very generous and the flavours authentic. If you enjoy tapas then you'll love this venue. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wosog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bielefeld, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

I went with two friends and had a fab evening. The atmosphere and surroundings are great and the menu and tapas are superb.
I am coeliac and the gluten free selection is the best I have seen in any restaurant.
The staff are very friendly and happy to assist in anyway they can.
This restaurant should be on your 'to visit' list asap.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ailsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Barca Spanish Tapas & Wine Bar also viewed

Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Helensburgh, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to La Barca Spanish Tapas & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing